JUST PICKED UP A PANNY TU-DST51 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-12-2001, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iwantmyhdtvnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: COLUMBUS OH
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ran down to my local SEARS and pickup the Tu-DST51 for $500, w/2year warrranty. it was an open box item and the last one they had, but no remote. Did i get a good deal? From what i understand, i'll i need is the panny d-vhs reveicer to connect to this for me to record OTA signals ( and dishnet with the 5000 mod. ) Odds are that the 5000 mod is too hard to find, but is anyone willing to dubb some tapes from their collection? also, what is everyones opinion on OTA reception for this receiver? better than DST-3000?

[This message has been edited by iwantmyhdtvnow (edited 07-12-2001).]
iwantmyhdtvnow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-12-2001, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Vettster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rocklin,CA. USA
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 50/HD1000 has worked virtually trouble free(knock on wood). My only complaint is that there is no signal meter for tuning in the best possible signal. I've always wondered if the 51 has that meter?
This is an extremely finicky system with attitude! It kinda reminds me of Microsoft's "Windows".http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
Flipping the switch late should be a crime...

[This message has been edited by Vettster (edited 07-13-2001).]
Vettster is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-12-2001, 11:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
iwantmy..,

You got a good deal. You need the remote. Try 1-800-remotes. The website seems to be dead, but try the phone. Might be able to get it from www.panasonic.com. Without the remote you can't switch multicast channels. That might be important later.

Yes, to get Dish Sat. HD you'll need the unobtainable 5000/mod. If you wave enough money around you'll get one.

OTA reception of the 51 is better than the 50, but not as good as most other boxes. Once you start recording you'll hug and kiss your 51 every night.

Can't discuss dubs. Email me.

------------------
- gridleak...
Analog -- Always out of adjustment.
Digital -- Always one more bug.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-13-2001, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
Bruce Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought a DST50 remote directly from Panasonic; getting one for a DST51 should not be a problem.

I believe that if you call the general service number (800-211-7262) they will give you the appropriate 800 number to call for parts.

--Bruce.
Bruce Z is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-13-2001, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
harlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New Richmond, WI, USA
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just go to panasonic's website and order it. The 51 module remote will cost about $50. I order a 50 module remote and firewire for the PV-HD1000. It's easy and they ship fast if in stock.

Jim
harlock is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-14-2001, 04:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally posted by harlock:
Just go to panasonic's website and order it. The 51 module remote will cost about $50. I order a 50 module remote and firewire for the PV-HD1000
I believe I checked out the Panasonic firewire for my
PV-HD1000 that I bought from Ebay and arrived without
the cable. They wanted something like $80, as I recall.

I realized that was bizarre, and just went to my local
computer store (Micro Center) and bought a 1-meter
4-pin to 4-pin firewire (the PV-HD1000 and DST50 use that
version of 1394 connector, not the 6-pin version). I even
decided to go with the "generic" firewire instead of the
Monster version, as it was 1/2 the price.

Works perfectly... and cost about $6! It's a computer
firewire cable, and shouldn't cost $80. Panasonic is
truly overcharging on this one.
DSperber is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-14-2001, 09:28 AM
 
waters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Panasonic firewire cable has ferrite toroids around the cable at each end. I suspect they added these to get their products to pass FCC emissions requirements. Those cetainly increase their price of the cable but $80 still seems high. Using a regular firewire cable will of course work fine. The worst that could happen is that interference to adjacent equipment could increase. What the effect is will depends on what frequencies they were trying to quash with the ferrites.

------------------
George Waters
waters is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off