Sony DHG-HDD250/500: Official Thread - Page 977 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #29281 of 29299 Old 09-14-2014, 02:07 PM
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To me it's amazing these Sonys still function, considering the hard drives are 10 years old, and run continuously as long as the machine is plugged in. My HDD500 locks up frequently, much more than the HDD250, making me use it much less than I used to. The date is off by about 10 months, I still don't understand where the clock data comes from.
joecass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29282 of 29299 Old 09-16-2014, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 97
I'm not amazed, just happy. I have one unit that run and records 1 to 3 programs weekly. All the heavy lifting is done by a pair of TiVos.


Time & date were part of the Rovi data stream and were sent every 15 seconds on an analog feed. More info was needed for the display of correct timezone and that was sent about daily. My unit has not locked up since I went to 00000 zipcode. I have an accurate time because I program it twice a year with VHS tapes. It's still just a hobby.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29283 of 29299 Old 09-17-2014, 04:26 PM
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I'm not amazed, just happy. I have one unit that run and records 1 to 3 programs weekly. All the heavy lifting is done by a pair of TiVos.


Time & date were part of the Rovi data stream and were sent every 15 seconds on an analog feed. More info was needed for the display of correct timezone and that was sent about daily. My unit has not locked up since I went to 00000 zipcode. I have an accurate time because I program it twice a year with VHS tapes. It's still just a hobby.

Umm.... I think every DHG owner just about knows where the data used to come from, I'm talking about now, with no Rovi or TV Guide. I always have a front panel clock, it's only connected to OTA. No cable card, QAM or analog signal
joecass is offline  
post #29284 of 29299 Old 09-18-2014, 04:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mabuttra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wichita, KS OTA (w/optional cable connection)
Posts: 1,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post
Umm.... I think every DHG owner just about knows where the data used to come from, I'm talking about now, with no Rovi or TV Guide. I always have a front panel clock, it's only connected to OTA. No cable card, QAM or analog signal
Does your clock have the correct time and date? If it does, then there must be a left over inserter still connected at one of your TV stations. I believe that there were a couple still around (North Carolina, and the San Diego area if I recall), but those reports were over a year ago.

If your time is off, then there is no clock data and the clock is just drifting. Without the clock data, the Sony's clock runs on its own, but there is no clock signal for it to sync to.
mabuttra is online now  
post #29285 of 29299 Old 09-18-2014, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post
Umm.... I think every DHG owner just about knows where the data used to come from, I'm talking about now, with no Rovi or TV Guide. I always have a front panel clock, it's only connected to OTA. No cable card, QAM or analog signal
In addition to what Mark said, the FP clock needs the "internals" correct before is shows anything. If you haven't done a reset the FP clock will mimic the internal time. Once you lose the FP clock, it's a crap shoot whether it ever comes back. When I set the time I have to be quick to avoid changing the DST switch packet, which is set to 2012 now.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29286 of 29299 Old 09-18-2014, 06:47 AM
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The time and date have never been correct since the demise of Rovi/TV Guide. This is what puzzles me. Especially when the machine freezes, has to be unplugged, the time changes but the clock on the front panel
reappears. My Sonys still think it's 2013.
joecass is offline  
post #29287 of 29299 Old 09-18-2014, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 30 miles South of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post

The time and date have never been correct since the demise of Rovi/TV Guide.



To increase the stability of the unit, you can clear-out the TVGOS patches with a special coded reset. This will 'forever' get rid of the FP Clock.

Or, you could set the zip code to 00000 in the Guide Setup.




.

- Pj
2013 Vizio M-Series M401i-A3 (40-inch) TV. The Latest Firmware I have: V1.34.44.0080. The M401i-A3 Thread. My Latest Settings (For the A3 Panel).
The Vizio M-Series Razor Thread covers all Models 2013 & 2014. I have a ClearStream-4 connected to a DTX9950 to the Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local Cable to RF-In. Using: Win7 Pro and FireFox 32.0.3
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #29288 of 29299 Old 09-20-2014, 11:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by fallingwater View Post

A big disappointment regarding the DHG was that even though the recorder can enter text descriptions for chapter marks, that function isn't useful for re-titling manual recordings. What a waste!
Right! Assuming I understand to what you're referring, I agree completely! Entering/editing titles for recordings is something Sony should definitely have made possible. Along with manually setting time/date, of course.

