Processor requirements for ADTV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-16-2001, 09:15 PM - Thread Starter
ebr
AVS Special Member
 
ebr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 3,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm considering the purchase of either an ADTV card or the HiPix (if they're really shipping now). I really think I'd rather get the ADTV card because I'm really going to want the timeshifting capabilities (TiVo has changed my life).

However, I don't currently have an HTPC but I do have an old PC that I can use for this purpose. It is only a PII 400 and the ADTV card says it requires at least a 500. The HiPix says it will operate on a 333.

I don't want to buy a new HTPC since this is all it will be used for right now (already have everything else I need for DVD in the theater). Is anyone out there using the ADTV card in a 400mhz machine?

Thanks for any help.

(hey, what happened to the email me when someone replies option?)



------------------
ebr
My Theater
ebr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-16-2001, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Abdul Jalib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
accessDTV says their card requires a minimum of a Pentium II 350 Mhz.


------------------
Abdul
<FONT size="1">Philips 60PP9601, join the Philips_HDTV discussion group
DirecTV + Sony SVR-2000 TiVo upgraded to 128 hours basic quality
Dish 5000 + HDTV Modulator
HTPC: Duron 750, K7 Master, Radeon LE, AccessDTV, Cybermail, Audiophile
Kenwood VR-407 receiver & subwoofer, nOrh 4.0 marble center speaker</FONT s>
Abdul Jalib is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-16-2001, 11:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dlarsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had an AccessDTV card installed in a stock DELL PII 400 BX for a while.

Worked fine.
dlarsen is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-17-2001, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Edgewater, nj, usa
Posts: 3,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by GregQuinn:
I'd just add that I'd seriously recommend using an Intel processor; I've had problems using Athlons with some capture/tuner cards etc; AccessDTV managed to reboot a Win2K box I installed it on, and that was using an Intel processor. That was NOT using the most recent software though.
Greg,

I have a feeling that anty problems you had with athlons didn't really stem form teh proccessor as much as it did the chipset the motherboard was using. After going through 7 or 8 of them in the past 6 months doing extensive testing I have found that the VIA chipset which is on most athlon MB's is total garbage. The AMD761 chipset works beautifully though. I have yet to touch an ALI.

------------------
STOP DVI/HDCP!!!!!

chap is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-17-2001, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
ebr
AVS Special Member
 
ebr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 3,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hmmmm...I know when I looked at the ADTV site a while back, it had a minimum of 500...or, maybe I dreamed it.

Anyway, thanks for setting me straight.

One more question, which OS is most stable with the card? The machine as Win98 (no SE) now so I need to upgrade the OS anyway.


------------------
ebr
My Theater
ebr is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-17-2001, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
ebr
AVS Special Member
 
ebr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 3,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Okay, I found the reference to 500mhz. Its on the Digital connection site in the specs for the ADTV card.

So, at least I'm not crazy :-) but which is it...333 or 500? Cliff?


------------------
ebr
My Theater
ebr is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-17-2001, 09:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
ebr,

It's wholly dependant on the type of system you have and the chipset utilized. With a BX chipset system, you should be able to run a 350MHz. We chose the highest common denominator to deter over-optimistic expectations.

Kei Clark
Digital Connection
Kei Clark is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-17-2001, 09:40 PM - Thread Starter
ebr
AVS Special Member
 
ebr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 3,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks for the clarification.

------------------
ebr
My Theater
ebr is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off