Can I hook up an external hardrive to a DirecTV HD DVR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 12-03-2007, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
monnkey2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I hook up an external hard drive to a DirecTV HD DVR, and if so how would I format the external hard drive?

I see there are inputs for usb and sata, but can I plug an external hard drive into them and expect it to work?
monnkey2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 12-03-2007, 04:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have the HR20 or HR21, then the answer is yes.

Connect the eSATA drive and it completely replaces the internal drive. There is nothing you need to do to prepare the drive.
bfdtv is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 12-04-2007, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
monnkey2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks bfdtv! Do you know if it is possible to use a usb drive? Or do you have to use an eSATA drive?
monnkey2 is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 12-04-2007, 03:10 PM
Member
 
wsmc831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Gatos
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pretty sure you have to use an esata drive.

peform a search, plenty of information on external drives already here.
wsmc831 is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 12-04-2007, 04:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
USB drives are not supported. You must use eSATA.
bfdtv is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 12-04-2007, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
monnkey2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, but I'm still very new at this.

I would like to hook up a 1 terabyte external hard drive to my DVR, does anybody know of any good hard drives that I could use?
monnkey2 is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 12-04-2007, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Tonypaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can one switch between the two drives easily to view content, or choose to which drive to record content?

This month's new word. The Dopeler Effect: The tendency of stupid ideas to seem smarter when they come at you rapidly .
Tonypaul is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 12-04-2007, 07:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonypaul View Post

Can one switch between the two drives easily to view content, or choose to which drive to record content?

No.

For all practical purposes, consider the internal drive non-existent once you add the external drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by monnkey2 View Post

I would like to hook up a 1 terabyte external hard drive to my DVR, does anybody know of any good hard drives that I could use?

Consider sticking a Western Digital WD10EACS into an enclosure like the Antec MX-1. That will run cool and quiet.
bfdtv is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 12-04-2007, 11:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reginald Trent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a relatively inexpensive 750GB HD the rebate expires 12/5/07

http://www.buy.com/retail/product.as...=17653#moreimg
Reginald Trent is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 12-05-2007, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
monnkey2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How many hours of HD programming would fit on a 1 terabyte hard drive?
monnkey2 is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 12-05-2007, 09:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by monnkey2 View Post

How many hours of HD programming would fit on a 1 terabyte hard drive?

From DirecTV's MPEG-4 channels? Over 250 hours.
bfdtv is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 12-25-2007, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Red Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you add an external drive to the HR20 and reformat, do you lose what you have stored on the DVR's hard drive or does that automatically transfer over to the external drive?
Red Dog is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 12-27-2007, 01:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NetworkTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 15,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Dog View Post

When you add an external drive to the HR20 and reformat, do you lose what you have stored on the DVR's hard drive or does that automatically transfer over to the external drive?

Neither. It stays there. If you want to watch stuff on the internal drive, restart the DVR with the external drive disconnected.
NetworkTV is online now  
post #14 of 31 Old 12-27-2007, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reginald Trent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by monnkey2 View Post

Sorry, but I'm still very new at this.

I would like to hook up a 1 terabyte external hard drive to my DVR, does anybody know of any good hard drives that I could use?


I'm using 2 of these..... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822101082 along with a 500GB Seagate Freeagent Pro. The 1TB HDs are being used on two different HR20s.
Reginald Trent is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 01-05-2008, 09:27 AM
Member
 
flabingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Port St Lucie Florida
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what software do you recommend to edit the content on the external drive?
flabingo is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 09-16-2008, 11:56 PM
Newbie
 
OneFlapDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I've tried two different external drives (a Western Digital and a Seagate) with my HR21 - both using the eSATA connection. I pulled the power plug on the DVR, turned on the external drive, plugged in the SATA cable, then replugged the DVR. After waiting a while, the DVR reboots, but it goes back to the internal hard drive. Is there something else I need to do?

These drives come with set-up instructions for use with a PC or a Mac. Do you need to somehow initialize them first, or should the DVR recognize them out of the box?
OneFlapDown is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 09-17-2008, 12:18 PM
Vin
AVS Special Member
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I haven't tried it myself but it seems it should have worked based on this post > http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post14509254

Vin
Vin is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 07-31-2009, 06:32 PM
Newbie
 
webrebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It works for my HR 21-700!
Cavalry multibay CADA-SA2 2TB set to raid 0
URL at newegg
Cavalry Manual multibay CADA-SA2 (doesn't come with unit)
URL at Cavalry
Direct Tv instructions for hooking up and disconnecting external HDs.
URL directv

Comes with cables. Hook up to PC and set the raid with USB. Read the manual and instructions. Total setup time about 30 minutes.
$217 invested

Forum won't let me post the URL's , let me know if you can't find em in a search.
webrebel is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 08-03-2009, 02:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flabingo View Post

what software do you recommend to edit the content on the external drive?

