STB/recorder compatibilities - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-19-2001, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, trying to get some fact info on the devices we are using for time shifting. So looking for these specific devices.

1). STB DST50/51
2). HD1000
3). Japan deck
4). US Mits D-VHS deck
5). US JVS D-vhs deck.

So, what status is for each of these decks to talk with the stb?
We know the hd1000 is fine.

Second is deck to deck. Which decks can talk to the HD1000 and to what level.

And this does relate to HDTV recording.

Dave
h2ofun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-21-2001, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So no one will help me get this data into one nice form?

dave
h2ofun is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-21-2001, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can only speak about the Japan DH30000 and the Panny HD1000.

In a simple deck to deck configuration there's no problem copying in either direction.

The JVC will record output from some DST50/51's, but some here on the forum were only able to do so after a ROM upgrade. I've tested this with 3 different DST51's and one DST50 and they all recorded to the JVC. In all cases the communication was quirky and unstable, sometimes requiring some manual "synching and resetting" by turning power on and off, unplugging, etc.

I haven't had much success getting the JVC to function in more complex arrangements using a hub. It's mostly a lack on incentive on my part because the HD1000's are so much easier to work with. The JVC will recognize each device connected to the hub and will assign an "I" number to each one, allowing the JVC to select which device it will accept input from. It's sometimes possible to record that way, but snooping the stream doesn't seem to work.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-21-2001, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
tmitchmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: watsonville,ca
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The Mitsubishi and US JVC 30000 are still unknowns.

"Dammit Jim, I'm a doctor not an engineer."
tmitchmd is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-21-2001, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Roger, thats what I thought I remember.

So no one has the new us decks and has tried to talk to the dst50/51 or HD1000?

Thanks

dave
h2ofun is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-22-2001, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cheezmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have played a tape recorded on a TU-DST50->PV-HD1000 on the Mitsubishi VCR connected to one of the new MIstubishi TVs and it worked fine. I recorded a brief segment with the Mitsubishi and it broke up pretty badly on the Panny combo at home. Could be that it was an SVHS tape.

I haven't heard of anyone connecting the Mitsubishi VCR to a Panasonic STB yet.

Steve Martin
former ISF Calibrator
If you can see my pixels, you are sitting too close.
Cheezmo is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-27-2001, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by Cheezmo
...I haven't heard of anyone connecting the Mitsubishi VCR to a Panasonic STB yet.
Cheezmo,

I have tried this combo last week after purchasing the Mitsu D-VHS last week at Tweeter. Here are my results:

The TU-DST50W did control the VCR with it's D-VHS control screen, but when I tried recording the signal from my local PBS-DT channel it gave me a message on the screen from the DST50 that it was "NOT RECORDABLE" and didn't record the program. The "D-VHS" light on the front of the VCR stayed on when I tried recording from the Panny, but when I rewound the tape and tried playing it (hoping that it would have still miraculously recorded the program for some reason:() back, the light went off.

So the moral of the story is, I'm returning the Mitsubishi today and am going to pick up the JVC and see how that goes:confused:!!!

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-27-2001, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dave, is your DST50 updated with the latest firmware from panasonic. If not, we know the original f/w has issues.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-27-2001, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Good question, Dave. I don't know, how do I find out what the firmware version is on my Panny???

Does that mean that the Mitsubishi D-VHS "should" work with the DST50 if it has the newer firmware? Like I said, the Panny did work as far as controlling the Mitsu (play, stop, rewind, etc.) through the 1394 connector, but when I tried recording it, I got the message mentioned previously.

I'd LOVE to know:)!!!

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-27-2001, 01:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats the question we are still waiting to see.

I do know. If you sent your unit into panasonic to have the blue issue fixed, they put new firmware in. If not, does anyone know if one can tell w/o opening and looking at the part numbers on the chips. And even then, did they change the part number when they updated?


Roger, you are the man to answer how does on tell?

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off