8300HD and External SATA - It Works!! - Page 265 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #7921 of 9018 Old 02-07-2010, 08:02 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20

Here is a 3-page PDF Parts List Set-Up with No-Enclosure. / Google Doc link for non-AVSF members:
This is what I have been using since Feb 2010 with no problems. I have swapped the WD1001FALS 32MB Cache for a WD1002FAEX 64MB Cache, both work without issues.
The reason I recommend using no enclosure is to eliminate the need to find a compatible enclosure that will not cause your Ext HDD to glitch during recording. Some enclosures that worked in the past have changed the chipset inside and may no longer work as well as they have in the past.

Updated 08/08/12:

Tested the new "beta" Passport Version 3.1.124 and it does Prompt for a Format of a New Ext HDD.

Updated 07/12/12:
Not sure when it happened, But I just noticed the "beta" Passport Version the DVR was running has been updated, again. I checked to see if it would prompt for the removal of the Ext HDD, and it does. I have not tested to see if it prompts for a Format of a NEW Ext HDD.

Prior beta version:
Passport Vers: 3.1.091
OS Vers: PowerTV 6.20.75.106sp

New Passport version:
Passport Vers: 3.1.124
OS Vers: (did not change, PowerTV 6.20.75.106sp)

AFAIK, there is no firmware for using an Ext HDD on the 8642HDC (Black DVR) running Passport.

Updated 03/15/12:
Still working great....The days are numbered for my 8240HDC, TiVo Premiere is now my DVR of choice. and will become my Whole Home DVR solution.

Updated 11/05/11:
Currently beta testing Passport Echo Vers. 3.1.091 and PowerTV Vers. 6.20.75.106sp, This update has fixed the formatting issue with the 8240HDC.
I strongly suggest you set all recordings and series recordings to "Save Until Manually Erased" -- The Blue Diamond ♦ next to the recording indicates this setting.