Sony DHG-HDD250/500: Official Thread - Page 982 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #29431 of 29447 Old 07-12-2015, 04:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,472
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by joball1970 View Post
Hello all,

Does anyone have the zip file for Sony DVR Firmware Update (1.2.21)?? - I did a factory reset, and it reverted back to original stock firmware. I scowered the internet, and couldn't find nothing. Thanks in advance
You don't need it. Or maybe I should say why do you need it?

I can sent you a copy if your email supports 20MB attachments.
joball1970 likes this.

Last edited by JoeKustra; 07-12-2015 at 06:53 AM.
JoeKustra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29432 of 29447 Old 07-13-2015, 05:10 AM
Senior Member
 
KerryNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by joball1970 View Post

Does anyone have the zip file for Sony DVR Firmware Update (1.2.21)?? - I did a factory reset, and it reverted back to original stock firmware. I scowered the internet, and couldn't find nothing. Thanks in advance

Many of us preferred the 1.02.13 version, because we had some difficulty scheduling manual recordings with .21 (I think). It also made my unit more stable. I have zipped copy of .13 here: http://peacewabbit.com/dhg/

- Kerry
JoeKustra and joball1970 like this.

TiVo Premiere w/2TB internal upgrade and Lifetime Service. Sony DHG-HDD250 retired in 6/13: CableCARD, 1.2.13 firmware, reset weekday & time as needed with 147412356 code. (further time adjustments by the "Izzy method")
KerryNY is offline  
post #29433 of 29447 Old 07-14-2015, 03:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you, for the file...KerryNY. Appreciate it very much. Would still like to update unit with the 1.2.21 file, and if its too buggy, then i can drop down to the .13 file....So i'm guessing that .21 update did not work for alot of people, regarding the digital host station fix? I just bought my unit on ebay for cheap. All works well, except, the guide, and clock....of course(lol). The reason i reset, was i was getting the seller's channel names.

I used to have a 32in lcd sanyo with tv guide, that worked well into 2013....Here in Omaha, NE. The host station, i believe was pbs.

So is tvgos gone for good? If so, i still made out with a great deal, on a dvr
joball1970 is offline  
post #29434 of 29447 Old 07-14-2015, 03:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,472
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by joball1970 View Post
Thank you, for the file...KerryNY. Appreciate it very much. Would still like to update unit with the 1.2.21 file, and if its too buggy, then i can drop down to the .13 file....So i'm guessing that .21 update did not work for alot of people, regarding the digital host station fix? I just bought my unit on ebay for cheap. All works well, except, the guide, and clock....of course(lol). The reason i reset, was i was getting the seller's channel names.

I used to have a 32in lcd sanyo with tv guide, that worked well into 2013....Here in Omaha, NE. The host station, i believe was pbs.

So is tvgos gone for good? If so, i still made out with a great deal, on a dvr
My memory is not perfect, but I believe without a guide, or a channel lineup, you will be able to schedule a manual recording using the 1.2.21 file. You gain nothing by the update since there are no improvements and there is no guide to be downloaded. Of course, you can search this thread and get the straight information. Just search for "pink" and you will find the posts.

If your email can support an 18MB attachment I can send you the zip file.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #29435 of 29447 Old 07-14-2015, 03:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
You don't need it. Or maybe I should say why do you need it?

I can sent you a copy if your email supports 20MB attachments.
That would be cool...JoeKustra! Is there private messaging on here?
joball1970 is offline  
post #29436 of 29447 Old 07-14-2015, 03:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,472
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by joball1970 View Post
That would be cool...JoeKustra! Is there private messaging on here?
You don't have enough posts I think. You can click on my name and see my email I think. Send me an email and I can reply. I'll know if it gets rejected by your server. Some only go to 10MB, that's why I use gmail. Plus it's free and great for spam blocking.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #29437 of 29447 Old 07-14-2015, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey Joe....i clicked on your name, and all i saw regarding an email address was, "email @gmail .com".
joball1970 is offline  
post #29438 of 29447 Old 07-14-2015, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
...
joball1970 is offline  
post #29439 of 29447 Old 07-14-2015, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
U can send file to jdurr211@gmail.com, if ya want. Thx in advance
joball1970 is offline  
post #29440 of 29447 Old 07-14-2015, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by KerryNY View Post

Many of us preferred the 1.02.13 version, because we had some
difficulty scheduling manual recordings with .21 (I think).

It also made my unit more stable.




I think the stability issue is mostly not a problem, EXCEPT for those that 'hung' onto the Front Panel Clock and 'Grid'. Then, going back to the earlier firmware could help. I think it makes no difference if a reset was done that wipes out the FP Clock/Grid. I did notice an improved stability once I did the one 'secret' code reset that killed my FPC/Grid some time ago. I still have the 'newer' firmware.





.

