Official AVS Motorola DCX series HD DVR Topic! - Page 2 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > HDTV Recorders > Official AVS Motorola DCX series HD DVR Topic!

HDTV Recorders

FAUguy's Avatar FAUguy
01:00 AM Liked: 18
post #31 of 4842
08-22-2008 | Posts: 683
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

As far as I know, the DCX- boxes are not yet being mass produced by Motorola.

Beyond that, there is no reason to believe that any specific head-end will be getting DCX-series boxes anytime soon. It will probably take several years after Motorola starts mass-producing the box before most customers will have it as an option.

Amazing. By the time they come out, they will be out-dated. What is the reason behind the delay?

Now we have to start taking bets "Which will come out first? Windows 7 or Motorola DCX boxes?"
bicker1's Avatar bicker1
02:59 AM Liked: 11
post #32 of 4842
08-22-2008 | Posts: 8,289
Joined: Jun 2006
What makes you think there's been a delay? Motorola, themselves, discussed 3Q for its initial deployment. 3Q isn't over until September 30, so until then, they're still on-time according to their schedule.
dean-l's Avatar dean-l
09:35 PM Liked: 14
post #33 of 4842
08-22-2008 | Posts: 635
Joined: Sep 2006
Where did you get that schedule from?

Just curious.
RussB's Avatar RussB
12:23 AM Liked: 10
post #34 of 4842
08-23-2008 | Posts: 2,180
Joined: Jan 2006
They [Houston Comcast Support] confirmed the new box will be the DCX3400 and will be available September 2nd. Here is a link to the "Houston, TX - Comcast" thread post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post14495233

After reading this thread, it makes me wonder if Houston Comcast will be leasing the DCX3400 on Septermber 2nd. Any comments?
bicker1's Avatar bicker1
04:09 AM Liked: 11
post #35 of 4842
08-23-2008 | Posts: 8,289
Joined: Jun 2006
That's good news for Houston! And indicates that Motorola will live up to its press releases.
hdtvfan2005's Avatar hdtvfan2005
01:51 AM Liked: 15
post #36 of 4842
08-24-2008 | Posts: 2,279
Joined: Oct 2002
The standard hard drive is 160 GB but can be ordered up to 250 GB. Perhaps up to 320 GB.
RussB's Avatar RussB
10:28 AM Liked: 10
post #37 of 4842
08-24-2008 | Posts: 2,180
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvfan2005 View Post

The standard hard drive is 160 GB but can be ordered up to 250 GB. Perhaps up to 320 GB.

The cable company has the option about the size of the internal hard drive it orders. The cable customer is stuck with the size of the internal hard drive the cable company decides to use. I haven't seen any cable companies that let the customer select the size of the internal hard drive.

Does anyone know if cable companies can decide whether external drives will work with Motorola DVRs?
hdtvfan2005's Avatar hdtvfan2005
08:22 PM Liked: 15
post #38 of 4842
08-24-2008 | Posts: 2,279
Joined: Oct 2002
Motorola says that the eSATA port is activated but Comcast hasn't activated it in the headend. Time Warner San Diego now supports eSATA since a recent software upgrade fixed the eSATA.
RussB's Avatar RussB
09:05 PM Liked: 10
post #39 of 4842
08-24-2008 | Posts: 2,180
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvfan2005 View Post

Motorola says that the eSATA port is activated but Comcast hasn't activated it in the headend. Time Warner San Diego now supports eSATA since a recent software upgrade fixed the eSATA.

Thank you
hdtvfan2005's Avatar hdtvfan2005
12:16 AM Liked: 15
post #40 of 4842
08-25-2008 | Posts: 2,279
Joined: Oct 2002
The specs mention that the guide can be in widescreen which is nice. Probably not HD widescreen but widescreen none the less.
QZ1's Avatar QZ1
10:35 AM Liked: 11
post #41 of 4842
08-25-2008 | Posts: 5,047
Joined: Sep 2002
Any other market(s) getting the DCX soon?
RussB's Avatar RussB
10:18 PM Liked: 10
post #42 of 4842
09-02-2008 | Posts: 2,180
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussB View Post

They [Houston Comcast Support] confirmed the new box will be the DCX3400 and will be available September 2nd. Here is a link to the "Houston, TX - Comcast" thread post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post14495233

After reading this thread, it makes me wonder if Houston Comcast will be leasing the DCX3400 on Septermber 2nd. Any comments?

