Mits HD dish and directivo - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 10-06-2001, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
argo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way I can connect my HD dish to a non hi def receiver (philips6000) with directivo AND my Mistubishi400 hd receiver at the same time.
I'd like to use tivo, even if it's just for non hi def channels. I'm very new to this, but I like to do things myself.
thanks

Mits 61" monitor
HK AV 435
Samsung DVD850
Philips Tivo
New Directv HD DVR (they sent it free and I replaced my samsung HD)
argo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 10-06-2001, 11:20 PM
Newbie
 
Dexter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Frisco, Tx
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I may be missing something here, but your Hi-Def dish should have four outputs( a 4x4 multiswitch). You should be able to connect directivo(two outputs at most) and a Mits hi-def(one output) at the same time no problem. If you are getting channels 199 and 509 then you have the 4x4 multiswitch and connecting both directivo and the Hi_def reciever should be no problem. If you do not recieve the Hi-def channels then you might not have the right dish?
Dexter1 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 10-07-2001, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
argo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if I'm not providing all the info. I'm very new to this.
Yes. I receiver 199 and 509. My dish is so high on my roof I haven't been able to get up there to look at how the installer did it.
If you wouldn't mind another elementary question...
If indeed there is a multiswitch (I assume it's on the roof not under the house or something), do I just need to get up there with more cable? Should I replace the multiswitch with a larger one?
Do you know of a url with very specific directions for connecting a dish? I know how to do the wiring of the receiver.
(pretty much)
Thanks for your help, every bit of info is appreciated.

Mits 61" monitor
HK AV 435
Samsung DVD850
Philips Tivo
New Directv HD DVR (they sent it free and I replaced my samsung HD)
argo is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 10-07-2001, 11:29 PM
Newbie
 
Dexter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Frisco, Tx
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The multiswitch should be on the back of your dish. All you need is more cable. You might consider a bigger multiswitch if you plan on adding more directivo's, but the one you have now should serve you just fine. I don't know of a url, but I have the same dish setup and the multiswitch is very clearly labeled. It's not hard just get up there and take a look.
Dexter1 is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off