Sony DHG-HDD250/500: Official Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 29338 Old 05-15-2005, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Comcast brought me an 8000 DVR; they said the 8300 is not available yet

it does some strange things: you cannot tune to ch 205 Discovery HD unless you switch to an analog channel first: DVI and firewire ports are not active

I got an extra CableCard for the Sony: I can phone in the info to activate it

Comcast techs have to phone in the CableCard data which then has to be faxed to Plainfield to authorize the card

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 29338 Old 05-15-2005, 10:54 PM
Member
 
GBrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Jordan, UT
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was talking to a supervisor 10 minutes after they opened on Saturday. He put me on hold to 'get the current status' and came back on and told me the package had already been delivered and they couldn't get it back. He claimed that Sony had not done the re-routing and that the information had been turned over to another department that would investigate why the package had been re-routed.

He said I'd have to reorder. He couldn't tell me when they would have more in stock, but that he would request the info and promised an email to me on Tuesday or Wednesday with an ETA.

I have a coupon code for free shipping. Now I need to decide whether I want to use it or not.
GBrock is offline  
post #33 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW, the shipping date is now OFF the Sony site. I guess they enjoy yanking us around. Hmmm. JR
jerrich is offline  
post #34 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 505
mine shows it is on the truck for delivery today

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #35 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jerrich
FWIW, the shipping date is now OFF the Sony site. I guess they enjoy yanking us around. Hmmm. JR

Uhmm, my guess would be because THEY ARE ALREADY SHIPPING! Why would you put a shipping date that is in the past on your web site? All you need to do is put the product on the site and let the consumers correctly assume the product is available.

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
post #36 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
andydrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tijuana, Mexico
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I emailed Sony yesterday to try to cancel my order. I hope it gets cancelled before it ships!

With the price reduction in the DirectTV HDTivo to $699 effective today, this Sony box does not look so attractive any more. Of course I am locked into DirectTV, have to pay the $4.99/month Tivo fee, but the HDTivo box has more features. Plus I can record from DirectTV and OTA at the same time.
andydrew is offline  
post #37 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 12:32 PM
Member
 
0t1s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Westmont, IL
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I rec'd mine on Friday (5/13/05) afternoon...got it set up mostly on Saturday night. CableCARD won't be installed until tonight so I haven't really worked with tweaking the channel guide or anything. Figured I'd wait until I had access to all the channels first.

From the looks of it I think I am going to like it. I will be using it as well as a Comcast Motorola 6200 (6212 I think? Has 2 tuners) series DVR/HDTV Cable box.

Using the Sony in conjunction with the Comcast box affords me luxury of not missing the second tuner in the Sony.

We archive shows for quite awhile and watch them on our time schedule and the Motorola box just didn't have the HDD capacity, ya know?
0t1s1 is offline  
post #38 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 12:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,832
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1545 Post(s)
Liked: 1645
From what I've seen of the guide, it sure looks like it blows away most cable system guides.....certainly mine from Cablevision.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #39 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark, I would certainly be interested in your observations of the Sony unit. Could you post some pics, or anyone else for that matter, of the guide and maybe expound on how it works.

Thanks...
BenDover is offline  
post #40 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 02:25 PM
Member
 
0t1s1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Westmont, IL
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The guide is kind of nice...I haven't really had a chance to sit down and really USE it but what I have seen I like...Setup was extremely easy and it worked the first time. Detected regular cable channels that don't require decrypting immediately during initial setup, even the local HDTV's...

So far so good.....
0t1s1 is offline  
post #41 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 02:45 PM
Member
 
GBrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Jordan, UT
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by PhilB
All you need to do is put the product on the site and let the consumers correctly assume the product is available.


The problem is it's back to not available. Sony doesn't have them in stock and nobody there has the slightest clue when they'll have them again.
GBrock is offline  
post #42 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder how many units Sony manufactured in this first lot. If it was a significant amount, they certainly sold out of them very quickly. I know many people have been waiting quite a long time for these units...some over a year!

[EDIT: The site apparently has the smaller 250 shipping the next day:

"Usually ships next business day. "


and the 500 as shipping date not available (which doesn't necessarily mean they are out of stock as I've seen this message before and taken delivery almost immediately...items shipped straight from Japan on new merchandise):

"Shipping date not available. We will notify you by email when this product has shipped."
BenDover is offline  
post #43 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 505
mine arrived and looks good

it first asks if you want to scan for OTA channels; I chose No but it scanned anyway (I have no decent ATSC reception because of terrain)

then it takes one hour to read the cablecard to obtain Card data, host ID info to have the card authorized: I phoned it in and am waiting for card authorization

HDMI works well and audio is fed via the HDMI connector (yes it cuts off the component video analog out )

however during channel changes I hear lots of static popping in the audio: this is a problem

more: looking at system info, it appears the DHG-HDD500 has two hard drives; software Version 1.2.05: it gives signal strength for both antenna and cable inputs

more OK now I have card authorization: the encrypted channels such as 205 Discovery, INHD 206, 207 look excellent: I have the output set to 1080i using HDMI

The guide is the TV Guide system: no guide data yet

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #44 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 03:28 PM
Member
 
GBrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Jordan, UT
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nobody at SonyStyle knows anything about stock, but my second order has shipped today according the email I just received. I may have to sit out on the porch all day and be ready to tackle the FedEx guy. Hopefully I'll have better luck this time...
GBrock is offline  
post #45 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 505
the analog audio output is clean: no popping sound during channel change

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #46 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark, what are you feeding with the signals coming from the unit?

