AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/)
-   HDTV Recorders (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hdtv-recorders/)
-   -   Whois 169time? (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hdtv-recorders/49016-whois-169time.html)

PVR 06-11-2001 12:40 PM

FYI: http://www.opensrs.org/cgi-bin/whois.cgi
Domain Name: 169TIME.COM

Administrative Contact:
Adams, Ambir hdtv@oro.net
11969 Mathis Way
Grass Valley, CA 95949
530 268 8358

PVR 06-11-2001 12:42 PM

There was an "ominous" posting back in February on slashdot.org:
Danger, Will Robinson! (Score:5, Interesting)
by Raetsel on Friday February 09, @12:20AM EST (#47)
(User #34442 Info)
Something about this site bothers me. I can't put my finger on it exactly, but there are the tell-tales of something not quite right.

Elementary web design (not that it's a crime.)
Website hosted through an ISP account

Owner of the account is listed as (finger hdtv@oro.net)

Login: hdtv
Name: Richard Adams
Directory: /home/hdtv
Shell: /bin/bash
Last login Sun Feb 4 12:36 (PST) on pts/5 from DX2-66.happypcs.oro.net
No mail.
No Plan.

Domain referred to (169time.com) brings an 'Unable to locate server' error, though it is registered to one Ambir Adams

Domain registration lists an address of

11969 Mathis Way
Grass Valley, CA 95949

But mail orders are going to

12001 Mathis Way
Grass Valley, CA 95949

Online orders only through PayPal?
No pictures of the device.

Damn, this is a cool idea. I really wish this were true... but it screams " HOAX!! " even harder than the Seti@Home accelerator we saw a
while back.

I pity the person who's going to have to pay the ISP bill when their website over-runs their allowed transfers for the month...

PVR 06-11-2001 12:44 PM

And who is "Eric Adams" product manager for "Plateau Technologies"?

Plateau Digital Technology

12001 Mathis Way

Grass Valley, CA 95949



Eric Adams, Product Manager

PVR 06-11-2001 01:05 PM

As far as I know both of these addresses are for houses in a (somewhat) rural (but upscale) residential neighborhood.

I don't know the relationship between these people but it seems odd that Richard would have his wife (or daughter?) be the contact for the internet domain, and have money orders go to house of his son (or brother)?

dahester 06-11-2001 02:03 PM

So who is Andy Thomas (Andy16x9)? More and more it's looking like Richard Adams is the mastermind behind 169Time. FWIW, I've heard through another channel that the addresses on Mathis Way are in fact Richard's home. It's interesting also that Andy16x9 and Richard have been conspicuously absent lately...


[This message has been edited by dahester (edited 06-11-2001).]

chap 06-11-2001 04:59 PM

Did anyone happen to try the phone number? Just curious.


waters 06-11-2001 07:13 PM

Hee's a map http://mapsonus.switchboard.com/bin/...e=setclickpost

George Waters

wirehead_rick 06-11-2001 07:30 PM

My refund check was signed by Andy Adams ??????


Don Landis 06-12-2001 09:39 AM

My refund check was signed by Andy Adams ??????
ROFTMAOPIMP. This soap is better than Sopranos, unfortunately it isn't in HDTV.

Don Landis
Home Theater Pics at: www.scubatech.com Last updated 3/25/01

sabrose 06-12-2001 08:18 PM

My Guess is Andy is Ambir Adams. What would you like to be called- Ambir or Andy ?

Lets see what happens on June 18.

It seems Mr.Wiggles' ship has already blasted off and he is experiencing space psychosis. How is the view ?

TheFreak 06-12-2001 09:42 PM

This post has been edited by the moderator.

I doubt that Ambir is his/her real name. I'm guessing one of those names is fake.

Or Richard married and she took the name Adams. Either way if you guys know where he or she lives and you can get them arrested or you can personaly go there and get your money back.

Only in America.....Don King<u>Text</u><u>or</u>Or

[This message has been edited by TheFreak (edited 06-12-2001).]

[This message has been edited by Ken H (edited 06-12-2001).]

MrWigggles 06-12-2001 10:26 PM

To make things more interesting on 6-5-01, Richard Adams said the following:

"Please note that despite the last names, I do not own the 169Time Company nor any stock in that company, and neither does any blood relative of mine."

When I first read this, it didn't make sense to me. Until now everyone thought Andy's full name was Andy Thomas. It now appears it is actually Andy Adams. However, being that it is California, maybe Andy Thomas was Andy's maiden name.

This is all starting to make sense:

Late last year, Andy came out with an HD prototype recording device that no man could resist including Richard Adams. One thing led to another and they wound up getting married earlier this year. Andy being the one who wore the dress during the ceremony (and because he is the submissive one) decided to take "Adams" as his last name.

Typical newlywed fighting ensued and has resulted in the current product delays. Later this month, when Andy goes post-op, maybe then things will go back to normal. Having their differences resolved the two can hopefully get back to business of making HDTV recording devices that no man can resist.

And we'll all live happily ever after.

-Mr. Wigggles

The Mothership is now boarding.

[This message has been edited by MrWigggles (edited 06-12-2001).]

jrichards 06-13-2001 05:01 AM

According to Paypal that is his/her real name.

R8der 06-13-2001 12:25 PM

They sent in all their money,

Then things started looking funny,

This whole thing is now crummy,

The Adams Family!

rnewste 06-13-2001 12:53 PM


Don't quit your day job.......

Just be glad you GOT your HiPix when you plunked down your money!!!

Ray Newstead

Curtis 06-13-2001 03:04 PM

Originally posted by R8der:
They sent in all their money,

Then things started looking funny,

This whole thing is now crummy,

The Adams Family!
LOL! I KNEW someone would do an Adams Family parody at some point. Here's my lame 45 second attempt...

The geeks they started droolin'
When Richard said "no foolin'"
It's bitchin' and it's cooln'
For time shifting HD!

So out they whipped their money
So quick it wasn't funny
You'd think the Easter Bunny
Had left them lots of green.

But now it's getting older
This product new and bolder
Hang in there like a soldier
And you will be happy.

... I warned you it was lame.

waters 06-17-2001 11:29 AM

A reverse look-up of the 169time phone number (530-268-0190)on Anywho.com:

Grand View Technology,

GrandView Technology is a Taiwanese company making plasma displays (www.grandview.com.tw). I have no way of knowing if there is a connection.

I do hope that despite all this intruige, a product will eventally emerge from 169time.

George Waters

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.