Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 42 Old 12-22-2008, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Begin Rant/

I know it's the thing kids do these days: watch movies on their computer, or even iPod or whatever. But even among a number of my more techy friends and acquaintances my age (45) a number watch movies on their computer, often downloaded and all that.

First, on one level, it disturbs me because I like to pay for any music I download (via itunes...I know...some people don't like Apple either but at least artists get paid).

When it comes to music, I was a musician and so was my father, my brother and many of my friends are musicians. I resolutely think musicians should get paid for their music. (Especially seeing how they struggle).

As far as movies: same thing. I'm in the film business myself and people downloading pirated movies, watching them when those movies are in the theaters or before they are on DVD is, to my mind, unethical and has ramifications for my livelihood. (Even if I weren't in the business I'd feel it was wrong).

Ok, that's me on my self-righteous box.

But the other side of the coin is just...what the hell is with watching movies on computers anyway? Take one of my extended family members who watches movies downloaded that way. To paraphrase the scene: I ask him if he saw The Dark Knight. He'd seen it on his computer of course. What did he think of the movie? He shrugged his shoulders. "It was ok I guess." (And he did critique it as well).

He didn't really get much of the spectacle out of it of course "I'm sure it probably looked better in the theaters...but I haven't watched a movie in a movie theater for years."