Sony DHG-HDD250/500: Official Thread - Page 464 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #13891 of 29253 Old 02-26-2009, 09:29 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a very sick DVR. A power hit appears to have upset it greatly, and I need help to revive it. (Apologies for the lengthy tale.)

I've been using my DVR for a couple of years now. I've had to reset it once or twice, and I've had to use the reset-from-lockout procedure to revive it this summer. But this is new.

The situation is this: We experienced a power "event" on Monday, where we lost and regained power a couple of times. The cause was a broken wire between power poles. The broken wire came down, sparking, etc., just outside the room where the DVR lives. The DVR is not on a surge protector/UPS.

After the "event", I noticed that the DVR lost its time display. I assumed it had reset for some reason. I think it still had old TVGOS program information. I still could view my channels, and HD channels mapped their information correctly so, for example, channel 2-1 could be reached by entering 2.1. So, the basic viewing functions of the DVR worked. I checked the VBI and host channel information and saw they were unset. From this summer's lockup I knew that the TVGOS information would select the wrong channel, so I did the manual VBI Search Channel function and turned the DVR off overnight. However, in the morning the time still had not been set.

We didn't use the DVR until we wanted to watch a recorded program on Tuesday evening. The clock had still not set itself, and I discovered all the recordings had been lost, as though a hard factory reset had been done. Very distressing!