Official AVS Motorola DCX series HD DVR Topic! - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 4816 Old 08-22-2008, 12:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
FAUguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

As far as I know, the DCX- boxes are not yet being mass produced by Motorola.

Beyond that, there is no reason to believe that any specific head-end will be getting DCX-series boxes anytime soon. It will probably take several years after Motorola starts mass-producing the box before most customers will have it as an option.

Amazing. By the time they come out, they will be out-dated. What is the reason behind the delay?

Now we have to start taking bets "Which will come out first? Windows 7 or Motorola DCX boxes?"
FAUguy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 4816 Old 08-22-2008, 01:59 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What makes you think there's been a delay? Motorola, themselves, discussed 3Q for its initial deployment. 3Q isn't over until September 30, so until then, they're still on-time according to their schedule.
bicker1 is offline  
post #33 of 4816 Old 08-22-2008, 08:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
dean-l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Under a Moderator's Thumb
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Where did you get that schedule from?

Just curious.

Moderator harassment is wrong and immoral.  
dean-l is offline  
post #34 of 4816 Old 08-22-2008, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas Comcast SA 8300HD DVRs Guide S25 Phase 1 with Patch
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They [Houston Comcast Support] confirmed the new box will be the DCX3400 and will be available September 2nd. Here is a link to the "Houston, TX - Comcast" thread post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post14495233

After reading this thread, it makes me wonder if Houston Comcast will be leasing the DCX3400 on Septermber 2nd. Any comments?

Links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RussB is offline  
post #35 of 4816 Old 08-23-2008, 03:09 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's good news for Houston! And indicates that Motorola will live up to its press releases.
bicker1 is offline  
post #36 of 4816 Old 08-24-2008, 12:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The standard hard drive is 160 GB but can be ordered up to 250 GB. Perhaps up to 320 GB.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #37 of 4816 Old 08-24-2008, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas Comcast SA 8300HD DVRs Guide S25 Phase 1 with Patch
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvfan2005 View Post

The standard hard drive is 160 GB but can be ordered up to 250 GB. Perhaps up to 320 GB.

The cable company has the option about the size of the internal hard drive it orders. The cable customer is stuck with the size of the internal hard drive the cable company decides to use. I haven't seen any cable companies that let the customer select the size of the internal hard drive.

Does anyone know if cable companies can decide whether external drives will work with Motorola DVRs?

Links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RussB is offline  
post #38 of 4816 Old 08-24-2008, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Motorola says that the eSATA port is activated but Comcast hasn't activated it in the headend. Time Warner San Diego now supports eSATA since a recent software upgrade fixed the eSATA.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #39 of 4816 Old 08-24-2008, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas Comcast SA 8300HD DVRs Guide S25 Phase 1 with Patch
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvfan2005 View Post

Motorola says that the eSATA port is activated but Comcast hasn't activated it in the headend. Time Warner San Diego now supports eSATA since a recent software upgrade fixed the eSATA.

Thank you

Links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RussB is offline  
post #40 of 4816 Old 08-24-2008, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The specs mention that the guide can be in widescreen which is nice. Probably not HD widescreen but widescreen none the less.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #41 of 4816 Old 08-25-2008, 09:35 AM
QZ1
AVS Special Member
 
QZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any other market(s) getting the DCX soon?
QZ1 is offline  
post #42 of 4816 Old 09-02-2008, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas Comcast SA 8300HD DVRs Guide S25 Phase 1 with Patch
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussB View Post

They [Houston Comcast Support] confirmed the new box will be the DCX3400 and will be available September 2nd. Here is a link to the "Houston, TX - Comcast" thread post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post14495233

After reading this thread, it makes me wonder if Houston Comcast will be leasing the DCX3400 on Septermber 2nd. Any comments?

Today, September 2nd, I found out the new box being released by Houston Comcast is the Cisco/SA RNG200 set-top box, NOT the Motorola DCX3400.

Links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RussB is offline  
post #43 of 4816 Old 09-27-2008, 03:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
FAUguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RussB View Post

Today, September 2nd, I found out the new box being released by Houston Comcast is the Cisco/SA RNG200 set-top box, NOT the Motorola DCX3400.

This one?
http://www.cisco.com/web/consumer/pr...op-rng200.html
How does it compare to the DCH and DCX line?
It says it supports 1080p 60/30/24, which I doubt the DCX will do.
FAUguy is online now  
post #44 of 4816 Old 09-27-2008, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm sure the DCX can do 1080p. The RNG-200 has problems with non comcast remotes though. Mainly Harmony remotes.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #45 of 4816 Old 09-27-2008, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas Comcast SA 8300HD DVRs Guide S25 Phase 1 with Patch
Posts: 2,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAUguy View Post

This one?
http://www.cisco.com/web/consumer/pr...op-rng200.html
How does it compare to the DCH and DCX line?
It says it supports 1080p 60/30/24, which I doubt the DCX will do.

That is the one.

I have the SA 8300HD DVR so I can't compare it to other set-top boxes.

Houston Comcast is replacing the current Motorola HD boxes it has in the Houston area with SA/Cisco boxes so it can provide more HD channels. Houston Comcast does not want to support both the Motorola HD format and the SA/Cisco HD format for each HD channel.