[Signature not found -- or just not clever enough.]
SirCrow is offline  
post #29289 of 29299 Old 09-21-2014, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,886
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirCrow View Post
Right! Assuming I understand to what you're referring, I agree completely! Entering/editing titles for recordings is something Sony should definitely have made possible. Along with manually setting time/date, of course.
Correct, and they should have included a functional firewire port and or ethernet port, and also included a second tuner.
Unfortunately that never happened and this was the end of the line for the product line.
I remember when these devices came out, I was so excited, but like other items, I waited for a second generation of hardware to arrive with the above included functionality-as we know that never happened and Sony instead almost immediately killed and devoured its own sibling (this device). I guess such bizzare behavior is to be expected from a company with internal conflicts of intrest between the content division and hardware division. I see it all the time in my work.

Long live the DHG.

It is a shame the source code never was leaked so that we could maintain the device......
navychop likes this.
qz3fwd is offline  
post #29290 of 29299 Old 09-24-2014, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
navychop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yep. Time and date are all we NEED. It could be going great today, and they could have updated the firmware to do that. Not like they have a competing product.....

But they have internal conflicts, as noted. SIGH.

I just can't bring myself to toss mine. A few things are recorded on it, but I'll probably never watch. Since I have Dish, I won't mess with spreadsheets to record. DARNED SHAME!

Reunite Pangea!
navychop is offline  
post #29291 of 29299 Old 09-25-2014, 02:50 AM
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can remember back around 2008-2009, Ebay was flooded with used DVD/VHS combo recorders. I considered buying Sony's RDR-VXD655, until I read user reviews stating the internal clock depended on the TV Guide system. All the other manufacturer's offerings included manual settings. Wound up buying LG and Panasonic recorders at a very low price. Prior to that, in 2005 I bought a Sony RDR-HX715 DVD/HDD recorder, which I still have and use. It has the older analog version of TV Guide, but the software allows manual setting of the time and date. Manual recording is a breeze. Why Sony chose to update the DHG software for digital TV Guide signals and not include manual override, is beyond my comprehension.
joecass is offline  
post #29292 of 29299 Old 09-25-2014, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Anyone who can figure out the Sony mindset deserves a Nobel Prize in something.
SirCrow likes this.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29293 of 29299 Old 10-13-2014, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
speedlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, about 40 miles north of "New York"
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post
I can remember back around 2008-2009, Ebay was flooded with used DVD/VHS combo recorders. I considered buying Sony's RDR-VXD655, until I read user reviews stating the internal clock depended on the TV Guide system. All the other manufacturer's offerings included manual settings. Wound up buying LG and Panasonic recorders at a very low price. Prior to that, in 2005 I bought a Sony RDR-HX715 DVD/HDD recorder, which I still have and use. It has the older analog version of TV Guide, but the software allows manual setting of the time and date. Manual recording is a breeze. Why Sony chose to update the DHG software for digital TV Guide signals and not include manual override, is beyond my comprehension.
I think that one of the items that "new" US legal recorders have is that they can be individually addressed and manipulated by the mother ship. The HDD clearly could not. The CableCo could control a cablecard as installed, but not the whole box. My guess is that the "industry" saw what happened with region free DVD players, and didn't want secret cheat codes which would unlock other functions, like macrovision "off". Note today that Blu Ray players also talk to the mother ship, and change firmware regularly, so if anyone got them to, say, play 1080p through analog jacks, they could bomb you via the internet or "required update for this NEW Blu ray".

The lack of a clock set is intentional. This way, the device is still at the ultimate control of the media provider...You can have a computer that will record OTA-but not a rack of consumer offerings at the big box store, which was the idea, circa 2008. The HDMI plug was designed so digital DVI would not become the default standard for digital video...it is on your computer, but not your TV. The licensing for the plug requires a LOT of HDCP compliance, and you follow a set of rules, one public, one private.....which is why China hasn't knocked it off and sold HDMI recorders here. The plug is key...brilliant in simplicity, and in evil. Tivo is tolerated as they compete above the normal price point for a CableCo junk DVR, and to show "see, there is no collusion here"....

