HDTV Recorder JVC HD30000-Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 11-27-2001, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
With regard to the JVC HDTV recorder, I thought I had read somewhere these machines had been recalled by JVC. Is this true and if so why? I just saw one for sale at about 1200 from ecost.com. Any help would be appreciated.

TIA
Hugh

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 11-27-2001, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting, where did you read this?

Why?

dave
h2ofun is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-27-2001, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videonut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Suffern, NY, USA
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Hugh,

You quote: I thought I had read somewhere these machines had been recalled by JVC.


Were you referring to the Japanese model? The reason I say this is because the US models became available within the last few weeks. I purchased one from E-Cost only a week ago and heard no mention of a recall. So far the machine seems to be working quite well.

Cheers,
Peter M
videonut is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 11-27-2001, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
MF70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Walnut Creek, CA, US
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Pete! I am trying to find out how to overide the automatic selection of S-VHS recording mode when I insert an S-VHS tape in my machine! You said you know how to overcome this shortcoming! I already sent emails and offered to take a collect call, but so far noone seems to be willing to help me! I ordered D-VHS tapes from the Tape Warehouse, but they will not be here until Friday. Can you help me? Thanks!

Mauro
MF70 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 11-27-2001, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If you compare the bottom of an S-VHS tape and of a D-VHS one, you will see that the D-VHS one has an additional hole.

The bottom of the S-VHS casing shows a groove with one little hole in the left, and a big hole in the center.

A D-VHS tape has another little hole on the right.

So, all you have to do is drill a similar hole in your S-VHS tape. Be careful not to go through the casing, you don't want to have plastic dust inside your tape first, and then on your 30000 heads.

Of course, there MUST be a way to use the 30000 menus to do that, but I don't know it: I have only the Japanese version, and the manual is a tad hard to read:D

Robert
robena is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 11-27-2001, 11:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
xiaoyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Robert,

Except physical difference, do you know anything about performance different? What is the actual difference on the tape material itself?

Xiaoyu,
xiaoyu is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 11-28-2001, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
With HD material, D-VHS tapes are supposed to have less drop-outs, but I have no direct experience with that.
Most people here seem to use S-VHS tapes instead, and are perfectly happy with them.

Robert
robena is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-28-2001, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
MF70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Walnut Creek, CA, US
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Robert! I haven't got the D-VHS tapes I ordered yet, but will examine them as soon as I get them! Two other members of this forum have answered my question, and it seems that it is possible to do the same by pressing the button on the front panel to select D-VHS mode. Then inserting an S-VHS tape in the machine and select the digital-recording speed. I tried that today, and it seems to work! I do not understand why the manual says that one cannot use any but D-VHS tapes to do a D-VHS recording! Could it be to sell more D-VHS tapes? Anyway, thanks for your help!

Mauro
MF70 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-29-2001, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videonut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Suffern, NY, USA
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Guys,

I find no need to drill the extra hole in order to record on S-VHS tapes.
However I'm not sure if this is the case with the Japanese machines; perhaps the owner of a Japanese version 30000 can chime in on this?

Happy recording,
Peter M
videonut is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-29-2001, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Peter,

The issue here is whether the DH30000 can be made to default to DVHS mode when an SVHS tape is inserted. The way it is now, every time you turn the machine on or insert a cassette you have to remember to set the mode to DVHS.

Drilling an additional hole is one way to solve the problem. The menu in the Japanese DH30000 doesn't offer a "DVHS only" setting.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-30-2001, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videonut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Suffern, NY, USA
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Gridleak quotes: The issue here is whether the DH30000 can be made to default to DVHS mode when an SVHS tape is inserted.

Reply: Thanks, Gridleak, now I see your point. ;)
videonut is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 12-05-2001, 08:10 PM
Senior Member
 
peterd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The deck has to detect the presence of the "DVHS hole." This is undoubtedly done by a microswitch with a small pin which lines up with the hole. When an SVHS (or VHS) tape is inserted, it actuates this switch. When a DVHS tape is inserted, the pin slides up into the hole, and the switch is never actuated.

So to permanently enable DVHS recording we must open the deck, find the switch and determine with an ohmmeter whether the switch is NO (Normally Open) or NC (Normally Closed).

Since the switch doesn't move when a DVHS tape is inserted then if it's NO, the circuit stays open but if NC, the circuit stays closed. So to permanently disable the switch, either cut one of the wires (if NO) or short across the switch (if NC).

Of course, opening your case may void your warranty. :D

Peter
peterd is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off