Dish DTVPal DVR (ex-Echostar TR-50) Official Speculation and Order Info Thread - Page 111 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2009, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
m0tion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, does this thing work correctly now that all of the software updates have been released?
m0tion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2009, 11:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It works great for me, so much so that I ordered a second one. It appears that a lot of the problems may be regional and have a lot to do with TVGoS and PSIP.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 01:00 PM
Newbie
 
y_flagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to see some replies from people who had problem units--did this software update fix those issues? I was looking at this thing a couple months ago, but I wrote it off after seeing all the problems that people were having (I have to convince the wife that we NEED this, and saying it might freeze up a few times a week would've been a deal breaker).
y_flagger is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by y_flagger View Post

I'd like to see some replies from people who had problem units--did this software update fix those issues? I was looking at this thing a couple months ago, but I wrote it off after seeing all the problems that people were having (I have to convince the wife that we NEED this, and saying it might freeze up a few times a week would've been a deal breaker).

This thread was (and is) mostly for speculation.
You need to read through the users thread for this box if you want to find out what is actually happening in the field.
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 11:10 PM
Newbie
 
y_flagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

This thread was (and is) mostly for speculation.
You need to read through the users thread for this box if you want to find out what is actually happening in the field.

Ahh. Thanks much!
y_flagger is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Ordered from Solid Signal on 6/24 and had it shipped standard and it arrived today 6/30. Price was good too. I haven't done anything other than connect it via HDMI and set the remote up to control the TV and Pal. So far it works well. The next step is to try recording.

One thing I liked is it picks up the signals better than my Sharp LCD TV. When I did a scan it found more channels and held the signal better than the TV.
LenL is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
dtsabai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I purchased my DTVPAL DVR about 6 months ago, and yesterday updated to the newest software. The DVR was working fine, until I came home today, and discovered it in a dead loop where it displays "loading please wait", and then reboots. I have unpluged, and tried to restart it, including taking out the card.

Nothing has worked.

Can I replace the HD and where do I get it, including the software on the drive?
dtsabai is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtsabai View Post

Hi,

I purchased my DTVPAL DVR about 6 months ago, and yesterday updated to the newest software. The DVR was working fine, until I came home today, and discovered it in a dead loop where it displays "loading please wait", and then reboots. I have unpluged, and tried to restart it, including taking out the card.

Nothing has worked.

Can I replace the HD and where do I get it, including the software on the drive?

This thread was mostly speculation before the DVR was released.
You should try posting your question to this thread.
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 12:08 AM
Senior Member
 
dbsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenL View Post

Ordered from Solid Signal

I went and looked it up on their site and it's listed as discontinued.

link

Is this an indication that the thing is EOL? I didn't see any indication of its rebranded incarnation there at all edit: it didn't show up searching there, but the CM-branded one is there. In other words, should I be ordering one or two today while they still exist to order?

I stole your sig.
dbsc is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 06:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsc View Post

I went and looked it up on their site and it's listed as discontinued.

link

Is this an indication that the thing is EOL? I didn't see any indication of its rebranded incarnation there at all. In other words, should I be ordering one or two today while they still exist to order?

You're in the wrong thread. Here is the link for the active thread for the DTV Pal. From recent conversation over the past month, the Pal DVR can be found on the K-Mart website and has been re-badged as the Channel Master CM-7000PAL DVR for $100 more -- also available from Solid Signal. So it's still available for now, but it still has some issues and firmware updates seem to have stopped with F208 at it's retail release. Read the first post of that link thoroughly and most of your questions will be answered.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
dbsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

You're in the wrong thread

I'm sorry, I thought this was the "Official Speculation and Order Info Thread". That's what the title says anyway. If it's a thread that's no longer used perhaps it should have been locked.

I'm subscribed to the thread you linked to. I'm also not a newbie here, been posting/reading for three years, but thanks.

