Time Warner Cable Navigator - Page 623 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2014, 10:26 PM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 54
TWC is such a piece of crap.

TWO times I tried to tape BBCA top gear "best of Austrailuia". Once at 9pm failed with nothing at ALL in log. Another show at 9pm also failed and said "channel not available".

So nothing recorded at 9pm.

Then at 12 midnight I tried to record BOTH shows again. One show recorded. BBCA Tog gear has a recording slot in list, but nothing there when I play it. I go to show (still playing live) and it is there, playing fine. SDV is a piece of crap. TWC cable system is a pile of crap. TWC is crap, period.


I guess TWC expects me to just pirate things I want to REALLY watch.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-03-2014, 07:26 PM
Member
 
grenier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee-ish
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The more I use the search, the more I dislike it. I can search for a show, see an episode I want to record, schedule the recording and then it's not in the scheduled recordings. I then check the program guide and the show is either not there at all or it's a totally different episode then the search showed.
grenier is offline  
Old 08-03-2014, 08:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWX
It is what I had before Navigator. Looked old, but worked a million times better than navigator ever did.
Indeed...... SARA IS 100000% BETTER and if there was ANYWAY I COULD GET IT BACK ON MY SA BOX,I WOULD!!!!!!

NAVIGATOR IS CRAP........... SLOW,UGLY,ETC..............
BWX likes this.
Dude111 is offline  
Old 08-03-2014, 08:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 44
How about getting TiVo?
No need to pay TWC all those fees and you can do all this stuff reliably.
Anyone confused at the math pm me and I will send you a spreadsheet showing how TiVo saves money in 28 months or so.
phildaant likes this.
SMHarman is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMHarman View Post
How about getting TiVo?
No need to pay TWC all those fees and you can do all this stuff reliably.
Anyone confused at the math pm me and I will send you a spreadsheet showing how TiVo saves money in 28 months or so.
Or build your own HTPC with cable cards.
phildaant is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Indeed...... SARA IS 100000% BETTER and if there was ANYWAY I COULD GET IT BACK ON MY SA BOX,I WOULD!!!!!!

NAVIGATOR IS CRAP........... SLOW,UGLY,ETC..............
I have never used Sara before. Have you ever used iGuide? If so, then what did you think of it? Navigator is just prettier.
phildaant is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 10:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Oh my YOU SHOULD SEE SARA..... Its basic,fast and is excellent!!!!!!! (I havent used Iguide)

Here is a video of Sara.... (I dont like the GREEN they used for this clip! (I used PINK (I think that was GOLF COURSE if i remember right)))

www.youtube.com/v/up-xIDD_rsQ
phildaant and BWX like this.
Dude111 is offline  
Old 08-03-2014, 11:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Oh my YOU SHOULD SEE SARA..... Its basic,fast and is excellent!!!!!!! (I havent used Iguide)

Here is a video of Sara.... (I dont like the GREEN they used for this clip! (I used PINK (I think that was GOLF COURSE if i remember right)))

www.youtube.com/v/up-xIDD_rsQ
It seems slow as iGuide. But yeah, it's ugly! Pink? Seriously? Ew. How old is this GUI? Video was from 2010. I assume before iGuide? Was Sara really stable? iGuide and Navigator were buggy. Ugh!
phildaant is online now  
Old 08-04-2014, 12:59 AM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 54
HD SARA w/ updated gfx would be a dream come true.

Oh... and external eSATA hard drives always worked so nice with it.




I think TiVo would still have problems recording when the damned SDV system is overloaded and fails in crappy crappy crappy Time Warner Cable land.


-
-

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Sara is the BEST!!!!!!!
Dude111 is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWX View Post
I think TiVo would still have problems recording when the damned SDV system is overloaded and fails in crappy crappy crappy Time Warner Cable land.
-
-
I have been pleasantly surprised the SDV has generally worked with TWC Upper Manhattan.
There are less channels on SDV with the reorg. I think.
SMHarman is online now  
Old 08-10-2014, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Indeed...... SARA IS 100000% BETTER and if there was ANYWAY I COULD GET IT BACK ON MY SA BOX,I WOULD!!!!!!