Links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RussB is offline  
post #46 of 4816 Old 11-14-2008, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
cypherstream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For your viewing pleasure...
(PDF)

http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/...er%20Guide.pdf

Check out the new user settings menu on page 39. Looks like this:
TV TYPE 16:9
HDMI/YPbPr OUTPUT NATIVE
4:3 OVERRIDE 480i
MY TV SUPPORTS THE FOLLOWING FORMATS:
[ ] 1080p30
[ ] 1080p24
[x] 1080i
[x] 720p
[ ] 480p
[ ] 480i
VIDEO SHARPNESS 1 2 [3] 4 5
ADDITIONAL HDMI SETTINGS >>>

CLOSED CAPTION DISABLED
ADDITIONAL CLOSED CAPTION SETTINGS >>>

RESTORE ALL DEFAULTS
MENU VERSION 2.1


Whoo hoo, looks like you can FINALLY pick multiple resolutions. Hope it auto switches based on the input channel format.

Also you can fine tune the video sharpness setting. The broadcom chip can do a lot of post processing to SD video to eliminate mosquito noise. In fact Verizon's IMG 1.6 turned up the post processing too high. Many Verizon customers think that SD looks too blurry since the latest update [Click here for thread]. The intention was to eliminate mosquito noise, micro blocking and compression artifacts. Like Verizon will introduce a user selectable slider in the NEXT version of IMG, it looks like Motorola will have this slider as well as part of the firmware, so if the application developer (Macrovision in our case) does not make a function call to set this up, we can still take advantage of this feature. The DCH boxes we have today have the ability to apply post processing, but it is not enabled because there is no declaration to the broadcom function variable that controls this setting.

I want this box.
cypherstream is offline  
post #47 of 4816 Old 12-15-2008, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
FAUguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any news on the release of the DCX boxes?
The manual shows the DCX3400 line will support native 1080p30 and 1080p24 output.

http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/...er%20Guide.pdf
FAUguy is online now  
post #48 of 4816 Old 12-16-2008, 12:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Also Comcast is also switching over to tru2way compliant Pansonic boxes. The Panasonic box is also labeled as RNG-200 and it's a fully functional next gen HD-DVR. Will probably get a guide similar to the ones on the Panasonic tru2way TV's. That guide looked like a spiffed up iGuide. Macrovision now has a tru2way version of passport that also looks nice. They also have J-Guide a modular tru2way guide solution.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #49 of 4816 Old 01-29-2009, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
FAUguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What I find interesting is that the Motorola DXC boxes were showcased at CES 08 and they still aren't out.
FAUguy is online now  
post #50 of 4816 Old 02-17-2009, 01:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
dean-l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Under a Moderator's Thumb
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

What makes you think there's been a delay? Motorola, themselves, discussed 3Q for its initial deployment. 3Q isn't over until September 30, so until then, they're still on-time according to their schedule.

How's that going?

LOL!!!

GO COMCAST!!!!

Moderator harassment is wrong and immoral.  
dean-l is offline  
post #51 of 4816 Old 02-17-2009, 02:27 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
And given the economic down-turn, I wouldn't be surprised if the deployment is delayed a while long, and excessively slow when it does start.
bicker1 is offline  
post #52 of 4816 Old 04-01-2009, 05:59 AM
Newbie
 
lovethemoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if Entropic is supplying the Moca technology for this STB or Broadcom - thank you
lovethemoca is offline  
post #53 of 4816 Old 04-02-2009, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
cypherstream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Broadcom. I believe they have it all integrated SoC.
cypherstream is offline  
post #54 of 4816 Old 04-02-2009, 01:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Broadcom won't be shipping SoCs with MoCA for some months yet. The DCX3400 most likely uses an IC from Entropic or Motorola to support MoCA.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #55 of 4816 Old 04-19-2009, 03:46 PM
Newbie
 
bit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What? I just picked up 3 of the DCX 3400's at my local service center. They're beautiful and sleek. A little bit smaller than a Series 2 Tivo box (gotta upgrade that soon). The SD does seem much sharper on them to me
bit1 is offline  
post #56 of 4816 Old 04-19-2009, 08:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bit1 View Post

What? I just picked up 3 of the DCX 3400's at my local service center. They're beautiful and sleek. A little bit smaller than a Series 2 Tivo box (gotta upgrade that soon). The SD does seem much sharper on them to me

What provider do you have?
NismoZ is offline  
post #57 of 4816 Old 04-19-2009, 10:13 PM
Senior Member
 
maggiefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bit1 View Post

What? I just picked up 3 of the DCX 3400's at my local service center. They're beautiful and sleek. A little bit smaller than a Series 2 Tivo box (gotta upgrade that soon). The SD does seem much sharper on them to me

What provider? What location?

Larry
maggiefan is offline  
post #58 of 4816 Old 04-21-2009, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DCX DVR / STB are in various Comcast Regional / Corp Warehouses undergoing final local testing, you should see them available in the field in most areas before June.

We have 2 DVR and 1 Non DVR open off the pallet, they are 3400, 3425, 3432 models.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #59 of 4816 Old 04-22-2009, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MickeyGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scanpa View Post

The DCX DVR / STB are in various Comcast Regional / Corp Warehouses undergoing final local testing, you should see them available in the field in most areas before June.

We have 2 DVR and 1 Non DVR open off the pallet, they are 3400, 3425, 3432 models.

Can we assume that the 3425 has a 250GB drive, and the 3432 has a 320GB drive?

Mickey
MickeyGee is offline  
post #60 of 4816 Old 04-22-2009, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correct.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off