SA 8300hd/dvr.. IR/RF compatable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-09-2007, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
crod1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: S.E. michigan
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys, im looking at remotes right now. ive been trying to find out if the
scientific atlanta 8300hd/dvr is RF compatable?

if not, i noticed it has an IR plug in the back , (im assuming i could us an IR repeater?)

which would be fine, but somewhere else on this forum a member said in his area the IR plug doesnt work. anyone know anything about this to help me?

thank.s
crod1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-09-2007, 02:41 PM
Member
 
sddave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 8300HD is not RF Compatable.
The IR Jack on the back is an output, and probably is not active.

Dave
sddave is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-09-2007, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
crod1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: S.E. michigan
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so.. am i basically screwed in trying to hide the box??

is their anything i can do?
crod1 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-09-2007, 04:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 18,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by crod1 View Post

so.. am i basically screwed in trying to hide the box??

Not at all. Since I have 2 SA8300's which, of course, use the same code set, I use RF to control them independently. I use a URC MX-800 remote (IR & RF capable) and a RF basestation (MRF-200) that feeds IR commands to each device with a small, wired "emitter" that's stuck onto the display window of the DVR. You'll need to do something similar, but it's no big deal. Just make sure you get the right remote (one that's both IR and RF capable).
archiguy is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-09-2007, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
crod1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: S.E. michigan
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does the wired emitter plug into the IR port on the dvr? the only part you lost me on is the emitter.

oh , wait a minute. the "emitter" sticks on the front of the box, is wired into the RF basestation? ...

do the emitters come with the RF basestation.?
crod1 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-10-2007, 06:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 18,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by crod1 View Post

does the wired emitter plug into the IR port on the dvr? the only part you lost me on is the emitter.

oh , wait a minute. the "emitter" sticks on the front of the box, is wired into the RF basestation? ...

do the emitters come with the RF basestation.?

The emitters are little wires that plug into the back of the RF basestation (they're included). They stick onto the display window of the 8300 and transmit a low-level IR signal that no other component can see. It's the easiest and simplist solution to this problem of multiple devices using the same code set that I've seen. I've been doing it for years; works great.
archiguy is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-10-2007, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
crod1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: S.E. michigan
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks. you solved my problem....
crod1 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off