Time Warner Cable Navigator - Page 632 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 161Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #18931 of 18957 Old 02-01-2015, 07:30 PM
Member
 
ncmikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Over the last couple weeks if I pause a DVR recording, when I press play it starts over at the beginning. Anyone else notice this?

ncmikey
TWC Signature Home 2-SMT3272 DVR, ODN 7.3.1_5
ncmikey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18932 of 18957 Old 02-03-2015, 07:03 AM
Newbie
 
wewillie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: OAKBORO, NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncmikey View Post
Over the last couple weeks if I pause a DVR recording, when I press play it starts over at the beginning. Anyone else notice this?
I have had that happen to me a couple times seems to be on just a couple chanels my DVR SMT 3272 samsung.
wewillie is offline  
post #18933 of 18957 Old 02-04-2015, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
danki6x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncmikey View Post
Over the last couple weeks if I pause a DVR recording, when I press play it starts over at the beginning. Anyone else notice this?
If it happens every time, pull the plug - wait 15 seconds - plug back in. Not normal, mine never does that but an older box did once or twice. /Dan
phildaant likes this.
danki6x is offline  
post #18934 of 18957 Old 02-10-2015, 05:17 AM
Member
 
greenpjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncmikey View Post
Over the last couple weeks if I pause a DVR recording, when I press play it starts over at the beginning. Anyone else notice this?
Mine does it every single time when watching something recorded on the other DVR. Definitely a bug. Very repeatable. It works fine when watching on the DVR that recorded the show.
greenpjs is offline  
post #18935 of 18957 Old 02-13-2015, 10:38 AM
Member
 
ncmikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenpjs View Post
Mine does it every single time when watching something recorded on the other DVR. Definitely a bug. Very repeatable. It works fine when watching on the DVR that recorded the show.
Yep that is exactly what I am seeing too. and no amount of rebooting of DVRs has any effect

ncmikey
TWC Signature Home 2-SMT3272 DVR, ODN 7.3.1_5
ncmikey is offline  
post #18936 of 18957 Old 02-13-2015, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 153
How do we report reproducable issues to TWC?
phildaant is offline  
post #18937 of 18957 Old 02-15-2015, 07:30 AM
Member
 
greenpjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
How do we report reproducable issues to TWC?

Call TWC service. They will make an appointment to send someone out. That guy will see what it is doing and then spend hours swapping gear (or perhaps make a second appointment to have your service drop replaced). Then they may call someone with more knowledge and perhaps let someone know who can actually fix it. I give it a 25% chance. Good luck.
phildaant, rdgcss and Tesla1856 like this.
greenpjs is offline  
post #18938 of 18957 Old 02-15-2015, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenpjs View Post
Call TWC service. They will make an appointment to send someone out. That guy will see what it is doing and then spend hours swapping gear (or perhaps make a second appointment to have your service drop replaced). Then they may call someone with more knowledge and perhaps let someone know who can actually fix it. I give it a 25% chance. Good luck.
How annoying. I was hoping there was a way to report it online of the same issue to them.
phildaant is offline  
post #18939 of 18957 Old 02-15-2015, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Gary J is offline  
post #18940 of 18957 Old 02-16-2015, 11:06 AM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
How do we report reproducable issues to TWC?
One time I asked them that question on the phone - it was a level 1 tech. They actually said that they could not and have no way to record and/or report tech support issues.

They gave me a link that was 8 layers deep on the TWC website to report issues, and that was bugged and did not work.

Basically they don't give a flying **bleeep** or else they wouldn't make it so difficult and inconvenient.
phildaant likes this.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
post #18941 of 18957 Old 02-16-2015, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BWX View Post
One time I asked them that question on the phone - it was a level 1 tech. They actually said that they could not and have no way to record and/or report tech support issues.

They gave me a link that was 8 layers deep on the TWC website to report issues, and that was bugged and did not work.

Basically they don't give a flying **bleeep** or else they wouldn't make it so difficult and inconvenient.
Typical. Do you still have the link/URL?
phildaant is offline  
post #18942 of 18957 Old 02-16-2015, 12:18 PM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Nope I don't think so. And I think they changed around the entire website since then anyways. It was under the user management section, where you can view your devices and whatnot. If I saved the shortcut I'll post it though. I'll look.
phildaant likes this.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
post #18943 of 18957 Old 02-16-2015, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by BWX View Post
Nope I don't think so. And I think they changed around the entire website since then anyways. It was under the user management section, where you can view your devices and whatnot. If I saved the shortcut I'll post it though. I'll look.
OK and thanks.
phildaant is offline  
post #18944 of 18957 Old 02-16-2015, 12:37 PM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
It used to be in this area I think...
https://myservices.timewarnercable.c.../account/index

But they have changed everything around and I do not see that place anywhere.
phildaant likes this.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
post #18945 of 18957 Old 02-18-2015, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWX View Post
It used to be in this area I think...
https://myservices.timewarnercable.c.../account/index

But they have changed everything around and I do not see that place anywhere.
This is a link to log into TWC "My Account"-Formerly My Services:: https://myservices.timewarnercable.c...e.com/account/ After you have registered and log in, you can sign up for Express Bill Pay. If you have DVR service, you can program Your DVR remotely. Have TWC Digital Phone, and you can view Caller History and Change Settings. Be sure to log out again and close your browser when done. Especially if you are on a public computer.