NAVIGATOR IS CRAP........... SLOW,UGLY,ETC..............
SARA was ugly as hell, but VERY reliable as it was the original OS for the old Pioneer/SA boxes. Some systems still use it on the newer boxes.

Navigator HAS gotten better, IF you are in a good TWC division and have a box that "plays nice" with the software. The Advanced Gateway boxes now support a new guide for Navigator that includes:

  • A true HD interface. (With the option to go back to the SD grid if desired)
  • Expanded Search Options- (All New Interface with the "B" button.)
  • Video On Demand Boxed Movie Cover Art
  • New DVR Management Screen

However, some customers find the new search screens overwhelming, where it now takes three or four button presses to do what used to be done in one or two steps. The biggest anger seems to be the loss of being able to Press the B search button and have the search begin on the show being watched or shown on the time grid. Under the new search, you have to "re-key" your selections each and every time. The "B" button needs to take users right to other instances of the viewed show in a future software update.

The DVR's new management screen confuses other customers with it's tree tier folder navigation. You have to go through multiple steps to play a show or series or delete a show.

I still have the older SA-8300HDC with the Classic Search. All these years, I still miss the Passport Software functionality of Keyword Search and still wish that Navigator would bring that option back. I have said to TWC Feedback, if memory on the older boxes is a problem, just have the keyboards search for keywords and nothing else. Title Search would also be a part of the keyword system, so whatever you keyed into the system, Title, Keyword, or Person, if the information is in the system, it should be able to be found in search results.

The new DVR screens and VOD cover art I think are eye candy, but are resource hogs and not needed. The best thing about the new box updates is the HD interface.

Satch
phildaant likes this.

SA-8300HDC DVR with TWC Navigator Guide
Guide Version -ODN 7.3
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
Old 08-10-2014, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 124
A few days ago, I was locally in the place and sitting next to the DVR. I retried these, but still had problems even after turning on DVR and HDTV:

http://video2.timewarnercable.com/DVR says "Box1: Scheduled Recordings -- Unable to retrieve recordings". With RC, I see my recordings on HDTV.

https://dvr.timewarnercable.com/tvListings/ worked though. I was able to schedule and delete in Firefox v31 and see the added and deleted scheduled recordings on HDTV from DVR when I checked.

http://video2.timewarnercable.com/DVR works now, BUT only my scheduled recordings? What about existing recordings that I scheduled long ago? How do I access those?

After coming home, DVR access worked remotely outside the home. I can see my upcoming scheduled recordings, add, delete, etc. This was all through https://dvr.timewarnercable.com/tvListings/ and http://video2.timewarnercable.com/DVR ...

I guess users have to do it inside their homes first for the setup to work? Am I correct?

Does anyone know if it possible to watch DVR's recordings remotely outside of our homes to stream online?
phildaant is online now  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:27 AM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Does anyone know if it possible to watch DVR's recordings remotely outside of our homes to stream online?
No I never saw any option for that. I do not believe that is possible.
phildaant likes this.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by BWX View Post
No I never saw any option for that. I do not believe that is possible.
Bummer and thanks.
phildaant is online now  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
VisionOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Posts: 11,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMHarman View Post
I have been pleasantly surprised the SDV has generally worked with TWC Upper Manhattan.
There are less channels on SDV with the reorg. I think.
It's not just about the number of channels. It's the number of customers per node.

TWC too often cheap out and attach far too many customers to a serving node rather than adding more nodes to their infrastructure so that each one is not overloaded. If you live in an area that has more immediate competition you can be damn sure that TWC will pour more money into the system to keep it going than some podunk area that TWC know they can hold to ransom.
phildaant likes this.