- Pj

The CalMAN Tutorial Kit - Installed Aug 5th, 2015. I'll first Calibrate the M40 then my P50. I own a Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.2.23-UHD. Win7Pro & FireFox 39.0.0, Desktop Computer, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague). My brother has the Android-driven, Sony 75X850C TV & now has reclaimed the 2013 M401i-A3.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #29441 of 29447 Old 07-15-2015, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
KerryNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by joball1970 View Post
So i'm guessing that .21 update did not work for alot of people, regarding the digital host station fix?
No, the problem was the "pink error" that Joe mentioned: When we lost the TVG signal, many users had trouble setting manual recordings, because the DHG would sometimes throw an error stating that the channel was not in our lineup. That wasn't a problem with the .13 firmware, and since we no longer need to have .21, "downgrading" to .13 became an easy solution. If, as Joe said, the lack of a grid/lineup means you will not get the error anyway, then it makes no difference which of those firmware versions you run.

- Kerry

TiVo Premiere w/2TB internal upgrade and Lifetime Service. Sony DHG-HDD250 retired in 6/13: CableCARD, 1.2.13 firmware, reset weekday & time as needed with 147412356 code. (further time adjustments by the "Izzy method")
KerryNY is offline  
post #29442 of 29447 Old 07-15-2015, 06:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by KerryNY View Post

No, the problem was the "pink error" that Joe mentioned: When we lost the TVG signal, many users had trouble setting manual recordings, because the DHG would sometimes throw an error stating that the channel was not in our lineup.

That wasn't a problem with the .13 firmware, and since we no longer need to have .21, "downgrading" to .13 became an easy solution. If, as Joe said, the lack of a grid/lineup means you will not get the error anyway, then it makes no difference which of those firmware versions you run.





Oh. I see. Well, I have .21, and at times still get that 'channel not in lineup' error. It is so rare for me, as I usually have my schedule all setup for a season and have not programmed anything in it for a while now.

Otherwise it is still...
































SLICK SAILING!







.

- Pj

The CalMAN Tutorial Kit - Installed Aug 5th, 2015. I'll first Calibrate the M40 then my P50. I own a Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.2.23-UHD. Win7Pro & FireFox 39.0.0, Desktop Computer, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague). My brother has the Android-driven, Sony 75X850C TV & now has reclaimed the 2013 M401i-A3.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #29443 of 29447 Old 07-20-2015, 07:37 AM
Member
 
e1701b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No System Time in Display

Does anyone remember how to force a reset that will restore the system time. I have used soft re-boot several times but that is not working. I can get a time to display when I go to the manual record menu but without a system time my recordings only last a couple of minutes before they stop.
e1701b is offline  
post #29444 of 29447 Old 07-20-2015, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,472
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by e1701b View Post
Does anyone remember how to force a reset that will restore the system time. I have used soft re-boot several times but that is not working. I can get a time to display when I go to the manual record menu but without a system time my recordings only last a couple of minutes before they stop.
No time displayed doesn't affect the recording ability. Hold down the red record button and add some time to the end. Save that. Does it fail?
JoeKustra is offline  
post #29445 of 29447 Old 07-21-2015, 05:50 AM
Senior Member
 
KerryNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
No time displayed doesn't affect the recording ability. Hold down the red record button and add some time to the end. Save that. Does it fail?
Try Joe's suggestion first, to avoid the complexity of major resets. But we'll break out the ancient methods, if necessary...

- Kerry

TiVo Premiere w/2TB internal upgrade and Lifetime Service. Sony DHG-HDD250 retired in 6/13: CableCARD, 1.2.13 firmware, reset weekday & time as needed with 147412356 code. (further time adjustments by the "Izzy method")
KerryNY is offline  
post #29446 of 29447 Old 07-22-2015, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HoustonPerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Just wasting time, thought I would stop by for a second LOL


Yep will still use the Sony to do manual recordings about 5 days a week. This is just to catch what we don't get with two tuner TiVo.


About once or twice a week it will lock up and freeze, so it takes the unplug routine.


I never used any fancy pants routines for calculating the time for recording; so I will just usually guess and end up recording about 5 hours for a one hour show LOL No Biggie


I do not think it will last much longer, it must have a ton of dust in it....maybe I should clean it again? Ha! more important things to do.
HoustonPerson is offline  
post #29447 of 29447 Old 07-23-2015, 12:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoustonPerson View Post

About once or twice a week it will lock up and freeze, so it takes the unplug routine.


There are several ways to stabilize these units. One is, to set TVGOS zip code to 00000. For mine, I did one of the 'service codes' reset method which wiped the Front Panel Clock along with some other stuff TVGOS-related and it rarely 'freezes' anymore.


One of these Wednesdays, I'm about dive into my unit for a cleaning. Hence, I'll sync-up somewhere around the midnight hour.



.

- Pj

The CalMAN Tutorial Kit - Installed Aug 5th, 2015. I'll first Calibrate the M40 then my P50. I own a Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.2.23-UHD. Win7Pro & FireFox 39.0.0, Desktop Computer, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague). My brother has the Android-driven, Sony 75X850C TV & now has reclaimed the 2013 M401i-A3.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
sony dhg-hdd250/500 , vizio m401i-a3 40" hdtv
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off