Remember The following:

1.) New or swapped boxes can take up to 24 hours for Caller ID on TV to appear for Digital Cable and Digital Phone subs.
2.) Remote DVR Manager can take up to 72 hours to activate on a new or swapped DVR before it works with "My Account."


This is another link to view channel changes for your area: a.k.a Programming Notices: http://help.twcable.com/twc_programming_notices.html

Satch

SA-8300HDC DVR with TWC Navigator Guide
Guide Version -ODN 7.3
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin

Last edited by Satch Man; 02-18-2015 at 02:02 PM.
Satch Man is offline  
post #18946 of 18957 Old 02-18-2015, 02:38 PM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satch Man View Post
This is a link to log into TWC "My Account"-Formerly My Services:: https://myservices.timewarnercable.c...e.com/account/ After you have registered and log in, you can sign up for Express Bill Pay. If you have DVR service, you can program Your DVR remotely. Have TWC Digital Phone, and you can view Caller History and Change Settings. Be sure to log out again and close your browser when done. Especially if you are on a public computer.

Remember The following:

1.) New or swapped boxes can take up to 24 hours for Caller ID on TV to appear for Digital Cable and Digital Phone subs.
2.) Remote DVR Manager can take up to 72 hours to activate on a new or swapped DVR before it works with "My Account."


This is another link to view channel changes for your area: a.k.a Programming Notices: http://help.twcable.com/twc_programming_notices.html

Satch

Yeah but there used to be a place somewhere to report issues.. It is gone now.
phildaant likes this.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
post #18947 of 18957 Old 02-18-2015, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
repeating!
Gary J is offline  
post #18948 of 18957 Old 02-18-2015, 02:51 PM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
repeating!
No I am not talking about that. I already knew about that.
There used to be a place on the TWC website where you could report bugs and whatnot. It was about 8 layers deep.. It is probably still there somewhere.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
post #18949 of 18957 Old 02-18-2015, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BWX View Post
No I am not talking about that. I already knew about that.
There used to be a place on the TWC website where you could report bugs and whatnot. It was about 8 layers deep.. It is probably still there somewhere.
Maybe you can find it on Google and archive.org?
phildaant is offline  
post #18950 of 18957 Old 02-18-2015, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWX View Post
Yeah but there used to be a place somewhere to report issues.. It is gone now.
Best thing is to go to the secure Direct to Tech TWC Register at DSL Reports.com, or log in if registered already. Title the post with the nature of your problem. Give information relating to your account:

  • Name
  • Address
  • City
  • State
  • Zip
  • Account#
  • Phone#
  • Email

If you are requesting an investigation inquiry, give the Department Contact Name and ask them to open up a support ticket. If it is a service feature request, no support ticket needs to be opened, but ask them to send your feedback to the appropriate Department. Here is the forum:

https://secure.dslreports.com/forum/timewarnerdirect

Satch
phildaant likes this.

SA-8300HDC DVR with TWC Navigator Guide
Guide Version -ODN 7.3
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
post #18951 of 18957 Old 02-20-2015, 08:27 PM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satch Man View Post
Best thing is to go to the secure Direct to Tech TWC Register at DSL Reports.com, or log in if registered already. Title the post with the nature of your problem. Give information relating to your account:

  • Name
  • Address
  • City
  • State
  • Zip
  • Account#
  • Phone#
  • Email

If you are requesting an investigation inquiry, give the Department Contact Name and ask them to open up a support ticket. If it is a service feature request, no support ticket needs to be opened, but ask them to send your feedback to the appropriate Department. Here is the forum:

https://secure.dslreports.com/forum/timewarnerdirect

Satch
I know but the point was that a CSR said they don't have the ability to take technical issues down to report them, Then they said there was a place on the website to do that, but when they gave me the link or "directions" how to get there- it was 8 layers deep and hard to find.

The conversation happened to be about DVR compensation, and that too many people reported issues with it, and that is why they took that feature away when they did last year. I told them I would like to report that I want the feature back, and that is my issue. Then she said I could not report issues to a CSR, but need to go to website. I said that is BS, and that people that couldn't get through a simple DVR option list couldn't possibly go 8 layers deep on a website to report their issue with DVR comp. I caught them in a big fat lie.

The people never reported that to the TWC website anyways, and that is not why they took away DVR comp that time, they took away DVR comp for other reasons and I'm sure you know the whole story. It is back now but in a terrible form that does not work the same at all, but that is not what I'm talking about either.