Did you try optical or coax audio out to see if noise during channel changes is present?
BenDover is offline  
post #47 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 505
signal source is Comcast HD

audio:

analog: OK
optical: not checked yet
SPDIF: no coax digital audio out
HDMI audio: noticeable popping while switching channels

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #48 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is receiving the hdmi audio signal as it may be the culprit, particularly if that device cannot accept full 5.1 audio and the hdd500 isn't downmixing the audio?

As I understand it, during the initial handshake the devices normally communicate their abilities but I suppose if this isn't implemented properly there could be problems.
BenDover is offline  
post #49 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 505
display is Sharp LC45GX6U

the HDMI audio works clean from an HD Tivo to this display

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #50 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 05:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,832
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1545 Post(s)
Liked: 1645
Mark, is the PQ on the Sony better than your previous cable HD box?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #51 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Quote:


Originally posted by Ken Ross
Mark, is the PQ on the Sony better than your previous cable HD box?

still looking at that Ken: the PQ from the Sony looks as good as the direct cablecard on the LC45

interesting: the Sony introduces a delay of 3-4 seconds over any other Comcast source including SA8000, SA3250, and Cablecard in the display

Sony channel changing is also slower than the SA8000

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #52 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 07:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,832
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1545 Post(s)
Liked: 1645
Hmm, shades of the HD Tivo? Could it somehow be related to the HDMI?

I wonder how the Sony would look on the 63" Fujitsu....I know you'll give that a shot!
Ken Ross is offline  
post #53 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 07:30 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Quote:


Originally posted by Ken Ross
Hmm, shades of the HD Tivo? Could it somehow be related to the HDMI?

I wonder how the Sony would look on the 63" Fujitsu....I know you'll give that a shot!

yes Ken: when I went back to Sony component video the delay is gone: the delay(and audio noise) are through the HDMI output: the HDMI output is how I intended to install it

I will try it on the P63 in the next few days: that would be HDMI for video and toslink for audio

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #54 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 07:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,832
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1545 Post(s)
Liked: 1645
Mark, can't you just break out the audio via the optical audio output of the Sony? This way you'll get the HDMI video connection and avoid the crackling audio.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #55 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Quote:


Originally posted by Ken Ross
Mark, can't you just break out the audio via the optical audio output of the Sony? This way you'll get the HDMI video connection and avoid the crackling audio.

the Sharp LC-45 HDMI input does not offer a separate audio in of any type: audio in is only through the HDMI connector

and I wonder if the 4 second delay would show up between audio and video that way: I will check it

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #56 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 07:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,832
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1545 Post(s)
Liked: 1645
I didn't realize that about the Sharp. Strange decision on Sharp's part to omit separate audio inputs.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #57 of 29338 Old 05-17-2005, 08:14 PM
Senior Member
 
kong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Mountaintop, PA.
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone post some pics of the TV guide interface?

Denon 2808CI
Emotiva XPA-2-Mains
Emotiva UPA-2-Bi-Amped-Center
Definitive Technology BP-7004 (Mains), CLR 3000(Center), BP 1.2x (Rear & Side Surrounds)
JTR Sealed Captivator S2, PE Titanic 1000 watt Sonotube
Panasonic PT-AE8000u Projector, Panasonic Blu-Ray Player BDT-500
Carada 88" Projector Screen
kong is offline  
post #58 of 29338 Old 05-18-2005, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dp70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dp70 is offline  
post #59 of 29338 Old 05-18-2005, 03:34 PM
Member
 
BondDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can one or more of those of you lucky enough to have received one give us a mini-review or two?

Some questions: Can you use the remote to change the display format? Can you use the remote to change the aspect ratio? How about switching between OTA and cable? Any quirks for analog versus digital OTA? Does analog OTA or cable look any worse? Can you pause & rewind a program during scheduled recording (my Zenith does not let you do this)?

There are no reviews out there from someone who actual has one, so please share some knowledge!

Thanks

All I want is for all the programs I watch to be in HD. Seems reasonable to me :)
BondDude is offline  
post #60 of 29338 Old 05-18-2005, 04:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,832
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1545 Post(s)
Liked: 1645
Got mine today. Thus far the guide hasn't downloaded (expected) and the PQ appears excellent.

You can use the remote to change both resolution and aspect ratios. I don't have mine hooked up to OTA, but my guess is it would be integrated into the guide....maybe Mark Rubin knows at this point? PQ appears better than on my 8300 DVR. I'm not sure about pausing & rewinding during a recording, I'll check that out later.
Ken Ross is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
sony dhg-hdd250/500 , vizio m401i-a3 40" hdtv
Gear in this thread



    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off