VisionOn is online now  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionOn View Post
It's not just about the number of channels. It's the number of customers per node.

TWC too often cheap out and attach far too many customers to a serving node rather than adding more nodes to their infrastructure so that each one is not overloaded. If you live in an area that has more immediate competition you can be damn sure that TWC will pour more money into the system to keep it going than some podunk area that TWC know they can hold to ransom.
What about rich v(ersu)s poor areas?
phildaant is online now  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Does anyone know if it possible to watch DVR's recordings remotely outside of our homes to stream online?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWX View Post
No I never saw any option for that. I do not believe that is possible.
What about the Sling Box?
phildaant likes this.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
What about the Sling Box?
I am surprised TWC doesn't have anything like this with its hardwares.
phildaant is online now  
Old 08-11-2014, 09:17 AM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
What about the Sling Box?
Right but he was asking about TWC website, and the options there.
phildaant likes this.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
I am surprised TWC doesn't have anything like this with its hardwares.
Part of the reason may be that Sling Media is owned by EchoStar - owner of Dish Network.
phildaant likes this.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
Part of the reason may be that Sling Media is owned by EchoStar - owner of Dish Network.
Whatever, I just wanted to watch my DVR's recordings remotely outside of my nest. :P
phildaant is online now  
Old 08-11-2014, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Whatever, I just wanted to watch my DVR's recordings remotely outside of my nest. :P
So, does this look like it will do that for you? (I don't have one of these, but they have always intrigued me).

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 12:09 PM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Yeah those things are pretty cool, if they work as advertized.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 09:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
I am surprised TWC doesn't have anything like this with its hardwares.
Plug a TiVo Roamio Plus does this and saves a bunch on your cable bill with about a 28month payback on the hardware if you buy lifetime.
phildaant likes this.
SMHarman is online now  
Old 08-16-2014, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWX View Post
No I never saw any option for that. I do not believe that is possible.
I have a few more questions with https://dvr.timewarnercable.com/tvListings/'s log in to access my DVR when I am not at home:

1. Is there a way to access the past recordings like histories?

2. What about checking how much free disk space and other details?

3. Is it me or do some record options are not selectable in Mozilla's SeaMonkey v2.26.1 (same Gecko engine as Firefox's) web browser? It worked fine in Internet Explorer v8.0 though.

Thank you in advance.
phildaant is online now  
Old 08-16-2014, 08:38 PM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Not sure about that stuff.
phildaant likes this.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
Old 08-19-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Sources tell me that the next version of Navigator will be ODN 7.3.129.

Don't quote me on this. But my guess is this next release is going to contain some fixes to help with the national line-up change and some DVR stability updates. Patches for the new 6-tuner boxes, are likely in this build.

Satch
phildaant likes this.

SA-8300HDC DVR with TWC Navigator Guide
Guide Version -ODN 7.3
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
Old 08-19-2014, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Satch Man View Post
Sources tell me that the next version of Navigator will be ODN 7.3.129.

Don't quote me on this. But my guess is this next release is going to contain some fixes to help with the national line-up change and some DVR stability updates. Patches for the new 6-tuner boxes, are likely in this build.

Satch
When will TWC be releasing those 6-tuner boxes?
phildaant is online now  
Old 08-19-2014, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
When will TWC be releasing those 6-tuner boxes?
Nothing known yet,

Brighthouse Networks just started getting them, but they have some audio/drop out bugs/issues. Keep in mind that although BHN uses the same guide/box models as TWC, they are a totally different company:

BHN has a forum where you can follow allong and learn about the progress of the 6-tuner DVR below. Would like to see something from TWC allong those lines, but to my knowledge they have not released the boxes yet. I could be wrong though. I am sure this thread will have updates:

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r293...-Six-Tuner-DVR

Satch
phildaant likes this.

SA-8300HDC DVR with TWC Navigator Guide
Guide Version -ODN 7.3
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off