Do you have a Panasonic HD1000 and live in the Atlanta area? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-13-2001, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Roswell, GA, USA
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently got my DTC100 modified by 169time and purchased a Panasonic PV-HD1000 off of eBay. However, the two don't seem to be talking to each other and it looks like I may have a non-standard HD1000 (the seller admitted to finding out that it is actually a "demo" unit without any of the usual demo case changes). It looks like the protocol of the unit is different than standard HD1000s, and it won't talk properly with my DTC100.

Before I ship anything back to 169time, I was hoping to find someone local to the Atlanta area with a known-good HD1000 that would be willing to let me try hooking it up to my modified DTC100. I promise that it will take no more than a few minutes, and I will bring the DTC100 to your location (or you can come to me in Roswell if that would be more convenient). All I would need is an OTA antenna hookup (coax).

Another thing that would also be interesting to try is to hook my HD1000 up to a DST50 to see if it can communicate properly with it instead. If you have a DST50 too that would be a double bonus :)

Thanks in advance for your help. If you would be willing to do this please drop me an email at dknight@mediabin.com.


-Dave
dknight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-13-2001, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dave, I would not assume your 169 doesnt work. The first thing to verify is when the units are hooked together via firewire, does the power light blink once a second?

Dave
h2ofun is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-13-2001, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Roswell, GA, USA
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Without going into great detail, I've spent a LOT of time on the phone with Richard diagnosing the problem. The recorder looks EXACTLY like a commercial non-demo HD1000 from the outside. However, the internals don't appear to be 100 percent identical to a retail machine.

I don't think the DTC100 is at fault; I just need to double check before I move forward. I'm following Richard's advice, here.


-Dave
dknight is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-13-2001, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You got the advice from the expert himself. Nothing I can add.
Good luck

dave
h2ofun is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-15-2001, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Roswell, GA, USA
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump
dknight is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off