8300HD and External SATA - It Works!! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 9021 Old 04-12-2005, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Cox Cable, SARA 1.87.16.1
Copy Protection Pg 31/34
Outputs
1394: Unavailable

This is the only page in my diagnostics that mentions 1394.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 9021 Old 04-12-2005, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dt_dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by T2k
FW enabled? Is this confirmed now? It'd be much better than some encrypted SATA...

Firewire can be encrypted too ...
And any content marked with the broadcast flag or coming from channels marked "copy once" will be.
dt_dc is offline  
post #183 of 9021 Old 04-12-2005, 10:41 AM
Member
 
GregNico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tucson, Az.
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I would also like to add many thanks to DMILANI,
I have success with (Adelphia-Cleveland (Mayf.Hts), Ohio) in adding a 200GB ATA/133 (Maxtor L01P200)
The enclosure was the IDE to (combo)SATA/USB2 (Model# ME-740U2SI) http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-369&depa=1)

The heat coming from the aluminum enclosure does make me worry? I also report that the noise from the drive during playback while recording is more noticeable? The blue light on the enclosure is our new night lite for the 1st floor.

Performance I am happy that I added the drive.
I do want to report that it's not perfect in comparison to the internal drive.
(To compare I recorded to 3 - 8300's hooked to same TV ) I confirm the drive will only work with 1 box unless you want to reformat.

The performance of the external drive.
Pros --> Increased Storage, Same clarity of picture and sound
Cons -> increase of dropped pixels in partial lines in small segments at any time /degradation of video (signs of lost pixels) during fast moving objects (golfers and their motion) sometimes coinciding with audio stutters.
I recorded the Masters Golf and noticed audio (electronic stutters) and a slight (increase of dropped pixels in partial lines in small segments for split second. Maybe once out of every 30 sec (on average)? (No pattern) This included times where half of the whole picture would be shifted over an inch then comback to normal.

I thought I added a better drive from the lineup of Maxtor ATA/133 drives. I will probably add a serial drive on the next unit to compare in the future or look for feedback on a different ATA/133.
The video isn't that much of a problem but last night's episode of 24 had many audio dropouts during dialogue from the external drive.
GregNico is offline  
post #184 of 9021 Old 04-12-2005, 11:06 AM
Member
 
GregNico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tucson, Az.
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
audio dropouts during dialogue from the external drive.

---NO-- The external drive wasn't talking to me...

------Kiefer Sutherland was trying..
GregNico is offline  
post #185 of 9021 Old 04-12-2005, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Dropouts (both audio and video) are kind of difficult to evaluate as they can really occur anywhere along the chain (networks, feed to cable, cable head end, cable distribution to your house, and finally in the tuner/DVR. So it's really difficult to come to definitive conclusions.

I played it "safe" and as I was buying the drive I opted for the Maxtor SATA drive (250GB). I've been really watching for increased dropouts and haven't been able to conclude much (one way or the other). Some recent recordings made before adding the external drive have a noticeable amount - but some newer recordings (clearly on the external drive) have some drop outs too.

I can clearly "hear" when the external drive is being used when I fast forward. But when the program is playing, and with the TV sound at normal levels I don't notice it.

Another note, my external drive does not run particularly hot - it is only slightly warm to the touch. I do not have a fan running, but it is in a metal case.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is online now  
post #186 of 9021 Old 04-12-2005, 02:08 PM
Member
 
GregNico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tucson, Az.
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Dave
Thanks for the feedback. I really knew I would be buying more than one hard drive and gave the ATA/133 a chance. That's another reason I went for the Case that had the USB2 and SATA connection. So I could reuse somewhere else.

I was actually trying to buy the same Maxtor drive L01S250 last week during our 12 snow storm. $152 no rebates at BestBuy.com. I went to the local Best buy store where they had 1 left but they wouldn't match their own web price. And, they don't make them available for pickup either from a online purchase when they are down to their last one.

I was going to order from the next closest but waited till the next day which was too long as the next day the sale went off.
So now I wait till the next best sale price?
GregNico is offline  
post #187 of 9021 Old 04-12-2005, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
LYU370's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by GregNico
I also report that the noise from the drive during playback while recording is more noticeable?

