Sony DHG-HDD250/500: Official Thread - Page 985 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 31Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #29521 of 29536 Unread 10-05-2016, 08:22 AM
Member
 
e1701b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hard Reset for Cable Channel List

Ok I know this may be considered an idiotic move but I was desperate to add a cable channel to my list so that I could record a program. My HDD250 would not let me record Channel 148 because it was not in my list.

I tried to do an auto rescan of cable channels but I got the message that it was not possible to do this with an active cable card installed. I tried to do it with cable card removed but of course no channels were found.

So I turned the HDD250 on with the cable card ejected and selected auto scan for cable channels. As soon as it started to run, I pushed the cable card back into the slot and much to my amazement it did not explode or catch on fire and it found channel 148. Now I can do manual recordings on that channel.

I am sure this not a recommended method so do not try this at home unless I guess you are desperate enough to risk losing your recorder.
e1701b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #29522 of 29536 Unread 10-05-2016, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,260
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by e1701b View Post
Ok I know this may be considered an idiotic move but I was desperate to add a cable channel to my list so that I could record a program. My HDD250 would not let me record Channel 148 because it was not in my list.

I tried to do an auto rescan of cable channels but I got the message that it was not possible to do this with an active cable card installed. I tried to do it with cable card removed but of course no channels were found.

So I turned the HDD250 on with the cable card ejected and selected auto scan for cable channels. As soon as it started to run, I pushed the cable card back into the slot and much to my amazement it did not explode or catch on fire and it found channel 148. Now I can do manual recordings on that channel.

I am sure this not a recommended method so do not try this at home unless I guess you are desperate enough to risk losing your recorder.
I guess if it failed you could call Sony for support.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29523 of 29536 Unread 10-06-2016, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
KerryNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I guess if it failed you could call Sony for support.
Wow, I was just about to type the exact same response! What's that saying about great minds thinking alike? Or should that be similarly-warped minds?

- Kerry
JoeKustra likes this.

TiVo Premiere w/2TB internal upgrade and Lifetime Service. Sony DHG-HDD250 retired in 6/13: CableCARD, 1.2.13 firmware, reset weekday & time as needed with 147412356 code. (further time adjustments by the "Izzy method")
KerryNY is offline  
 
post #29524 of 29536 Unread 11-29-2016, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
Barry Levy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by lastplace View Post
Does this mean the HDD 250s may work again? I cut the cable last month and thinking of buying an OTA dvr. It would be great if these things came back to life.
Still using my 500 - from about 2006. Would figure difference between internal clock and world time - and be able to use pretty much full ability of recorder. Recently pulled one of my beautiful accomplishments. Day after Fall Back time adjustment - found recorder no longer had front clock - and internal clock showed Jan. 1, 1990 ?? and unit would not record. Manual recording attempt brought up a screen which asked if I wanted to connect a VCR. After trying 9012 reset - and more than one hot resets - I thought This Recorder has given all it had - and deserved to be put to rest - so off I went to Channel Master and the (Of Color) Friday DVR+ with 1 Terr internal drive sale. After placing order - tried one more reset - this of the factory hard drive variety - and up jumped 2004 - on internal clock - and all recording ability present and accounted for. Giving credit where credit is due: Sony made a long lasting unit - and I'm wearing out.
Regards to all -
Barry Levy
joecass likes this.
Barry Levy is offline  
post #29525 of 29536 Unread 11-29-2016, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,260
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Levy View Post
Giving credit where credit is due: Sony made a long lasting unit - and I'm wearing out.
Regards to all -
Barry Levy
So true. All four of my units are now in heaven. But if you're looking for a good deal: https://www.tivo.com/ I'd buy two if I could use an antenna.
joecass likes this.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29526 of 29536 Unread 12-26-2016, 08:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ray1938's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Levy View Post
Still using my 500 - from about 2006. Would figure difference between internal clock and world time - and be able to use pretty much full ability of recorder. Recently pulled one of my beautiful accomplishments. Day after Fall Back time adjustment - found recorder no longer had front clock - and internal clock showed Jan. 1, 1990 ?? and unit would not record. Manual recording attempt brought up a screen which asked if I wanted to connect a VCR. After trying 9012 reset - and more than one hot resets - I thought This Recorder has given all it had - and deserved to be put to rest - so off I went to Channel Master and the (Of Color) Friday DVR+ with 1 Terr internal drive sale. After placing order - tried one more reset - this of the factory hard drive variety - and up jumped 2004 - on internal clock - and all recording ability present and accounted for. Giving credit where credit is due: Sony made a long lasting unit - and I'm wearing out.
Regards to all -
Barry Levy
I had the same problem with one of my three units and cleared it with the TV guide reset. Only annoying problem I have with them is auto reset, which means having to reset the clock and sometimes not getting the programs I scheduled. Also, lost clock display on one of them and haven't figured out how to get it back.
Ray
Ray1938 is offline  
post #29527 of 29536 Unread 01-31-2017, 10:55 AM
Member
 
