hipix card with mits hdtv - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-24-2001, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kenpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sanford, FL
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am wondering if there is a way to interface the hipix dtv-200 to a mits 55907 when i already have my dish 6000 with 8 vsb tuner hooked up to the YPrPb input (the tv has only one
HD input i believe that is RGB or component but not both together).

Also, would my old Dell be good enough to run it--
PII 450, 256 MB ram, 40 GB Hard Drive.

I am interested in recording OTA HD, such as tonite show and
PBS. Thanks
kenpa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-24-2001, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bpearse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Saratoga, Ca
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think what kenpa was getting to is that the VGA input on the Mits is 480p, not full hidef. This is an issue with the Mits. Only one true HiDef input. Not clear what the answer is, kenpa. However, the HiPix does, as I recall, have a 480p output option which is very close to hidef.

Bob
bpearse is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-24-2001, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ADebar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: :p
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'd also like to record OTA HD with the hipix. i am wondering if i run a component cable from the hipix into the HD inputs on my mits 46870, do i have to do all the fine tuning video stuff(HTPC style) on my computer or will it output a signal that is properly adjusted for my tv? anyone know? i would like to be able to run the cable and be done with it. when i experimented with a HTPC for DVDs the fine tuning stuff really got to me.

------------------
<FONT size="1">ADebar</FONT s>
<FONT size="1">Mitsubishi WT-46807 Widescreen HDTV</FONT s>
<FONT size="1">JVC XV-S65 Progressive Scan DVD Player</FONT s>
<FONT size="1">Mitsubishi SR-HD400 HDTV Decoder</FONT s>
<FONT size="1">DirecTV HD</FONT s>
<FONT size="1"> My DVDs - DVD Profiler </FONT s>

Danger! Danger! Danger!

:p
ADebar is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-24-2001, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 437
The HiPix can output either YpBpR or RGBHV in a VGA style. All you need to interface to any TV is a VGA to BNC/RCA cable. If your TV has VGA inputs, all you need is a VGA cable. The latter may be desirable if your YpBpR input is currently being used for your STB.

The image quality is very good. I have found no need to tweak my picture adjustemnts when switching to the HiPix. Unlike most STB's the HiPix has quite a few scan rate options selectable.

Make sure you are running ver2.3 which I believe is the current ship version.

HiPix cards do not get along well with other capture cards and software. For example my Hauppauge PVR won't work with the HiPix installed. My advice to anyone without a dedicated HTPC is to get one. You can get a good PC for about $500 or less if you build it yourself.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-24-2001, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 437
One more thing: The HiPix has it's own VGA type output connector. It does not use the PC's video card. You can loop it thru the VGA card if you want a single monitor solution. I think this is what Adebar is asking. No, the computer VGA settings have nothing to do with the HiPix output format.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-24-2001, 09:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kenpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sanford, FL
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the info

one more question

if i use the vga input for the mits, won't that be NON
HDTV quality???

if so, how would i share HDTV input with dish 6000 and
the htpc.

thanks

kenpa is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-24-2001, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 437
Quote:
Originally posted by kenpa:
thanks for the info

one more question

if i use the vga input for the mits, won't that be NON
HDTV quality???

if so, how would i share HDTV input with dish 6000 and
the htpc.

thanks

The RGB output is capable of full 1920x1080i output or what ever you select as your output format. The VGA connection is a CONNECTOR standard only. It defines which pins carry which signals and thier electrical parameters such as sync polarity and levels.

Yes, there are subtle differences between the color space in RGB versus YpBpR but these are irrelevant in the HT enviornment.

If you do decide to use the HiPix in YpBpR mode you will need a switch to go between the6000 and HiPix. Search the HDTV hardware forum as there has been much discussion on this topic of the ultimate HDTV A/B switch.


Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off