Do you by chance have the drive standing vertically? I did, and noticed that it was much louder than when it was horizontal. Then I noticed that the rubber feet were only on the horizontal surface. I added some stick on rubber feet that I had laying around and the seek noises are greatly reduced.

Andy

Not a single Monsterously over hyped cable to be found in my system.
LYU370 is offline  
post #188 of 9021 Old 04-12-2005, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by GregNico
Yes, I would also like to add many thanks to DMILANI,
I have success with (Adelphia-Cleveland (Mayf.Hts), Ohio) in adding a 200GB ATA/133 (Maxtor L01P200)

Very good and informative (original) post. Full of actual facts and multiple cases and scenarios, both proven good and failed.

Thanks
vegggas
vegggas is offline  
post #189 of 9021 Old 04-13-2005, 07:04 AM
Member
 
GregNico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tucson, Az.
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by LYU370
Do you by chance have the drive standing vertically? I did, and noticed that it was much louder than when it was horizontal.

Yes I do, I think the heat dissipates better in the vertical position from a human touch (should measure with thermometer).
Quote:


Originally posted by LYU370
Then I noticed that the rubber feet were only on the horizontal surface. I added some stick on rubber feet that I had laying around and the seek noises are greatly reduced.

Thanks for the advice, I will get some rubber feet and add on like you did.
GregNico is offline  
post #190 of 9021 Old 04-13-2005, 09:37 AM
T2k
 
T2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by dt_dc
Firewire can be encrypted too ...
And any content marked with the broadcast flag or coming from channels marked "copy once" will be.

Yet folks have been recording TWC from 3250HD via firewire... so I'd like to play with it for a while...
T2k is offline  
post #191 of 9021 Old 04-13-2005, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dt_dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by T2k
Yet folks have been recording TWC from 3250HD via firewire... so I'd like to play with it for a while...

Same here. Just pointing out that some content can (and will be) encrypted (DTCP).
dt_dc is offline  
post #192 of 9021 Old 04-13-2005, 12:20 PM
Member
 
GregNico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tucson, Az.
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I was researching serial enclosures I had noticed a bargin? at $32.85. Has anyone tried this enclosure for serial drives
From NewEgg All Products> External Enclosure > E-POWER/TAGAN > N82E16817155903
E-POWER SATA External Enclosure for 3.5" Drives, Model "EP-301SA" -RETAIL
Model# EP-301SA / Item # N82E16817155903
Specifications: / Application: 3.5" SATA drive /Internal Interface: SATA / External Interface: SATA
Max Size: 400GB / Power: AC input: 100 - 240V / Fans: 80mm Turbo Cooling Fan
Features: New Anti Shock Design, Hot Swappable

enclosure for sata drive w/ 80mm fan
GregNico is offline  
post #193 of 9021 Old 04-13-2005, 02:58 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


Originally posted by DMILANI
The drive enclosure I pointed to did not have a fan, but I realized that I needed one, so I ordered this add-on cradle shown on this page:

http://www.addonics.com/products/com.../aechdsa35.asp

The part number is AAHDSA35BY. This cradle allows for drive swapping and also has a built in fan that runs as long as the enclosure power supply is plugged in. The fan is very quite and keeps the drive cool.

Hope this helps.

I received the add on cradle, I still don't understand how the fan is powered, is there a seperate AC adapter to power the fan?

Lon
LJG is online now  
post #194 of 9021 Old 04-13-2005, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DMILANI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Lon, did you mention earlier that you bought the metal version?

I have the plastic version, and the fan runs off of the single power connection.

-D
DMILANI is offline  
post #195 of 9021 Old 04-13-2005, 06:23 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
metal version
LJG is online now  
post #196 of 9021 Old 04-14-2005, 03:27 PM
GBL
Senior Member
 
GBL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone bought the "External eSATA - SATA cable, 100 cm" from Addonics for $26.95? If so, does it work?

It would seem that if you bought it together with an enclosure from Addonics, you'd save the shipping and handling charge that Cruz system tacks on to their lower price, so it would be a wash...
GBL is offline  
post #197 of 9021 Old 04-14-2005, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DMILANI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Actually, you just need this adapter and a standard external SATA I cable (comes with some enclosures):

http://www.addonics.com/products/other/

First item on page.
DMILANI is offline  
post #198 of 9021 Old 04-14-2005, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
JimFitch28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received on of these, FYI if you ask them to send it USPS the shipping cost is $3.00
JimFitch28 is offline  
post #199 of 9021 Old 04-15-2005, 09:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Carl Sims's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your link doesn't work anymore.