othermbx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Happy New Year 2017!

I tried using my beloved Sony DHG-HDD250 last night after a long break. Unfortunately, there is no TV guide.

I recall having that same problem in 2010 and used an Artech tuner (which I still have) to solve the problem. Had to connect the Artech to the Sony, press a few buttons, leave it running overnight, and the TV guide grid on the Sony came ALIVE again! Will this work again or has TVGOS stopped broadcasting?

Please suggest an alternative for Sony DHG-HDD250 in case I can't get it running again. The TV guide and easy repeat-recording of nightly and weekly TV series is what I'm after.

Thanks!
othermbx is offline  
post #29528 of 29536 Unread 01-31-2017, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,260
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by othermbx View Post
Happy New Year 2017!

I tried using my beloved Sony DHG-HDD250 last night after a long break. Unfortunately, there is no TV guide.

I recall having that same problem in 2010 and used an Artech tuner (which I still have) to solve the problem. Had to connect the Artech to the Sony, press a few buttons, leave it running overnight, and the TV guide grid on the Sony came ALIVE again! Will this work again or has TVGOS stopped broadcasting?

Please suggest an alternative for Sony DHG-HDD250 in case I can't get it running again. The TV guide and easy repeat-recording of nightly and weekly TV series is what I'm after.

Thanks!
The DHG is still in service as a VCR type device. No guide, no clock. As for alternatives:
2014 list of consumer available DVR's with 2016 updates

I went TiVo since I'm cable only. There is the DVR+ and a larger choice for OTA.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29529 of 29536 Unread 01-31-2017, 12:28 PM
Member
 
othermbx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have boiled it down to two choices:
- Channel Master DVR+
- Tivo Roamio OTA

Has anyone done a side-by-side comparison of the PICTURE QUALITY of these two?
othermbx is offline  
post #29530 of 29536 Unread 01-31-2017, 12:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,260
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by othermbx View Post
I have boiled it down to two choices:
- Channel Master DVR+
- Tivo Roamio OTA

Has anyone done a side-by-side comparison of the PICTURE QUALITY of these two?
First: Channel Master DVR+ vs TiVo Roamio OTA

Also, both devices save their content bit for bit (like the DHG). I don't think you will find an answer to your question given the variables of tuners, processors and opinions. But many will try.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29531 of 29536 Unread 01-31-2017, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,730
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1580 Post(s)
Liked: 1289
Quote:
Originally Posted by othermbx View Post
Has anyone done a side-by-side comparison of the PICTURE QUALITY of these two?
There's no difference. As Joe said, they copy the transmission sent by the station, so there is no quality loss.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #29532 of 29536 Unread 01-31-2017, 02:40 PM
Member
 