I stole your sig.
dbsc is offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 05:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsc View Post

I'm sorry,

No need to be sorry. It wasn't an admonishment, just some friendly user info that you're posting to a thread that has been dead for 6 months and all the action is in the other one -- including the answers to the questions you asked. That's all.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 08:17 AM
Member
 
theaveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

Channel Master CM-7000PAL DVR

Interesting. I have the CM-7000 converter box which works great, but is completely different from the DTVpal. I wonder why they chose to use the same name for a product that has different hardware and software.

My Free TV streams 19 Mbps == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
theaveng is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 09:57 AM
Member
 
dcbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: TN
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theaveng View Post

Interesting. I have the CM-7000 converter box which works great, but is completely different from the DTVpal. I wonder why they chose to use the same name for a product that has different hardware and software.

So what is the difference?
dcbag is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 10:26 AM
Member
 
theaveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CM 7000 converter box has:
- S-video output
- Different software (katana2 version b7707_lpm 52.4DC001)
- Different guide (12 hours not a full week)
- And in my opinion: The Channer Master box has a better hardware tuner with "audio only" capability, so you can hear the TV when the signal is too weak to produce a picture. DTVpal does not.

My Free TV streams 19 Mbps == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
theaveng is offline  
Old 10-29-2011, 08:27 PM
Newbie
 
dtvpalHELPplease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have a copy of F208 for Dish's now unsupported DTVPal DVR on their computer they could email to me?
dtvpalHELPplease is offline  
Old 10-29-2011, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtvpalHELPplease View Post

Anyone have a copy of F208 for Dish's now unsupported DTVPal DVR on their computer they could email to me?

See the other thread.
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 10-30-2011, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtvpalHELPplease View Post

Anyone have a copy of F208 for Dish's now unsupported DTVPal DVR on their computer they could email to me?

I have it ! PM me with your e-mail address and I'll see if I can attach it.

FRANK43 is offline  
Old 10-30-2011, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRANK43 View Post

I have it ! PM me with your e-mail address and I'll see if I can attach it.

Its been taken care of.
Chuck44 is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
JeffChap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Edmond OK
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a DTV Pal Plus that works fine in all respects other than it reboots itself every 30 minutes or so. It has F208 firmware installed already. If anyone wants it for parts, $20 plus shipping from 73003 takes it. Otherwise, it goes into the trash. PM me if you're interested.
JeffChap is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
keyboard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffChap View Post

I have a DTV Pal Plus that works fine in all respects other than it reboots itself every 30 minutes or so. It has F208 firmware installed already. If anyone wants it for parts, $20 plus shipping from 73003 takes it. Otherwise, it goes into the trash. PM me if you're interested.

Have you tried disconnecting the Antenna coax from the dish box? Then doing a factory reset. With the Antenna coax disconnected to the dish box.

Also try pushing the SYS button.

All the above has helped others

It is free to try. So before you throw it out. Try that. Also Psmith might have an idea or two. Be a shame to throw $300 away
keyboard21 is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
navychop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
And let us know how that works out, please.

Reunite Pangea!
navychop is offline  
Old 01-28-2012, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
t-dub77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this was already posted here but its now available through channel master Model is CM-7000pal

good luck
t-dub77 is offline  
Old 01-28-2012, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Budget_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by t-dub77 View Post

Sorry if this was already posted here but its now available through channel master Model is CM-7000pal

good luck

Both have been manufacture discontinued.

Dave
Budget_HT is offline  
Old 01-29-2012, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budget_HT View Post

Both have been manufacture discontinued.

Check the Chanell Master website since they were making the cm7000 and found this. http://www.channelmaster.com/

FRANK43 is offline  
Old 01-29-2012, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Budget_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRANK43 View Post

Check the Chanell Master website since they were making the cm7000 and found this. http://www.channelmaster.com/

That is the new 7400 model, replacing the 7000 model.

Dave
Budget_HT is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off