Quote:


Originally posted by DMILANI
Actually, you just need this adapter and a standard external SATA I cable (comes with some enclosures):

http://www.shopaddonics.com/itemdesc...SAP15C&eq=&Tp=

Carl Sims is offline  
post #200 of 9021 Old 04-15-2005, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DMILANI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Fixed!
DMILANI is offline  
post #201 of 9021 Old 04-18-2005, 09:46 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Wierd problem, I don't know if it associated with external SATA drive.

On certain recorded events all of a sudden out of the blue, When I go to recorded list and select the recorded event, I then select play from the options menu, on certain recordings the screen goes to playback channel where the choices are press the list button to see your recordings, or press the CH up/dn button to change channels, I am unable to view the recorded event.

Anyone know whats up?
LJG is online now  
post #202 of 9021 Old 04-19-2005, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
LYU370's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you sure your external drive didn't get powered off accidentally somewhere along the way? The only time I've seen this happen was when I accidentally pulled the plug on the external drive. The recordings that are on the external drive still show up in the list but are inaccessible so it just dumps you back to the main screen. Try rebooting your box, make sure you get the message saying that an external device is connected and you should be able to access the recordings again.

Andy

Not a single Monsterously over hyped cable to be found in my system.
LYU370 is offline  
post #203 of 9021 Old 04-19-2005, 01:47 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Andy:

Thanks, very possible that the external got powered off, so I should just reboot the 8300?

Lon
LJG is online now  
post #204 of 9021 Old 04-19-2005, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
LYU370's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, unplug the 8300, then plug 'er back in after you've verified the external drive is powered on and connected.

Andy

Not a single Monsterously over hyped cable to be found in my system.
LYU370 is offline  
post #205 of 9021 Old 04-19-2005, 02:55 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks Andy, I guess its time to hook up the external sata to a ups
LJG is online now  
post #206 of 9021 Old 04-19-2005, 06:17 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks again Andy it worked perfectly.
LJG is online now  
post #207 of 9021 Old 04-23-2005, 06:20 PM
Senior Member
 
ClickCardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just found this on Maxtor's website about their SATA drive that is especially made for DVRs.
http://www.maxtor.com/_files/maxtor/...data_sheet.pdf

Anybody know anything about them? I assume they are pricey.

Also I've seen the spec 7200RPM (5400RPM no Multi-Room). What's Multi-Room?
ClickCardo is offline  
post #208 of 9021 Old 04-24-2005, 09:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 250
This has been posted months ago. Aside from a press release, not much is known. Never saw it anywhere. Seagate has a similar offering recently. Sounds like both are offered through local cable co only.

The Multi-room refers to the Multi-room version of the 8300 DVR that can serve up to 4 cable boxes in the house. It's only available for SD playback right now in some places. Until HD playback is fully supported, I don't see any value for it.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #209 of 9021 Old 04-25-2005, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:


Originally posted by LJG
I received the add on cradle, I still don't understand how the fan is powered, is there a seperate AC adapter to power the fan?

Lon

Has this issue ever been resolved? The thread went off in other directions.

I originally purchased the metal enclosure kit and found that it had a fan but no way to power it. I wrote to Addonics and they said that the Cradle supplied the fan power. But it looks like LJG found that the cradle did not supply power.

I purchased the metal version thinking that the metal would dissipate heat. It seems to work well and I am not sure in "needs" the fan (unit is out in open with air circulation around all but one (narrow) side. But I am interested in further cooling - just to play it safe.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is online now  
post #210 of 9021 Old 04-26-2005, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
Vager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found another cable to give some people other alternatives, not sure if the price is any competitive or not.

Part# TCB-SATA-2/1

w w w .sonnettech.com/product/esata_cables.html
or
w w w .ecost.com/ecost/shop/detail~dpno~534359.asp

Both are listed for $24.95

I haven't purchased a cable yet as I live in Ontario Canada. I use Rogers Cable who uses the SARA software and I just got my 8300HD. I looking for a place to buy this cable up here as I don't want to have to pay $30+ for shipping. Has anyone found a place to buy up in the North?

I couldn't post http links as this is my first post.

Thanks
Vager is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off