Mitsubishi HS-HD2000U on Mits web site - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 09-09-2001, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wezar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Bellevue,Wa,usa
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.mitsubishi-tv.com/PDFs/dvcrspecs.pdf

Link to HS-HD2000U. Looks like it is a nice piece. Now if it only worked with TU-DST50.



------------------
RJW

RJW
wezar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 09-09-2001, 06:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by wezar:
Now if it only worked with TU-DST50.

It might, working on this as we speak.


------------------
"Better living thru modern, expensive electronics devices"
tm

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 09-10-2001, 08:38 PM
sr
Senior Member
 
sr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Go Ken, say its true. Tell us that the DST 50/51 is compatible with the Mits D-VHS recorder. Please say its true. Then we finally have an alternative to the over-priced PV HD-1000 recorder. It certainly would send shock waves to those greedy sellers on e-Bay.
sr is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 09-13-2001, 02:20 PM
tji
AVS Special Member
 
tji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Notice that this unit does not have any Component Video outputs. It only have composite, S-Video, RF Antenna out. Apparently, and HD is output only via the firewire port.

So, this is not an option for me & my Sampo.
tji is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 09-13-2001, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
mmburke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the purpose for the HD2000U?

-It doesn't have a HDTV tuner
-It has only firewire input and output for HD (apparently). I don't believe any recent STB's have this connection.
-Only 480 line video, so it's not HD at all

Am I missing something? I can only believe this is for some special Mits product line.


------------------
Mark

Mark
mmburke is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 09-13-2001, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LeeAntin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Lynbrook,NY,USA
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today...9/13/01...the purpose of this new HD VCR is to work with the new Mits and Sony HDTV's that are coming out with an ATSC OTA HD tuner built in.

It will not work with the existing population of HDTV's that have no Firewire connections with the POSSIBLE exception of the older, no longer being made, Panasonic OTA HD STB's.

Lee
LeeAntin is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 09-13-2001, 06:11 PM
tji
AVS Special Member
 
tji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What about the "480-Line 3D Y/C comb filter", as mmburke mentioned? I saw that too, but I wasn't sure if it was some feature related to composite/S-Video, or does it only record 480 lines of resolution?
tji is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 09-13-2001, 06:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,760
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally posted by mmburke:
What is the purpose for the HD2000U?

-It doesn't have a HDTV tuner
-It has only firewire input and output for HD (apparently). I don't believe any recent STB's have this connection.
-Only 480 line video, so it's not HD at all

Am I missing something? I can only believe this is for some special Mits product line.
It'll record any DTCP encrypted digital video that it can receive onto D-VHS tape. It cannot itself decode that video at all--it can only regurgitate it on command for something smarter downstream to decode and display. Right now, as Lee pointed out, it can be connected to the single Sony set that's on sale now, the KD-34XBR2, a 34" direct-view; in the near future, there will be a couple of other Sony sets and some Mitsubishi sets with integrated tuners and 1394/DTCP connectors that it can be connected to (according to Gary Merson's article in the latest Perfect Vision, a couple of the Mitsubishis should ship this month and next, with higher end stuff coming out early next year). It could use the ATSC tuners in those sets to record OTA HD. It could possibly also record DISH Network stuff tuned through an HD "upgraded" 5000 or 5022 receiver connected to that ATSC tuner (I think--didn't these pre-6000 HD upgradeable receivers require that the set have a tuner? The upgrade must encoded the video into an 8 VSB modulated ATSC channel--it enters the STB as MPEG-2 anyway--which would give the set an MPEG-2 TS stream to send over 1394/DTCP). It could not record the HD analog component video that the DISH 6000 and DIRECTV Plus STBs output.

When there are STBs with 1394/DTCP connections, it will be able to record from them (except, of course, pay-per-view, which will almost certainly be marked "Copy Never", since that's the only broadcast material the DTCP Adopter's Agreement allows to be marked that way). Echostar has stated that it is putting these on an upcoming DISH Network STB.

-- Mike Scott

[This message has been edited by michaeltscott (edited 09-13-2001).]

