HD1000 Head Replacement Updates? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2001, 11:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Vettster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rocklin,CA. USA
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I’ve researched the threads on the troubles that have cleared up simply by replacing the heads on some of your HD1000’s.
I am now starting to experience these green patches & pixelation near the ends of my tapes.
I am getting ready to order my replacement heads, but I was wondering if this “fix†is still performing well for those of you that have done it.
Thanks


------------------
Flipping the switch late should be a crime...
Vettster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2001, 12:50 AM
Senior Member
 
beavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's working for me. I replaced my heads about 3 weeks ago and its performed flawlessly since.

Jeff
beavis is offline  
Old 07-14-2001, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you sent it to Pannasonic to get the heads replaced or does a local place do this kind of work?

Bernhard
bb1987 is offline  
Old 07-14-2001, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Vettster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rocklin,CA. USA
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bernhard,
Apparently, all that has to be done is taking the cover off,unplugged ofcourse, taking the old heads off, putting the news ones on. All that is needed is a small screwdriver. Sounds pretty simple.

Here are a couple great threads explaining the head exchange:
http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum28/HTML/000203.html
-------- http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum28/HTML/000226.html
Vettster is offline  
Old 07-14-2001, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
beavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did it myself. I ordered the upper cylinder from Panasonic's web site. It came to about $250 with shipping.

It's really easy to do. There are two screws on the back and two screws on the bottom of the HD1000 that you need to take out. Once they're out, the cover will slide right off. Then there are two small phillips head screws to remove the old upper cylinder. Replace it with the new one and put the cover back on. The whole process takes no more than 5 minutes.

Jeff
beavis is offline  
Old 07-15-2001, 12:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 164
For those who are dojng this simple upper drum replacement, it may not be a bad idea to replace the pinch roller while you're at it. Usually the first sign that it is bad is after you have ruin one tape. The pinch rollers are usually an annual replacement item on most VCR's and cost just a few bucks. It is usually the first part to wear out on any VCR.

------------------
Don Landis
Home Theater Pics at: www.scubatech.com Last updated 3/25/01
Don Landis is offline  
Old 07-15-2001, 01:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don
I've heard this said by others before, but I don't understand the physics. The metal capstan drives the tape, and the pinch roller, which pushes the tape against the capstan, just goes along for the ride. What wears out on the pinch roller that makes it ineffective?

------------------
- gridleak...
Analog -- Always out of adjustment.
Digital -- Always one more bug.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 07-15-2001, 12:13 PM
Member
 
Orio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Danville, CA USA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The pinch roller pushes the tape against the capstan. This pressure creates the friction between the capstan and the tape allowing the capstan to "pull" the tape. If for some reason, the pinch roller diameter decreases, e.g. through wear, the tape-capstan friction decreases. With a sufficient reduction in friction, the capstan is no longer able to effectively "pull" the tape. As the pinch roller rubber become hard with age, the the tape area pushed against the capstan is reduced. That coupled with a decreased pinch roller diameter exacerbates the problem.
Orio is offline  
Old 07-15-2001, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I doubt there's much wear since it's not sliding. I compared a new roller with the one on my oldest machine and they measure same diameter. I like your second explanation best.

------------------
- gridleak...
Analog -- Always out of adjustment.
Digital -- Always one more bug.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 07-15-2001, 07:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 11,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 164
As long as the pinch roller maintains it's original geometry and resiliance the wear on the tape will be minimal but with age the rubber roller begins to deform and the roller side actually becomes non cylindrical or curved causing the tape to skew. In addition the rubber gets hard over time due to many different factors but mostly due to long periods of heat and ozone. This is recognized by a glassy appearance to the otherwise dull rubber surface. If the tape is skewed while being pulled along by the capstan (metal) and the pinch roller it will be stretched and in more severe cases become wrinkled and sometimes one edge of the tape gets serrated.

I have never wasted my time trying to measure the roller. A simple visual inspection that shows it looking different (glassy) than a new one prompts me to simply swap it out and don't worry whether I just spent a couple of dollars too soon. Even on my betacam machines where the part costs $40 I simply swap it out so I don't have to worry about ruining several days work in editing or ruining a camera original tape. I suppose that just comes under prudence.



------------------
Don Landis
Home Theater Pics at: www.scubatech.com Last updated 3/25/01
Don Landis is offline  
Old 07-17-2001, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Vettster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rocklin,CA. USA
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Probably a stupid question but here goes it:I order my new replacement heads yesterday. My HD1000 is a demo. I know that these are "consumer" heads that I ordered for replacing the "demo" heads.I can't seem to find an answer, but will these work ok?

------------------
Flipping the switch late should be a crime!
Vettster is offline  
Old 07-17-2001, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not to worry. If you check this thread where it all started, you'll see that a demo was used there. No "demo" heads are available from Panasonic anymore. It's just as well because the consumer heads work great.

-Roger

------------------
Analog -- Always out of adjustment.
Digital -- Always one more bug.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 08-08-2001, 09:32 PM
 
waters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A spare pinch wheel sounds like a good idea, but where is it on the HD1000 parts list?

There is a pressure roller arm unit at $11.34. Is this it?

------------------
George Waters
waters is offline  
Old 08-09-2001, 03:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup, part number VXLS1014 Pressure Roller Arm Unit is what you want.

