recording hd to a............camcorder - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-09-2005, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
karos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was thinking of getting a firewire cable,loading drivers,buying an hd to offload what's on the hd pvr. But then it occurred to me,why not use a dv camcorder.? Too bad the tapes dont last long enough.
karos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-09-2005, 12:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,054
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 250
What's difference if you just record to a VCR? Not all DV cameras can record via composite/svideo input.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-09-2005, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Unless you have a VCR with firewire or HDcomponent input and HD component outputs the VCR idea will not work. Of course there is no such VCR (unless DVHS).

The problem with a camcorder is output. What would you do with the bits once they are on the DV tape? I suppose you could transfer them back to the DVR. You certainly could not playback HD material from a DV camcorder.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-09-2005, 01:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,054
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 250
My point is DV camera can not record HD either let alone play them back. Don't assume everything with firewire can record HD transport stream.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-09-2005, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
stjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There was a program called DVTransfer that was available on AVS several years ago. It allowed the archiving of TS files from a PC hard drive to a DV camcorder. It was a viable program for some people when D-VHS decks were not available at all or at a reasonable price. The program has been abandoned today, but you can search for it if you would like to experiment.

Steve
stjr is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-09-2005, 06:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,054
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Yeah, but OP wants to bypass PC altogether. BTW, IIRC, my canon DV camcorder came with something let's you use it as storage device to archive anything from PC.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off