Does HDMI work on SA8300 hd by time warner? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-07-2007, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Khurram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fiancial District, NYC
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry I think I posted this in the other forum as a mistake..

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


so i've had the 8300hd by time warner nyc for about a year now.
When I first got it, I tried hooking it up via hdmi.
I got picture but no sound and came to find out that HDMI was not supported at that time.

I just got a new tv and was wondering if HDMI is now supported by this receiver?
Did they do a firmware upgrade ?
I can't test it out yet, cuz I dont have an hdmi cable around at home and dont want to waste money buying one if it wont work.

If anyone is using hdmi on the 8300hd dvr by time warner..(nyc, I dont know if that makes a difference?) please post your experience.
Thanks a lot guys

SA 8300HD DVR- Time Warner Cable- NYC
Khurram is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-07-2007, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Khurram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fiancial District, NYC
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
btw it's the hd-dvr

SA 8300HD DVR- Time Warner Cable- NYC
Khurram is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-07-2007, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Free's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 4,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Works fine for me, but I am on Cox in AZ.

Phil
Free is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-12-2007, 12:34 AM
Newbie
 
asawadude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Turn on your cable box
2. Push Settings button on the remote
3. Push A for More Settings
4. Scroll down with the arrow keys to Audio Digital Out
5. Press Select
6. Pick HDMI and press Select again
7. Press Exit to finish.
asawadude is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-12-2007, 11:01 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khurram View Post

so i've had the 8300hd by time warner nyc for about a year now.
When I first got it, I tried hooking it up via hdmi.
I got picture but no sound and came to find out that HDMI was not supported at that time.

I just got a new tv and was wondering if HDMI is now supported by this receiver?
Did they do a firmware upgrade ?
I can't test it out yet, cuz I dont have an hdmi cable around at home and dont want to waste money buying one if it wont work.

If anyone is using hdmi on the 8300hd dvr by time warner..(nyc, I dont know if that makes a difference?) please post your experience. Thanks a lot guys

You should have no problem using your HDMI equipped TV with the SA8300HD as long as it has current or at least recent firmware.

I believe there is a dedicated TWC NYC thread in this forum and if so i'm sure there would be HDMI discussion there. Do an advanced search on this forum for +SA8300HD +TWC +HDMI and you should find relative posts.

Or, just order an HDMI cable (Item # 2412 i believe) from monoprice dot com for less than $10 shipped and test it out for yourself. I have several of these cables and i'm on TWC in So Calif and have no problem using HDMI on my Plasma and LCD TVs.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off