open matte - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 24 Old 03-04-2007, 12:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why arent movies, say ones shot on Super 35, released in open matte? Obviously they do indeed do open transfers since many movies show on TV in open matte formatting. Since this both fills tvs, and retains the entire original image, I dont understand why not release them, atleast sometimes. Mind you I am not a proponent of cropping 2.4:1 movies to fit 1.78:1, I believe in OAR.

CROPPED < OAR < OPEN MATTE -- OOOOH I SAID IT!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 03-04-2007, 12:29 AM
AVS Special Member

Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Liked: 12
The hardcore will say that open matte is not OAR. I am with you on this.

The Chronicles of Narnia in open matte looked better that the pure OAR of the dvd. Pirates of the Car looked great in open matte...superior to the dvd. Heck Gladiator open matte looks great.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room

"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

post #3 of 24 Old 03-04-2007, 07:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by necrolop View Post

Why arent movies, say ones shot on Super 35, released in open matte? Obviously they do indeed do open transfers since many movies show on TV in open matte formatting. Since this both fills tvs, and retains the entire original image, I dont understand why not release them, atleast sometimes. Mind you I am not a proponent of cropping 2.4:1 movies to fit 1.78:1, I believe in OAR.

Clearly you do not believe in OAR if you want to alter the composition of the movie to fill your TV screen.