once the esata external hard drive is connected your directv hd dvr uses the external drive in place of the internal to store the recordings.

there is no software needed to edit any content, just the normal functioning of the directv hd dvr will be accessing the recordings on the new external drive.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 08-04-2009, 03:04 PM
Member
 
clev1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will an external hdd, say 1 TB, improve the speed of the dvr? My HR 22-100 is sloooooooooow and new fix didn't help.
clev1 is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 08-06-2009, 03:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by clev1 View Post

Will an external hdd, say 1 TB, improve the speed of the dvr? My HR 22-100 is sloooooooooow and new fix didn't help.

nope. the drives used on dvrs are not the problem when there is a speed issue.

it's in the processing and software they used.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 09-09-2009, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
VikingGlen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you remove the esata drive from the HD DVR, connect it to your PC, and then burn selective programs from it to DVD? We have a Tivo with a DVD burner. Neither Tivo nor DirecTv offer them anymore. I'm looking for an option that will allow us to keep burning DVDs after my Tivo box quits.
VikingGlen is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 09-09-2009, 09:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGlen View Post

Can you remove the esata drive from the HD DVR, connect it to your PC, and then burn selective programs from it to DVD?

No, all recordings are encrypted and tied to the DVR.
bfdtv is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 09-09-2009, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
VikingGlen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I take it then that you can't move the esata drive from one hd dvr to another? For example, if we record 3 footballs games on 2 hd dvrs, I can't remove the esata drive from the hd dvr in the basement that's hooked to the standard tv, and then hook it up to the hd dvr on the main floor that's connected to the big screen hd tv? The basement is an HR20, the main floor one is an HR23.
VikingGlen is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 09-09-2009, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGlen View Post

I take it then that you can't move the esata drive from one hd dvr to another?

No, you can't do this.
demonfoo is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 09-09-2009, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
ncted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGlen View Post

I take it then that you can't move the esata drive from one hd dvr to another? For example, if we record 3 footballs games on 2 hd dvrs, I can't remove the esata drive from the hd dvr in the basement that's hooked to the standard tv, and then hook it up to the hd dvr on the main floor that's connected to the big screen hd tv? The basement is an HR20, the main floor one is an HR23.

As far as I know, Dish is the only DVR provider who has accomplished this (moving external hard drives from one DVR to another). Of course, there is no Sunday Ticket on Dish, so it evens out. With Tivos, you can watch content from one networked Tivo on another networked Tivo, but you are stuck with cable or OTA, at least until Tivo starts making DVRs for DirecTV again.

-Ted
ncted is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 10-08-2009, 12:54 PM
Member
 
Sooner02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a limit on what the HR20-700 can recognize? Will it see a 2TB drive?
Sooner02 is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 11-28-2009, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Grasschopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sooner02 View Post

Is there a limit on what the HR20-700 can recognize? Will it see a 2TB drive?

It looks like it will see a 2TB drive if you judge it by what Weekees.com is selling: http://www.weaknees.com/directv-hd-dvr-upgrade.php

HD-DVD - 15
BluRay - 30

There was a format war...Best Buy won, I lost.
Grasschopper is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 12-01-2009, 07:20 PM
Newbie
 
mc_charles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an HR22 receiver from DirecTv. I just bought a 2 TB Verbatim Pro 2-disk external hard drive. Last night, I set the drive to RAID-0, turned off an unplugged the receiver, powered up the external drive, plugged the external drive into the receiver, and powered the receiver on.

I got the "just a moment" and "just a few more seconds" messages (paraphrased), and then the "receiver running self-check" message came on. And stayed on. Permanently. After about 20 hours (when I got from from work the next day), I was still getting the same message. I couldn't power the receiver down or do anything else with it. I finally hit the red reset button, and the same thing happened. So I hit the red reset button again, disconnected the external hard drive, and let it boot up on the internal hard drive (which worked just fine).

Any suggestions on how to fix my problem? I'm guessing it's not the esata cable because when it was plugged in the receiver bypassed the internal drive.

I've read that some drives simply don't work with the directv receivers--has anyone else used a Verbatim drive?

P.S. Sorry if this should be in another thread. I've tried to research my problem on here, but didn't find a satisfactory answer (if there is one already, please point me to it!)
mc_charles is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 01-12-2010, 10:01 PM
Newbie
 
percman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the process of learning to hook up an external hard drive to the DirecTV HD DVR. I have a 1 TB hard drive (raw) and an enclosure. From what I'm reading the drive does not read via USB but requires an ESATA port. The question is -- can one use an adapter from SATA cable (into the DVR) to USB (for the enclosure) rather than getting a whole new enclosure? If not I guess it would require an enclosure with ESATA, correct?
percman is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off