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #9 of 22 Old 09-13-2001, 06:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 17,760
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally posted by tji:
What about the "480-Line 3D Y/C comb filter", as mmburke mentioned? I saw that too, but I wasn't sure if it was some feature related to composite/S-Video, or does it only record 480 lines of resolution?
For the S-VHS recording and playback, I'm sure.

-- Mike Scott



Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #10 of 22 Old 09-13-2001, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 135
I'm all set as I have a KD-34XBR2. However I'm not sure I can use the Mits to record one HD program while I watch another HD channel. If it can't then that's a serious disadvantage. Starting this Fall we'll finally have some HD component going head-to-head.

Garrett
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 09-13-2001, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LeeAntin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Lynbrook,NY,USA
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Garrett,

As pointed out, there is no tuner in the Mits HD VCR so you will only be able to record either what you are watching or time shifting of programming for future use.

Lee
LeeAntin is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 09-13-2001, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bruce Embry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: East Coast
Posts: 1,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The new Mits Digital VCR will be a perfect match for my Mits WT-46807 with the Promise Module installed. And since I already have a Mits HD-5, I will be able to view a HD source while recording another HD source.


------------------
Bruce.in.Cary

Bruce.in.Triangle NC
Firewire is alive and kicking!
Bruce Embry is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 09-14-2001, 12:59 PM
Member
 
rjcrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sunnyvale, CA USA
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I asked this question in another thread, and no one seemed to know....so I'll ask again.

With the advent of this Mits VCR, does anyone know of plans by Hughes/Mits/Toshiba to release updated versions of their respective STBs (all made by Hughes) to include the 1394/DTCP interface? All of the current STBs were first ready to ship in mid-2000 (if I remember correctly) but were delayed by the APG problems until late 2000/early 2001.

Well, it's been a year....and it seems like time is ripe for Hughes to bring out an updated box.

Any news anywhere? Laser Land here in the South Bay has no knowledge of this, and suggested that announcements might be made at the CEA show in January.
rjcrum is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 09-14-2001, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Bruce, that will probably be the only way to handle two HD programs at the same time. Like you, I also have an alternate STB, a retired Samsung SIR-T150. It can be used to handle the input being viewed. Though not an elegant solution it would be quite workable.

Garrett
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 09-14-2001, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LeeAntin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Lynbrook,NY,USA
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the Mits rep I spoke with in July of this year, there will be NO 1394 STB coming from Mits in the year 2002.

The only company who has seemed to indicate that they might have a 1394 and a DVI HD STB coming in 2002 is Echostar (dish network).

Lee
LeeAntin is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 09-19-2001, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Any word yet on whether this unit will work with a Panasonic TU-DST50/51 STB???

------------------
Dave Harper
Harper Home Theater Systems

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 09-19-2001, 09:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Dave,

No word yet. But again, it might.

------------------
"Better living thru modern, expensive electronics devices"
tm

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 09-20-2001, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks Ken, I'll be waiting (im-)patientlyhttp://www.avsforum.com/ubb/wink.gif!!!

------------------
Dave Harper
Harper Home Theater Systems
"Dr. Evil Strikes Again!!!"

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 09-20-2001, 10:16 PM
Senior Member
 
jeffster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Southlake, TX
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What system is the DST50 for? I haven't heard of it before.

------------------
-- jas

-- jas
jeffster is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 09-20-2001, 10:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
HiDefGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jeffster:
What system is the DST50 for? I haven't heard of it before.
The TU-DST50/51 are the defunct Panasonic OTA-only HD receiver model.


------------------
"You can't argue with a confident man"
- Napoleon Wilson, Assault on Precinct 13
HiDefGuy is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 10-10-2001, 05:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
wezar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Bellevue,Wa,usa
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone seen this unit in stores yet? Also will it work with the Panny combo?

------------------
RJW

[This message has been edited by wezar (edited 10-11-2001).]

RJW
wezar is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 10-11-2001, 09:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Still working, visualize your desktop with the cursor in motion, like the hourglass.

Sorry for any angst caused by the delay, I was hoping to have an answer by now.

------------------
"Better living thru modern, expensive electronics devices"
tm

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off