Sony DHG-HDD250/500: Official Thread - Page 979 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #29341 of 29355 Old 12-20-2014, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 135
WD2500 EIDE. There are two in the HDD500.
JoeKustra is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29342 of 29355 Old 12-20-2014, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 518 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Ouch. We're moving from the "smooth sailing" stage to the "cannibalise the doorstop for semi-useful parts" stage.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #29343 of 29355 Old 12-20-2014, 03:33 PM
Member
 
ZBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
Ouch. We're moving from the "smooth sailing" stage to the "cannibalise the doorstop for semi-useful parts" stage.
yep
ZBear is offline  
post #29344 of 29355 Old 12-21-2014, 04:48 PM
Member
 
HDTV Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hanover, Pa.
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, I still have 'smooth sailing' on my Sony.
I think if you do a little research and learn how to live with your Sony without the guide, it's still very usable.
Mine has the time and day correct, I can live with that. When I browse the recordings, usually just seeing that info I can tell what show it is.
Now that system doesn't fly with my wife so we also have TIVO.
HDTV Sparky is offline  
post #29345 of 29355 Old 12-22-2014, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A bit of a surprise today.... after being unplugged for about 6 months, my DHG-HDD250 gave me an error message about the hard drive being faulty, and the time was reset to 2004. The error message also stated that recording would not be possible due to this problem. I tried recording a short segment, it was a no-go. Looked up 'reset' procedure in the manual, hit the Exit & TVGuide buttons, it reset the unit and came back to life. Time was changed to June 2014, and now there's a front panel clock again. Apparently the Sony "fixed" itself.


My other DHG-HDD500 is still plugged in, but basically unused because I got tired of having to re-calculate the time offset just about every week when it would freeze up. I've been using two Channel Master CM7400s that I picked up on Ebay this year for about $130 total. While not perfect, they do the job more than adequately, without having to worry about a clock issue.


I really wish there was some way to access the internal Sony software..... and re-program the correct time and date. This past weekend there were five NFL games on broadcast TV..... the Sonys would have come in handy for these football marathons.
joecass is online now  
post #29346 of 29355 Old 12-24-2014, 04:31 AM
Senior Member
 
izzy900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ulster County, New York
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post


I really wish there was some way to access the internal Sony software..... and re-program the correct time and date. This past weekend there were five NFL games on broadcast TV..... the Sonys would have come in handy for these football marathons.

As JoeKustra would say, Get a UPS battery backup to keep the correct time during power spikes, and I would say use the 9012 menu to reset to factory default at 1159:55 PM tonight (Wednesday). The internal clock will revert to 12:00 AM Thursday January 1 2004 but you will lose any schedules you have programed to the DHG.
On your remote, click menu, screen mode (aspect), enter numbers 9012 on your remote, scroll down to TV Guide and click on. On the next screen click on reset to factory default and your internal clock will revert to 12:00 AM 2004. The good thing about this method is you will not lose any recordings but you will need to reschedule your shows. You will not get back the front panel clock but the internal clock will be in sync. Now the good news, If you succeed you will have the correct time and day of the week for all your recordings. If you do this method next Wednesday (New Years Eve), your internal clock will be in sync for all following years including leap year. On DST I believe the DHG does not adjust the clock so you can just adjust your schedules by an hour to compensate. If you just want the correct time on the DHG and do not care about the day of week, or if the DHG reboots and you just want the right time of day. You can use the Izzy method posted earlier on this forum, for the correct time of day but maybe not the right day of week.
Merry Christmas!.....

Last edited by izzy900; 12-24-2014 at 04:58 AM. Reason: TYPO
izzy900 is offline  
post #29347 of 29355 Old 12-24-2014, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by izzy900 View Post
As JoeKustra would say, Get a UPS battery backup to keep the correct time during power spikes, and I would say use the 9012 menu to reset to factory default at 1159:55 PM tonight (Wednesday).