othermbx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. and I read through the comparison. Very tough choice. Both (with wifi, 1TB hard drive and shipping) are between $350 and $370 from Amazon.
othermbx is offline  
post #29533 of 29536 Unread 01-31-2017, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,260
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by othermbx View Post
Thanks. and I read through the comparison. Very tough choice. Both (with wifi, 1TB hard drive and shipping) are between $350 and $370 from Amazon.
I would not like to be in your shoes. Funny, but both now use a Rovi guide, so there's one item that has changed since that comparison. I would just look at viewing habits, storage needs, and networking. I have four TiVo boxes, but only two are used all the time. And I have four Mini boxes, with only one used right now. What make me happy is a good cable feed, eight tuners and pretty seamless networking. But I don't have the hard drive archive ability or PSIP backup. So good luck.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29534 of 29536 Unread 01-31-2017, 03:13 PM
Member
 
othermbx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, turned out to be an easy decision. I just need to record the late-night talk shows, that's it. Turns out 3 of them (Kimmel, Fallon, Colbert) are on at the same time. So I need at least 3 tuners. Tivo has 4, DVR+ has 2.

***EDIT: I flip-flopped and ordered the DVR+ because:

1) After reading dozens of reviews, it appears the DVR+ has a better tuner than Roamio OTA. Seems like DVR+ tuner is better for rural areas and Roamio is better for metro areas. Saw this in several reviews.

2) Several reviews go on and on about DVR+ great picture quality. Didn't see that for Roamio. I realize they both start with the same signal, but maybe the DVR+ video output path uses a better algorithm or scaler, etc.

Last edited by othermbx; 01-31-2017 at 03:36 PM.
othermbx is offline  
post #29535 of 29536 Unread 01-31-2017, 03:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,260
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by othermbx View Post
Well, turned out to be an easy decision. I just need to record the late-night talk shows, that's it. Turns out 3 of them (Kimmel, Fallon, Colbert) are on at the same time. So I need at least 3 tuners. Tivo has 4, DVR+ has 2.

***EDIT: I flip-flopped and ordered the DVR+ because:

1) After reading dozens of reviews, it appears the DVR+ has a better tuner than Roamio OTA. Seems like DVR+ tuner is better for rural areas and Roamio is better for metro areas. Saw this in several reviews.

2) Several reviews go on and on about DVR+ great picture quality. Didn't see that for Roamio. I realize they both start with the same signal, but maybe the DVR+ video output path uses a better algorithm or scaler, etc.
Great. Well, I set my basic Roamio for 1080i and 1080p(pass through). That just means I can watch Amazon movies at 24fps.

I record The Tonight Show, The Late Show and Late Night. Sometimes I'll get Jimmy and I also get The Daily Show. SkipMode works except for Late Night.

More information: http://www.tivocommunity.com/community/index.php and $5 a month is worth it to lose the ads.

Have fun. If you start now you might be able to read all the posts: Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread I have.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #29536 of 29536 Unread Today, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Greetings From the Future!

Greetings from the future!

I just want to thank dp70 for these fine directions that resurrected my DHG from the dead...stuck on "Welcome".

You saved me from making a hasty decision on a replacement because of external requirements that Bachelor and Survivor, or some such crap, be recorded.



Quote:
Originally Posted by dp70 View Post
Found a front panel service menu this evening. This is dangerous stuff, so don't try this unless you are having a problem and your unit is already out of warranty.

When the unit boots up, the instant Welcome appears, press and hold Menu and Format simultaneously. Keep holding until the display says Repair?. Release both keys.

Then press and hold one of the following keys:
  • Format to get Clear NVM? (NVM = non-volatile memory)
  • Select to get Zero HDD? (resets CPRM code? does not appear to modify the disk itself)
  • Exit to get Wipe Unit? (performs both a Clear NVM and Zero HDD in one operation)
Release the key.

Once one of the above questions is displayed, there is a lengthy confirmation step to actually execute the operation. You'll notice there's a 1 displayed above the operation name.
  1. Press and hold Guide until the number changes to a 2 (takes about 5 seconds).
  2. Release Guide and press Exit until the number changes to a 3.
  3. Release Exit and press Format until the number changes to a 4 - the operation will then begin.
velvetfoot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
sony dhg-hdd250/500 , vizio m401i-a3 40" hdtv



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off