Using a cable box with a PC as an HD DVR? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-08-2007, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
OverlordXenu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Basically, I want to use my PC as a DVR (for SD and HD television), but using my cable box. How in the hell would I do this? I have Interactive Optimum (io), so I don't think a tuner card in my PC would work.

I searched, but couldn't find anything (then again, I'm terrible with keywords).

So if anyone can help me, thanks. Also, I'm sorry if I put this in the wrong section.
OverlordXenu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-08-2007, 09:23 PM
Member
 
unixdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This will depend on the cable company & cable box, but, most cable boxes that support HD have a Firewire (IEEE1394) port on them - and - that they support sending the audio/video out that port. Search on firewire dvr - or - check out MythTV.
I use a Motorola DCH3200 cable box connected via Firewire to my Mythbuntu system (MythTV on Ubuntu Linux) - it works (pretty much) and, was fairly easy to install & cnfigure.
unixdude is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-08-2007, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
OverlordXenu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cablevision/Optimum Scientific Atlanta Explorer 4200HD. It has firewire and USB.
OverlordXenu is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 12-09-2007, 06:42 AM
Member
 
unixdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are other options as well - most likely under Virtual DVHS, you may also want to check out this link for info on capturing under Windows... Which I found on a Snapstream forum
This is also a forum here on avsfrum...

Quote:


New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2

Using a cable box with a PC as an HD DVR?
Basically, I want to use my PC as a DVR (for SD and HD television), but using my cable box. How in the hell would I do this? I have Interactive Optimum (io), so I don't think a tuner card in my PC would work.

I searched, but couldn't find anything (then again, I'm terrible with keywords).

So if anyone can help me, thanks. Also, I'm sorry if I put this in the wrong section.

unixdude is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-16-2007, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
OverlordXenu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump?
OverlordXenu is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-11-2008, 09:04 PM
Newbie
 
DougYNDot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a shuttle xpc with Snapstream BeyondTV. I have 500gb of disk space and a pvr150 tuner/mpeg encoder and also a dvico usb ota tuner.

I feed the pvr150 with cable, but also connect a moto 6400 cable box to it thru svideo and use firewire to tune it for those encrypted channels I can't get direct from cable.

I have not yet set up the firewire direct recording (it's possible with some manipulation).

It works great, and I can also burn DVDs from programs and use the box as a server over 100mb ethernet to a mediamvp.

Go to snapstream's web site and wander around a bit and check the forums. zillions of people do this.
DougYNDot is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-12-2008, 08:32 PM
Member
 
Coolwater7795's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have win TV 950 (from the wall) for analog channels on my PC. I want hd channels , so I tried to hook it up from my box and it didn't work. to get HD I use svideo and control the channels from the box.
Coolwater7795 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off