Merry Christmas!.....
You too Izzy. I'm not using my DHG at the moment but it's not in a box either. It sits in my system with a VCR still connected - just in case. I'm due to lose my clear QAM on 2/10/15, so it will be a waste of space then. I already have enough capacity with a Tivo, so I won't get another cable card. Take care.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29348 of 29355 Old 12-24-2014, 05:34 AM
Senior Member
 
izzy900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ulster County, New York
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I can't seem to find the link to the Izzy method anymore, so I can not give link.
here is the method...

HOW TO SET CLOCK ON SONY DHG-HDD 250/500 DVR
1. Hold exit and TV Guide buttons on front of DVR simultaneously! (Unit will reset)
2. Wait for unit to cycle and dashes show instead of time!
3. Power up unit and write down the time on unit clock (Example 4:23 AM)
4. As soon as you have time written down repeat step 1. resetting unit. (The unit will keep the time from the last reset during new reset but the dashes will show on screen till powered up!)
5. Now this is when you wait for the exact time that you have written down from your DVR to come. (Do not power up DVR again until the actual time in step 3.) (Example 4:23 AM actual time)
6. Power up DVR at the appointed time and presto the clock will show that time!
This fix will only work if the unit is left alone and powered down with the dashes showing while waiting to reach your reset time!.
izzy900 is offline  
post #29349 of 29355 Old 12-24-2014, 06:20 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,215
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by izzy900 View Post
As JoeKustra would say, Get a UPS battery backup to keep the correct time during power spikes...
Umm, I believe joecass mentioned the unit freezing up, not power issues . . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post
My other DHG-HDD500 is still plugged in, but basically unused because I got tired of having to re-calculate the time offset just about every week when it would freeze up....

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..

It's a shame that in the end TCU's playoff chances all came down to this . . .
WS65711 is offline  
post #29350 of 29355 Old 12-24-2014, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
izzy900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ulster County, New York
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post
Umm, I believe joecass mentioned the unit freezing up, not power issues . . .
My bad, I should have mentioned that setting the zip code to 00000 and downgrading the firmware from 1.21 to 1.13 seems to make the dhg more stable, just thought I could get those with clock issues up to par during the holidays. Oh by the way, I almost did not know it was you without your guy with spam icon.
izzy900 is offline  
post #29351 of 29355 Old 12-24-2014, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by izzy900 View Post
As JoeKustra would say, Get a UPS battery backup to keep the correct time during power spikes, and I would say use the 9012 menu to reset to factory default at 1159:55 PM tonight (Wednesday). The internal clock will revert to 12:00 AM Thursday January 1 2004 but you will lose any schedules you have programed to the DHG.
On your remote, click menu, screen mode (aspect), enter numbers 9012 on your remote, scroll down to TV Guide and click on. On the next screen click on reset to factory default and your internal clock will revert to 12:00 AM 2004. The good thing about this method is you will not lose any recordings but you will need to reschedule your shows. You will not get back the front panel clock but the internal clock will be in sync. Now the good news, If you succeed you will have the correct time and day of the week for all your recordings. If you do this method next Wednesday (New Years Eve), your internal clock will be in sync for all following years including leap year. On DST I believe the DHG does not adjust the clock so you can just adjust your schedules by an hour to compensate. If you just want the correct time on the DHG and do not care about the day of week, or if the DHG reboots and you just want the right time of day. You can use the Izzy method posted earlier on this forum, for the correct time of day but maybe not the right day of week.
Merry Christmas!.....

Merry Christmas !


An UPS is not the issue..... the issue is locking up more than it should, and having to calculate a time offset. I would rather not set the clock back to 2004, in the event someday I decide to sell it, it looks better to have the time appear to be 2014, even if it's the wrong date and time.
At least it would show that the DHG was functional to some extent.
joecass is online now  
post #29352 of 29355 Old 12-25-2014, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
KerryNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by izzy900 View Post
I can't seem to find the link to the Izzy method anymore, so I can not give link.
I suppose I should post every now and then, just so people can find the Izzy Method link in my signature.