------------------
-Roger
Analog -- Always out of adjustment.
Digital -- Always one more bug.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 08-10-2001, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
woowoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: jeffersonville, indiana
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you can always clean the pinch roller with alcohol
to get rid of the Glassy looking buildup

------------------
Studio Broadcast Engineer
KET

Studio Broadcast Engineer
KET
woowoo is offline  
Old 08-13-2001, 12:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree, cleaning the pinch roller is a good start. Replacing it is a bit more difficult than replacing the upper cylinder. There's a cut washer holding the pinch roller assembly in place that's difficult to remove and should not be reused.
http://home.earthlink.net/~rogercc/_...utwashertn.jpg zoom
Order some cut washers (part #VMXS0857) when you get the pinch roller assembly. I can't provide any recommendations for removing and replacing the washer because I haven't tried it yet.

The service manual says the washer should not be reused, and I would certainly follow that recommendation. If it popped off accidentally, serious damage could result.

------------------
-Roger
Analog -- Always out of adjustment.
Digital -- Always one more bug

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 12-07-2001, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will use this thread to keep this question going. I replaced my heads when I had the green pixel issue. Everything worked great. Well, its back again with about 50 hours worth of using.
Mostly my Fuji S-VHS tapes. I will be cleaning the heads again.

So I talked to Richard about this tonight. Do I have a different issue than the heads? Could the new heads have masked the real cause? A back tension adjustment? Any ideas? Help!


dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 12-07-2001, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roger, some more questions for you. Am reading my HD1000
service manual.

Did you do any adjustments after you replace the head assembly like the manual says? I just put it in and it worked, but sure didnt last long.

Have you ever needed to replace the pressure roller arm? Easy to do? Don, you clearly stated this was a good idea in your experience. Have you or other done this to your decks since all of ours are about the same age?

Just pulling at straws. Sure would rather not send my unit back to be serviced.

Thanks for the help.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 12-08-2001, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by h2ofun
Could the new heads have masked the real cause?
Yes, that's definitely possible; but it's not very likely. I need more information. Prepare to be grilled.

Why are you certain the problem is in the recorder, rather than the modulator, cabling, or STB?

Are there tapes that used to play cleanly and now don't?

Do recordings from this machine play ok on another machine?

Does this machine have trouble playing tapes from another machine (e.g., the one I sent you)?

Did your kids stick a pizza in the tape slot?

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 12-09-2001, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roger, better not be a pizza in my machine. :o)

Lets see, all great questions, here are a few data points.

I had the issue at the end of two new Fuji S tapes.

My dad cleaned the heads and said a little dirty.

Reran the tapes to the ends and better but.

I then recorded onto another new tape and checked the end.
Same issue.

I just watched Gladiator last night and played fine on the 180 tape. It does not go to the end.

I will try today to take these tapes to a person with another HD1000 deck.

I just played the tape you sent me at the end and worked great.

This would lead me to say its in the recording process then.
I had already adjusted the write voltage but didnt check again.
Was thinking of changing the pinch roller.

With this data, any thoughts on what you would try next?

THanks, got to get to root cause.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 12-09-2001, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tried taping at the end of a tape that I had problems with.
It had been recorded on for 2 hours before. When I just tried it at the end area where I was seeing problems, nothing this time.
Will try a few more times but can one have problems when I record for two hours rather than just at the end?

Weird

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 12-10-2001, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by h2ofun
My dad cleaned the heads and said a little dirty.
How did he conclude that?!? With only 50 hours on the heads, cleaning should not be necessary, unless you've got a stock of bad tape.

Quote:
...can one have problems when I record for two hours rather than just at the end?
With the symptoms you've described the next thing I'd try is a new pinch roller. Info is up a few posts in this thread.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 12-10-2001, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered a roller this morning.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 12-10-2001, 11:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and a few split washers I hope.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 12-11-2001, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roger,

I ordered 5 washeres, but 4 are on back order.

Talking to Richard he is suggesting the back tension could be the issue also. Guess I will try to move the spring over one more if it is not at the max. We just purchased a tape tension tester used that will be a way to check and compare it to the spec. No fun being down.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 12-11-2001, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd be concerned if it needs a tension setting other than center position. All six properly functioning machines that I use have the spring in the center. I've got one more that I haven't started to repair yet that came to me with the spring in the low (left) position. I'll probably replace the spring and tension unit on that one.

Tension gauges can be useful for trouble shooting, but if you plan to set tension with the gauge than it needs to be at the very least an H7 and you must make a calibrator for each type of tape you use. It means sacrificing some cassettes. Electronic gauges are better, but ridiculously expensive.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 12-11-2001, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roger, we got I believe an electronic gauge. Off E bay was much cheaper than an new one.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 12-13-2001, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, just got my new pinch roller in and replaced the old one. The old one was not nice and smooth like the new one. It was shinny in the middle, like Don said. I have my fingers crossed, CSI is on the timer. Will see what happens tomorrow morning.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 12-14-2001, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, my first try was the one hour csi on the last half of a svhs tape. I watched the last minute and no problem. The next time I tape for two hours will be the next test. Maybe I didnt need to replace my head after all. Glad I didnt throw the old one away.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off