Recording to PC from a SA 8300HD via Firewire - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 474 Old 10-18-2005, 11:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have searched the excellent thread bdraw started for installing Windows Drivers to record on your PC from a cable STB via Firewire for details on connecting up a Scientific Atlanta SA8300HD to your PC via Firewire.

I assure you that I am no newbie to this as the thread was originally written at my request on another site to summarize the 35 pages of postings of trials and errors that were here at the time where people were experimenting how to accomplish this task in an easy step by step method.

Several posts note they are not able to get a SA8300HD to work via the methods listed but other posters state the firewire was not active on the SA8300HD at the time these posts were made (last February).

I switched out one of my Firewire Equiped SA 3250HD as the newer SA8300HD models with active firewire arrived at my MSO. Though they are still clearing out the remaining old discontinued 8300HD models with no IEEE 1394 ports, the new ones clearly have them activated as required by law.

I have confirmed this by looking at the IEEE1394 driver located in the SA 8300HD Diagnostic Screens.

I have also confirmed the output to a DVHS via Firewire.

When I plug in the unit via firewire to a computer with Windows XP, I get the typical unidentified devices x2 and then 2 Tuner AV/C Devices. I can only assume there are 2 because the SA8300HD has 2 tuners in it and it is seeing both of them.

I installed the drivers we have all used for BOTH of the tuners. The Device Manager shows them under Imaging Devices and Windows seems happy with them.

Windows XP Clearly knows this is a Scientific Atlanta 8300HD.

But when you start CapVHS, it's the dreaded Cannot Find Capture Device.

I have fooled around with this for several hours, installing and reinstalling drivers over and over.