Sony DHG-HDD250/500: Official Thread - Page 977 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #29281 of 29283 Old 09-14-2014, 02:07 PM
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To me it's amazing these Sonys still function, considering the hard drives are 10 years old, and run continuously as long as the machine is plugged in. My HDD500 locks up frequently, much more than the HDD250, making me use it much less than I used to. The date is off by about 10 months, I still don't understand where the clock data comes from.
joecass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29282 of 29283 Old Yesterday, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I'm not amazed, just happy. I have one unit that run and records 1 to 3 programs weekly. All the heavy lifting is done by a pair of TiVos.


Time & date were part of the Rovi data stream and were sent every 15 seconds on an analog feed. More info was needed for the display of correct timezone and that was sent about daily. My unit has not locked up since I went to 00000 zipcode. I have an accurate time because I program it twice a year with VHS tapes. It's still just a hobby.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #29283 of 29283 Old Today, 04:26 PM
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I'm not amazed, just happy. I have one unit that run and records 1 to 3 programs weekly. All the heavy lifting is done by a pair of TiVos.


Time & date were part of the Rovi data stream and were sent every 15 seconds on an analog feed. More info was needed for the display of correct timezone and that was sent about daily. My unit has not locked up since I went to 00000 zipcode. I have an accurate time because I program it twice a year with VHS tapes. It's still just a hobby.

Umm.... I think every DHG owner just about knows where the data used to come from, I'm talking about now, with no Rovi or TV Guide. I always have a front panel clock, it's only connected to OTA. No cable card, QAM or analog signal
joecass is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
vizio m401i-a3 40" hdtv
Gear in this thread - m401i-a3 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off