Today, September 2nd, I found out the new box being released by Houston Comcast is the Cisco/SA RNG200 set-top box, NOT the Motorola DCX3400.
FAUguy's Avatar FAUguy
04:11 AM Liked: 18
post #43 of 4842
09-27-2008 | Posts: 683
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussB View Post

Today, September 2nd, I found out the new box being released by Houston Comcast is the Cisco/SA RNG200 set-top box, NOT the Motorola DCX3400.

This one?
http://www.cisco.com/web/consumer/pr...op-rng200.html
How does it compare to the DCH and DCX line?
It says it supports 1080p 60/30/24, which I doubt the DCX will do.
hdtvfan2005's Avatar hdtvfan2005
11:21 AM Liked: 15
post #44 of 4842
09-27-2008 | Posts: 2,279
Joined: Oct 2002
I'm sure the DCX can do 1080p. The RNG-200 has problems with non comcast remotes though. Mainly Harmony remotes.
RussB's Avatar RussB
02:59 PM Liked: 10
post #45 of 4842
09-27-2008 | Posts: 2,180
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAUguy View Post

This one?
http://www.cisco.com/web/consumer/pr...op-rng200.html
How does it compare to the DCH and DCX line?
It says it supports 1080p 60/30/24, which I doubt the DCX will do.

That is the one.

I have the SA 8300HD DVR so I can't compare it to other set-top boxes.

Houston Comcast is replacing the current Motorola HD boxes it has in the Houston area with SA/Cisco boxes so it can provide more HD channels. Houston Comcast does not want to support both the Motorola HD format and the SA/Cisco HD format for each HD channel.
cypherstream's Avatar cypherstream
02:22 PM Liked: 10
post #46 of 4842
11-14-2008 | Posts: 781
Joined: Oct 2005
For your viewing pleasure...
(PDF)

http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/...er%20Guide.pdf

Check out the new user settings menu on page 39. Looks like this:
TV TYPE 16:9
HDMI/YPbPr OUTPUT NATIVE
4:3 OVERRIDE 480i
MY TV SUPPORTS THE FOLLOWING FORMATS:
[ ] 1080p30
[ ] 1080p24
[x] 1080i
[x] 720p
[ ] 480p
[ ] 480i
VIDEO SHARPNESS 1 2 [3] 4 5
ADDITIONAL HDMI SETTINGS >>>

CLOSED CAPTION DISABLED
ADDITIONAL CLOSED CAPTION SETTINGS >>>

RESTORE ALL DEFAULTS
MENU VERSION 2.1


Whoo hoo, looks like you can FINALLY pick multiple resolutions. Hope it auto switches based on the input channel format.

Also you can fine tune the video sharpness setting. The broadcom chip can do a lot of post processing to SD video to eliminate mosquito noise. In fact Verizon's IMG 1.6 turned up the post processing too high. Many Verizon customers think that SD looks too blurry since the latest update [Click here for thread]. The intention was to eliminate mosquito noise, micro blocking and compression artifacts. Like Verizon will introduce a user selectable slider in the NEXT version of IMG, it looks like Motorola will have this slider as well as part of the firmware, so if the application developer (Macrovision in our case) does not make a function call to set this up, we can still take advantage of this feature. The DCH boxes we have today have the ability to apply post processing, but it is not enabled because there is no declaration to the broadcom function variable that controls this setting.

