Possible way to record DirecTV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 07-20-2001, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi.

I'm a newbie to this forum. But I am amazed at the kinds of things I see that people are doing with their home theater systems. I didn't realize so may folks were on the cutting edge of HDTV.

Here's an HDTV recording idea I'm trying to work the bugs out of.

Has anyone used a product that converts the component outputs of a HD set top box into a IEEE 1394 DV stream? If so, wouldn't that firewire stream be compatible with with the Panny PV-HD1000, the JVC HM-DH30000, or the new Mitsubishi coming out?

I ran across a product that does something kind of like that, the Laird Telemedia LTM-5500.
http://www.lairdtelemedia.com/products/firewire.html

I know it says that it is for NTSC, but has anyone tried it with HDTV? Or is there a similar product out there does this for HDTV? I'm aware that there would be some signal loss, but it should be minor. Given that capturing an NTSC signal with DV is practically identical to the source material.

In fact, if a solution like this is out there I wouldn't be suprised if it surpasses the quality of a W-VHS unit.

Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-20-2001, 09:49 AM

I gave this a lot of thought a year ago and concluded that even if the Laird unit could (doubtful) pass the HD bit-stream rate, there was still the issue of not being able to record the 5.1 DD audio.
Old 07-20-2001, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member

Don't know much about it, but it seems feasable if you do not care about the 5.1. In fact I notice a lot of PPV HDTV is only 2.0 anyway.

I was lucky in the order, but I've always been lucky when it comes to killin' folk - Unforgiven cannot wait for the hd-dvd of this gem
Old 07-20-2001, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 252