Sony, the electronics company, collided with Sony, Media Giant. The CE side lost.

In Vienna we sit, in late night cafe. Straight Connection, on T.E.E.
speedlaw is offline  
post #29294 of 29299 Old 10-13-2014, 06:01 PM
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedlaw View Post
I think that one of the items that "new" US legal recorders have is that they can be individually addressed and manipulated by the mother ship. The HDD clearly could not. The CableCo could control a cablecard as installed, but not the whole box. My guess is that the "industry" saw what happened with region free DVD players, and didn't want secret cheat codes which would unlock other functions, like macrovision "off". Note today that Blu Ray players also talk to the mother ship, and change firmware regularly, so if anyone got them to, say, play 1080p through analog jacks, they could bomb you via the internet or "required update for this NEW Blu ray".

The lack of a clock set is intentional. This way, the device is still at the ultimate control of the media provider...You can have a computer that will record OTA-but not a rack of consumer offerings at the big box store, which was the idea, circa 2008. The HDMI plug was designed so digital DVI would not become the default standard for digital video...it is on your computer, but not your TV. The licensing for the plug requires a LOT of HDCP compliance, and you follow a set of rules, one public, one private.....which is why China hasn't knocked it off and sold HDMI recorders here. The plug is key...brilliant in simplicity, and in evil. Tivo is tolerated as they compete above the normal price point for a CableCo junk DVR, and to show "see, there is no collusion here"....

Sony, the electronics company, collided with Sony, Media Giant. The CE side lost.

While in principle I agree with your comments, based on the arsenal of recording equipment I've accumulated since 2003, seems like Sony was the only manufacturer who declined to include manual override of time and date settings on this particular machine. I vaguely remember reading numerous complaints about the Panasonic DVD/HDD line of recorders that were dependent on TV Guide, but have no first hand experience with them. In fact, my decision to buy the RDR-HX715 over a competing Panasonic model was based on those 2005 reviews of both machines. I also waited quite a number of years before acquiring my DHG-HDD 250 (used on Ebay at a premium price). I don't regret buying the DHG but I personally feel Sony dropped the ball drastically on their idea of customer support.


We as consumers keep losing the "war" with CE manufacturers and government regulations that prevent us from using our equipment the way we want.
joecass is offline  
post #29295 of 29299 Old 10-14-2014, 06:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Anyone know how to improve this receiver's poor responsiveness when changing stations. Have three and they all behave the same. With the original remote or a universal. Our cable card fee with Verizon is now 5 bucks and the benefits are diminishing. I cannot believe they charge that for a 20 dollar card!
theroys88 is online now  
post #29296 of 29299 Old 10-14-2014, 07:32 PM
Member
 
HDTV Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hanover, Pa.
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Remote

I'm going to sell two of my Sony DVR,s. The remotes are worn so that some buttons no longer work.
Any suggestions about a replacement after market remote that would work. Something in the 20-$30 range.
HDTV Sparky is offline  
post #29297 of 29299 Old 10-14-2014, 07:52 PM
Member
 
HDTV Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hanover, Pa.
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Move Video

I want to move home movies from my computer to the Sony DVR.
Is this possible ?
HDTV Sparky is offline  
post #29298 of 29299 Old 10-15-2014, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV Sparky View Post
I'm going to sell two of my Sony DVR,s. The remotes are worn so that some buttons no longer work.
Any suggestions about a replacement after market remote that would work. Something in the 20-$30 range.
You might look into a cheap universal remote.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29299 of 29299 Old 10-15-2014, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV Sparky View Post
I want to move home movies from my computer to the Sony DVR.
Is this possible ?
You might check the HTPC threads for something that will take video from a PC and send, VIA RF, to a television. That should work with the DHG since it only accepts rf for input.
JoeKustra is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
vizio m401i-a3 40" hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off