I want this box.
FAUguy's Avatar FAUguy
10:15 AM Liked: 18
post #47 of 4842
12-15-2008 | Posts: 683
Joined: Sep 2005
Any news on the release of the DCX boxes?
The manual shows the DCX3400 line will support native 1080p30 and 1080p24 output.

http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/...er%20Guide.pdf
hdtvfan2005's Avatar hdtvfan2005
01:33 AM Liked: 15
post #48 of 4842
12-16-2008 | Posts: 2,279
Joined: Oct 2002
Also Comcast is also switching over to tru2way compliant Pansonic boxes. The Panasonic box is also labeled as RNG-200 and it's a fully functional next gen HD-DVR. Will probably get a guide similar to the ones on the Panasonic tru2way TV's. That guide looked like a spiffed up iGuide. Macrovision now has a tru2way version of passport that also looks nice. They also have J-Guide a modular tru2way guide solution.
FAUguy's Avatar FAUguy
01:48 PM Liked: 18
post #49 of 4842
01-29-2009 | Posts: 683
Joined: Sep 2005
What I find interesting is that the Motorola DXC boxes were showcased at CES 08 and they still aren't out.
dean-l's Avatar dean-l
02:01 AM Liked: 14
post #50 of 4842
02-17-2009 | Posts: 635
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

What makes you think there's been a delay? Motorola, themselves, discussed 3Q for its initial deployment. 3Q isn't over until September 30, so until then, they're still on-time according to their schedule.

How's that going?

LOL!!!

GO COMCAST!!!!
bicker1's Avatar bicker1
03:27 AM Liked: 11
post #51 of 4842
02-17-2009 | Posts: 8,289
Joined: Jun 2006
And given the economic down-turn, I wouldn't be surprised if the deployment is delayed a while long, and excessively slow when it does start.
lovethemoca's Avatar lovethemoca
06:59 AM Liked: 10
post #52 of 4842
04-01-2009 | Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2009
Does anyone know if Entropic is supplying the Moca technology for this STB or Broadcom - thank you
cypherstream's Avatar cypherstream
02:42 PM Liked: 10
post #53 of 4842
04-02-2009 | Posts: 781
Joined: Oct 2005
Broadcom. I believe they have it all integrated SoC.
bfdtv's Avatar bfdtv
02:48 PM Liked: 10
post #54 of 4842
04-02-2009 | Posts: 13,484
Joined: Nov 2002
Broadcom won't be shipping SoCs with MoCA for some months yet. The DCX3400 most likely uses an IC from Entropic or Motorola to support MoCA.
bit1's Avatar bit1
04:46 PM Liked: 10
post #55 of 4842
04-19-2009 | Posts: 12
Joined: Jul 2007
What? I just picked up 3 of the DCX 3400's at my local service center. They're beautiful and sleek. A little bit smaller than a Series 2 Tivo box (gotta upgrade that soon). The SD does seem much sharper on them to me
NismoZ's Avatar NismoZ
09:16 PM Liked: 10
post #56 of 4842
04-19-2009 | Posts: 882
Joined: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by bit1 View Post

What? I just picked up 3 of the DCX 3400's at my local service center. They're beautiful and sleek. A little bit smaller than a Series 2 Tivo box (gotta upgrade that soon). The SD does seem much sharper on them to me

What provider do you have?
maggiefan's Avatar maggiefan
11:13 PM Liked: 11
post #57 of 4842
04-19-2009 | Posts: 343
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bit1 View Post

What? I just picked up 3 of the DCX 3400's at my local service center. They're beautiful and sleek. A little bit smaller than a Series 2 Tivo box (gotta upgrade that soon). The SD does seem much sharper on them to me

What provider? What location?
scanpa's Avatar scanpa
08:09 PM Liked: 10
post #58 of 4842
04-21-2009 | Posts: 2,359
Joined: Jan 2005
The DCX DVR / STB are in various Comcast Regional / Corp Warehouses undergoing final local testing, you should see them available in the field in most areas before June.

We have 2 DVR and 1 Non DVR open off the pallet, they are 3400, 3425, 3432 models.
MickeyGee's Avatar MickeyGee
07:01 AM Liked: 10
post #59 of 4842
04-22-2009 | Posts: 1,018
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by scanpa View Post

The DCX DVR / STB are in various Comcast Regional / Corp Warehouses undergoing final local testing, you should see them available in the field in most areas before June.

We have 2 DVR and 1 Non DVR open off the pallet, they are 3400, 3425, 3432 models.

Can we assume that the 3425 has a 250GB drive, and the 3432 has a 320GB drive?

Mickey
scanpa's Avatar scanpa
08:27 AM Liked: 10
post #60 of 4842
04-22-2009 | Posts: 2,359
Joined: Jan 2005
Correct.

Reply HDTV Recorders

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3