HD STBs w/FireWire? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 09-16-2001, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jeffster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Southlake, TX
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With all these D-VHS units starting to come available, has any DrecTV manufacturer committed to creating STBs with firewire outputs?

------------------
-- jas

-- jas
jeffster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 09-16-2001, 06:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No, nothing solid about a DirecTV stb with 1394 right now.

The other known options for DVHS are:

A) Dish is expected to have a new box and/or a new 1394 module for the 6000 in the next 6-12 months. They should support 1394.

B-1) Buy a new Mitsu HDTV, with the 1394 interface. These should be available in the next 60 days, or less.
This should work for OTA DTV/HDTV and unencoded QAM cable DTV/HDTV broadcasts, like HBO & Showtime. HDTV PPV will probably be off limits for this system.

B-2) Have or get an older Mitsu HDTV Monitor that will accept the Promise Module. According to Mitus, it will also work like their new HDTV's above. The Promise Module should be available by end Q2 2002.

C) Live in an area where the cableco uses the not-yet-available Sony cable box. It will have the 1394 interface.

D) Buy one of the discontinued, but still available Panasonic TU-DST50/51 OTA DTV tuners. It has the 1394 interface.

And, if you can get one of the very hard to find Dish 5000's w/HD Modulator, that will work with options B & D, for Dish Network HDTV.




------------------
"Better living thru modern, expensive electronics devices"
tm

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 09-16-2001, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even money that the new HD recorders won't work with the DST50/51.

------------------
Ken Elliott

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 09-16-2001, 07:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Inside info says testing shows some of them do.

------------------
"Better living thru modern, expensive electronics devices"
tm

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 09-16-2001, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd better not make any bets then.

------------------
Ken Elliott

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 09-16-2001, 10:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
dahester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The new Sony KD-34XBR2 HDTV may become a substitute for the TU-DST50/51. The PV-HD1000 will play back through the Sony.

-Dylan


I drink your milkshake! I drink it up!
dahester is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 09-17-2001, 05:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Dylan,

Yes, I forgot about that. An AVS member has tested this & it works too. Thanks.

------------------
"Better living thru modern, expensive electronics devices"
tm

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 09-20-2001, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jeffster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Southlake, TX
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not and will not be able to get OTA, so nothing but a DBS solution will work, and since I have DrecTV+ and am in teh west coast, Dish's 61* bird is iffy for me. it's DirecTV for me for the forseeable, and that means I'm sorta SOL (but I have HDNet! Yay!)

------------------
-- jas

-- jas
jeffster is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 09-21-2001, 10:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken H:
B-1) Buy a new Mitsu HDTV, with the 1394 interface. These should be available in the next 60 days, or less.
This should work for OTA DTV/HDTV and unencoded QAM cable DTV/HDTV broadcasts, like HBO & Showtime. HDTV PPV will probably be off limits for this system.
Why is that last statement probably true? How would HD PPV get into the system? How will they make it off-limits and why?

-- Mike Scott


Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #10 of 16 Old 09-21-2001, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hugomed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will these systems be able to work with existing HDTV or do they have to have the firewire input to TV or projector?

Thanks Hugo
Hugomed is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 09-21-2001, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff, The Dish 148 satellite should be a piece of cake from Simi Valley.
I'm in Thousand Oaks and I'm able to get it with no problem.

------------------
Ken Elliott

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 09-21-2001, 07:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
HDTV PPV will probably be off limits for this system.
Why is that last statement probably true? How would HD PPV get into the system? How will they make it off-limits and why?
-- Mike Scott
This isn't carved in stone, it's only my best guess.

Since the Mitsu system (DVHS & HDTV w/1394) is compatible with unencoded QAM, it will be capable of recording some HDTV programing, like OTA, standard and perhaps premium channels. But HDTV PPV programing will be encoded with some kind of copy protection (5C), and the Mitsu system will have no way to decode it.

At some point, there will be STB's (like the Sony cable STB, new Dish & DirecTV units) that would decode PPV and send an unencrypted 1394 signal to a recording system. Maybe.

------------------
"Better living thru modern, expensive electronics devices"
tm

[This message has been edited by Ken H (edited 09-21-2001).]

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 09-24-2001, 10:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jeffster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Southlake, TX
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken,

I was under the impression that any HD on 148 was not guaranteed to stay there.

------------------
-- jas

-- jas
jeffster is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 09-26-2001, 04:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken H:
This isn't carved in stone, it's only my best guess.

Since the Mitsu system (DVHS & HDTV w/1394) is compatible with unencoded QAM, it will be capable of recording some HDTV programing, like OTA, standard and perhaps premium channels. But HDTV PPV programing will be encoded with some kind of copy protection (5C), and the Mitsu system will have no way to decode it.
By the time that they're encoding PPV in 5C (probably all "Copy Never") they will also be encoding HBO and Showtime in 5C ("Copy One Generation"). Until then I assume that PPV will continue to come out of the STBs the same way that it comes out of them now. In any case, the new Mitsubishis will be able to decode any DTCP encoded stream that the upstream STB will condescend to send to it (it has to go through the authorization-and-key-exchange process successfully first). All copy-protected video that you can buy will be viewable on these sets (and per the Adopter's Agreement, only content that you pay for can by copy-protected): if you can't view it on 1394/DTCP equiped monitors, what can you view it on?
Quote:
At some point, there will be STB's (like the Sony cable STB, new Dish & DirecTV units) that would decode PPV and send an unencrypted 1394 signal to a recording system. Maybe.
PPV will probably never be recordable: since it's the only type of broadcast content that the DTCP Adopter's Agreement allows "Copy Never" to be applied to, I would assume that the providers will apply "Copy Never" to pretty much all of it. One exception may be one-time events broadcasted "live"--all other pay-per-view programs (NTSC quality, at least) are broadcast over and over again on many channels many, many times a day, so there's little need to timeshift it. You can almost always sit down and whatever it is you're interested in buying will be starting again on one channel or another within 20 minutes. If it's never on when you can watch it, then you won't buy it, since you can't timeshift it: if the providers perceive that they're losing a sufficient number of sales this way, they'll have to rethink their use of "Copy Never".

-- Mike Scott

[This message has been edited by michaeltscott (edited 09-26-2001).]

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #15 of 16 Old 09-28-2001, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff,

Since 61.5 can't be had easily from the west coast, they'd be stupid to pull it off 148 unless they put it onto 110.

I'm getting CBS-HD, HBO-HD, and SHOW-HD from Dish and HDNET off of DTV.

Bottom line is that they are acting like the HD is on 148 for a long time to come.

------------------
Ken Elliott

[This message has been edited by kelliot (edited 09-28-2001).]

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 10-03-2001, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rick_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Simi Valley, CA USA
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am guessing but I think Dish plans to leave the 148 satellite as it is. However it is the least used satellite. As such, if any of their other satellites malfunction they will move the 148 in to replace the malfunctioning satellite. So my guess is we have 148 as long as all of their other satellites work ok.

Rick R
Rick_R is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off