HR-W5 Recorder for time shifting - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-12-2001, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Sil
Member
 
Sil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London Ont. Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received my HR-W5 from Milton (thanks again)and
tested it for pic quality.I'm using a 8500lc projector
on a 96" wide screen and a viewing distance of 12' and
the quality is excellent.I'm sure most of you are aware that it won't record 5.1,however for starchoice subs
thats not an issue.This seems like an excellent way to
timeshift for Leno or other late night movies.At $1400
this is much cheaper than the panny combo unless you
want to archive all the HD being broadcast(tapes are
still pricey).Also this is not the machine for you if
you're going to make multigenerational copies(it's
analog).I'm sure there are some on this forum who could
use such a peice of equipment (BUD users).

Thanks Sil
Sil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-13-2001, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
elm_sd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Mar,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
very interesting but no digital, still as a bud user with a 921 I would be interested, where can you find this fine product.

------------------
Elminster

ELM_SD


Quality TV = C-Band
elm_sd is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-13-2001, 05:03 PM
 
rodmanbra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: boca,fl,US
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sil,

I wonder how you will play back a DVHS springsteen concert on the WVHS deck?? I also wonder how you are recording anything on JVC3000 deck without STB. It must be some top secret London thing.

PS. I forgot what happened to thoose Ampros?
rodmanbra is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-14-2001, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
Sil
Member
 
Sil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London Ont. Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're right Bra,I have been only watching one tape on
my DVHS deck (thanks Peter for your help).I just recently purchased the rest of the equipment for recording from dish however it hasn't arrived as of yet.Even with all this equipment(when it gets here)it still won't record all the HD. OTA HD is not possible where I live so I rely on sat. Starchoice uses the G.I. HDD201 so the WVHS works just
fine.Express VU also won't let you record digitally so
WVHS also works and for my DTC-100 well I haven't tried
it but I've read it's not promising so I went for the Dish
setup.

I'm just curious what the BUD user's are doing for
recording.

Sil

Still have the Ampro's one 3300 and two 4300 but being
from Florida you wouldn't want them right!
Sil is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-15-2001, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
Sil
Member
 
Sil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London Ont. Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MF70,
WVHS is a JVC vcr that records HDTV quality on special
tapes.It records the signal in an analog form,not the
digital bitstream being received so it does have some
disadvantages over the DVHS recorders.The one advantage
is,it records (with component inputs) from any receiver
with component out.
They retail for around $4700 in the U.S. and are on Ebay
now and again(check other post for link to ebay auction).
The one I have came from Japan through another forum
member(Milton Henry).The U.S. version would definitely
be more sought after just for ease of use, and any warranty
issues.
Hope this helps,if you do a search under WVHS I'm sure
you'll get more info.

Sil
Sil is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-15-2001, 09:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
MF70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Walnut Creek, CA, US
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Sil!
Glad to see that someone is indeed recording HDTV, but all you indicated is a model number!!! What is this wonderful recorder? You said that it only records ANALOG? What analog format? YPbPr component video? Who makes this machine? I have a BUD and 920 with an HD-200 and subscribe to both HBO and Showtime! Can tune a total of 4 channels, 2 from each service. How do you connect the HD-200 to the recorder? If this sounds like too much for the forum, my e-mail address is mfardo@netzero.net. Please, help me to be as happy as you are! Thanks!

------------------


Mauro
MF70 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-17-2001, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter
Sil
Member
 
Sil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London Ont. Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MF70
Thats exactly what I was thinking,this would be
ideal for BUD users.Do you get 5.1 audio from
your BUD?

You might want to check some posts by Greg Quinn
regarding the RCA for over the air.I haven't
hooked it up to my DTC-100 yet thats my next test
(when I get home from this business trip).

Sil

Sil is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-17-2001, 09:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
MF70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Walnut Creek, CA, US
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Sil!
Sorry for the delay in posting my thanks, but I was out of town. It looks that in my current setup, I could very well use the component-video output of my HD-200 to record HBO and Showtime HDTV movies! And OTA programs if I get an STB from RCA or one of the newer boxes on the market. I will certainly be on the lookout for a deal on this recorder. Thanks again!

------------------


Mauro
MF70 is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off