The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises with fixed OAR? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-28-2012, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Will these movies ever be released on Blu-ray with a fixed OAR, meaning without the IMAX content?
I want to see them as I saw them in the cinema, in the aspect ratio 2.4:1
TDK occasionally looked silly on my scope screen, drawing me out of the movie
How hard can it be to release them this way?
jake51 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-28-2012, 09:03 AM
Toe
AVS Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 419
I would LOVE this as well. Transformers 2 did it and it would sure be nice to have this option for the CIH crowd out there, or if you just dont like variable aspect to begin with. Dark Knight I also found distracting, but I dont have enough masking to mask the top/bottom overspill when the frame opens up to 1.78. I am going to rig up some sort of cardboard masking to put in front of the lens for TDKR so the overspill is covered up which should help out quite a bit.

JVC 3D: Been there, done that, bought a DLP
Toe is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-30-2012, 04:07 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's especially frustrating as Batman Begins does not have the shifting aspect ratio
I'm not going to buy the two other movies because of the OAR thing, so I'm left with part one of a trilogy
jake51 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-30-2012, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,043
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake51 View Post

It's especially frustrating as Batman Begins does not have the shifting aspect ratio
I'm not going to buy the two other movies because of the OAR thing, so I'm left with part one of a trilogy

That's really enough to prevent you from buying the movies?

I hope you're not a Transformers fan. Part 1 is flat 2.40:1, part 2 has shifting IMAX ratios, and part 3 is in 3D. There's no consistency at all in that series.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-30-2012, 02:10 PM
Toe
AVS Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

That's really enough to prevent you from buying the movies?
I hope you're not a Transformers fan. Part 1 is flat 2.40:1, part 2 has shifting IMAX ratios, and part 3 is in 3D. There's no consistency at all in that series.
Part 2 has a constant scope aspect option as well. All variable aspect films should have this option.

Part 3 has a non 3d version as well and both those are constant aspect.

You can consistently watch all 3 films in scope non shifting 2d. It does not get anymore consistent than that. wink.gif

JVC 3D: Been there, done that, bought a DLP
Toe is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-30-2012, 11:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Transformers 2 has a constant OAR, at least on the rental disc I have seen
I watched Transformers 3 without 3D, really good PQ (also rental)
jake51 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-01-2012, 02:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Morpheo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal by day, Paris by night...
Posts: 6,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake51 View Post

Transformers 2 has a constant OAR, at least on the rental disc I have seen

There was the Big Screen Edition (wallmart exclusive) which had shifting AR. The "regular" version is constant.
Morpheo is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-01-2012, 08:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I believe the BD has the Imax scenes

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-18-2012, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
DrGekko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just watched this at home tonight, thought the movie was pretty awesome - the action and sound was superb. BUT... I hated the frequent changing aspect ratio - it was quite distracting and appeared silly in front of my friends who didn't understand why it was changing... for half the movie, I was adjusting the AR with my Lumagen scaler until I got fed up.

I sincerely hope a fixed OAR version is released for fans of home blu-ray.
DrGekko is offline  
Reply Movies, Concerts, and Music Discussion

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off