So I'm not asking how to report issues. I know how to report issues. I was looking for the link to the convoluted TWC website area where you can report issues that was 8 layers deep and impossible for someone to find that couldn't figure out how to turn DVR comp off.
phildaant likes this.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
post #18952 of 18957 Old 03-09-2015, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 43
For those with Navigator build ODN 7.3.06 (or whatever the latest),

Do the modern boxes now show a list of all the titles relating to a show when the B button is pressed, like the legacy boxes still do? Any other changes?

Jack

SA-8300HDC DVR with TWC Navigator Guide
Guide Version -ODN 7.3
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
post #18953 of 18957 Old 03-09-2015, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satch Man View Post
For those with Navigator build ODN 7.3.06 (or whatever the latest),

Do the modern boxes now show a list of all the titles relating to a show when the B button is pressed, like the legacy boxes still do? Any other changes?

Jack
Hey, Jack... Hope all is well.

We were updated to 7.3.1_6 a while back... Seem to remember briefly having 7.3.1_5. I've been hard pressed to discern any differences from the 7.2.0_11 version we had for such a long time except that the output dropouts seem to have been cured.

I don't use the search features much, so I had to just check now to answer your question. It definitely does not use the current show or the current guide selection as the initial search when you hit B... I know a previous version did that, but I'm not sure when it was dropped. I don't think 7.2 did it either, but not 100% sure.

Still on the same 8640HDC box that I got new when they were introduced several years ago.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #18954 of 18957 Old 03-10-2015, 02:34 AM
BWX
Senior Member
 
BWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satch Man View Post
For those with Navigator build ODN 7.3.06 (or whatever the latest),

Do the modern boxes now show a list of all the titles relating to a show when the B button is pressed, like the legacy boxes still do? Any other changes?

Jack
No it doesn't.

And another thing Nav does lately.. for quite a while now- It does not buffer the current live show anymore while watching a show from list! This is incredibly frustrating.. and ridiculous.

If you are watching a show (channel 1 for example), and then change to another channel, (channel 2 for example), then go back and watch channel 1, then watch a recorded program from list, then go back to channel 1, there is no buffer! BUT- if you go back to channel 2- even if you haven't watched it for several hours, or days, THAT channel is still buffered! So it is only buffering one channel, and it is the wrong channel!

How hard can it be to program this correctly? How hard can it be to fix this? Why has it been broken for weeks?

I swear the people programming these things get paid to break things, and then get paid to fix thing that they break on purpose.

Samsung SMT-H3272 - Nav.7.1.2.1
SA 8300HD (no C) *AZiO ENC311SU41* eSATA- WD black- 1TB - it works!-
-8300HD no more because TWC deliberately made it unusable in my area! :-/ :-(
BWX is offline  
post #18955 of 18957 Old 03-15-2015, 02:49 PM
Member
 
DiveFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southwest Los Angeles county, California
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satch Man View Post
For those with Navigator build ODN 7.3.06 (or whatever the latest),

Do the modern boxes now show a list of all the titles relating to a show when the B button is pressed, like the legacy boxes still do? Any other changes? Jack
Another change (for the worse) that may have happened recently. I just noticed that in the result list from Search (B key) you can no longer set the Reminder Timer. Grrrr!

Probably another 'broken by design' feature to wean us non-DVR users from the timer. BTW the timer is totally gone in C* territory.

I'd tell you my ODN version but I've never been able to get the Diag feature working on my current STB - no front panel options either.

Disgusted TWC non-DVR subscriber. Dish & DirecTV - almost identical expensive tiers. AT&T U-verse - Sorry, Not Available except to Upscale demographic areas.
SetTopBox: Motorola DCX3200-M (non DVR)

Last edited by DiveFan; 03-15-2015 at 02:56 PM.
DiveFan is offline  
post #18956 of 18957 Old 03-19-2015, 10:45 AM
Member
 
DiveFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southwest Los Angeles county, California
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiveFan View Post
Another change (for the worse) that may have happened recently. I just noticed that in the result list from Search (B key) you can no longer set the Reminder Timer. Grrrr!

Probably another 'broken by design' feature to wean us non-DVR users from the timer. BTW the timer is totally gone in C* territory.

I'd tell you my ODN version but I've never been able to get the Diag feature working on my current STB - no front panel options either.
Just noticed that some Search results include VOD titles for immediate viewing; no 'wishlists' that might take a few KB of memory. Brought to you by 'Relentless Upsell', Senior VP of TWC.
phildaant and Satch Man like this.

Disgusted TWC non-DVR subscriber. Dish & DirecTV - almost identical expensive tiers. AT&T U-verse - Sorry, Not Available except to Upscale demographic areas.
SetTopBox: Motorola DCX3200-M (non DVR)
DiveFan is offline  
post #18957 of 18957 Unread Today, 01:17 AM
Senior Member
 
therealjustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oneida, New York
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I can't use the Search feature at all anymore. It gives me the buffering animation and then presents a blank gray screen. I've tried rebooting with no luck.



Oh, and has anyone else noticed how much of a delay there is using the remote? The lag is driving me insane!!!

Cisco 8742HDC - 7.2.0_5 ODNĀ | Panasonic UT50 | Panasonic P46U1
therealjustin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off