Merry Christmas to all my fellow Sony DHG fans/sufferers!

- Kerry

TiVo Premiere w/2TB internal upgrade and Lifetime Service. Sony DHG-HDD250 retired in 6/13: CableCARD, 1.2.13 firmware, reset weekday & time as needed with 147412356 code. (further time adjustments by the "Izzy method")
KerryNY is offline  
post #29353 of 29355 Old Today, 02:57 PM
Member
 
InfinityBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post
If you bought a Sony DHG-HDD250 or 500, it's not a DVD recorder, and there's no input for recording from a DVD player or any other type of output except Cable QAM or Over-The-Air Digital Broadcasting.
Also, there's no "One Touch Record" button for the Sony, if you hit Record on the remote, it takes you to the timer screen, which doesn't necessarily coincide with the current time. You have to input a recording length in order for it to work. Be aware that without the TV Guide signal, the unit will occasionally lock up and have to be unplugged and reset. It does work fine as a digital tuner, the picture quality is outstanding compared to an Insignia digital converter box, providing you use the HDMI or Component Out.
Thanks.
I knew is was not a DVD recorder, but did not know it would not record from a DVD player. I know that now and still have hope for it meeting some needs.


What you mention, about the recording time, this is my current problem; it seems to record only in 30 minute time frames? I would like it to remain recording as long as I want, and if I need to use a manual, that is fine, but the manual is not very helpful, as to using it as a simple broadcast TV recorder?


I have managed to make a recording, so, I know that works.
I have yet to find an antenna, which works well in my room, where I use it. I tried the square type indoor antenna, and today the Trek model where it look like a short UHF antenna, with no luck, I get the same two channels, and cannot receive the other seven channels.


Yes, I see the picture is very good for setting SP where I may have more material.


So far, I set the zip code to 00000


I plan to try another antenna, or if needed, to move it to another room where I have all local stations.


I mainly want to record a few local shows so, when I have nothing to watch, I can view these.

Any help will be appreciated.
InfinityBob is offline  
post #29354 of 29355 Old Today, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfinityBob View Post
What you mention, about the recording time, this is my current problem; it seems to record only in 30 minute time frames? I would like it to remain recording as long as I want, and if I need to use a manual, that is fine, but the manual is not very helpful, as to using it as a simple broadcast TV recorder?
Any help will be appreciated.
You set the start and end times for a manual recording. The default is 30 minutes. 24 hours is the maximum, I think.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29355 of 29355 Old Today, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfinityBob View Post
Thanks.
I knew is was not a DVD recorder, but did not know it would not record from a DVD player. I know that now and still have hope for it meeting some needs.


What you mention, about the recording time, this is my current problem; it seems to record only in 30 minute time frames? I would like it to remain recording as long as I want, and if I need to use a manual, that is fine, but the manual is not very helpful, as to using it as a simple broadcast TV recorder?


I have managed to make a recording, so, I know that works.
I have yet to find an antenna, which works well in my room, where I use it. I tried the square type indoor antenna, and today the Trek model where it look like a short UHF antenna, with no luck, I get the same two channels, and cannot receive the other seven channels.


Yes, I see the picture is very good for setting SP where I may have more material.


So far, I set the zip code to 00000


I plan to try another antenna, or if needed, to move it to another room where I have all local stations.


I mainly want to record a few local shows so, when I have nothing to watch, I can view these.

Any help will be appreciated.

I'm probably mistaken but, if you had an older DVD player with a Ch3 RF output, you could theoretically connect it to the Sony "Cable" input, and tune the Sony to Channel 3. I have my cable box hooked up this way. If you look in the manual, it states that the settings for XP, SP, etc. only apply to Analog recording, like in the days of Analog Cable. With OTA digital channels, the Sony records in whatever format is being broadcast, i.e., 480i, 720p or 1080i. Use the Sony remote on this screen to input the length of your recording.
joecass is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
sony dhg-hdd250/500 , vizio m401i-a3 40" hdtv
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off