West Palm Beach, FL - HDTV - Page 310 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9271 of 9289 Old 01-29-2014, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
mfetzner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newbie here...

I am planning to install an antenna (HD) to get WSVN and SoFL channles in my place in Boca. I tried already one of the Leaf antennas but the signal was too weak.

Any recommendations for indoor antennas?

Also, looks like I can get a better signal upstairs. Do you know of any device that would send the signal to the other TV wirelessly?

thanks,
mfetzner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9272 of 9289 Old 02-03-2014, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm City, FL USA
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lately, the video on The Weather Channel (HD-380) freezes very often for about 20 seconds. This has been happening for the past several weeks on all my boxes. Is anyone else experiencing this? I am on Comcast.
wdsnls is offline  
post #9273 of 9289 Old 02-04-2014, 12:37 PM
Newbie
 
mfetzner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get it a lot on History Channel 2 (38something)
mfetzner is offline  
post #9274 of 9289 Old 02-28-2014, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm City, FL USA
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that my Cisco RNG200N STB (Comcast) received an update last night to the S26 guide. The only change I see is the guide now appears in the 4:3 format. mad.gif
wdsnls is offline  
post #9275 of 9289 Old 02-28-2014, 02:09 PM
Member
 
rjd123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdsnls View Post

I noticed that my Cisco RNG200N STB (Comcast) received an update last night to the S26 guide. The only change I see is the guide now appears in the 4:3 format. mad.gif

I got the same update on my Comcast SA8300 DVR and tried a reboot but it didn't fix the format. I did not get the update yet on my Cisco RNG150N.
rjd123 is offline  
post #9276 of 9289 Old 02-28-2014, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
LRZNole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have 4:3 format for the guide.
LRZNole is offline  
post #9277 of 9289 Old 02-28-2014, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm City, FL USA
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjd123 View Post

I got the same update on my Comcast SA8300 DVR and tried a reboot but it didn't fix the format. I did not get the update yet on my Cisco RNG150N.

Yes, I also did not get it on my RNG150's.
wdsnls is offline  
post #9278 of 9289 Old 03-01-2014, 12:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smithfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjd123 
I got the same update on my Comcast SA8300 DVR and tried a reboot but it didn't fix the format.

Same here. Now when you pull up the guide, the font seems smaller/harder to read and the aspect ratio is wrong for the PIP box in the upper right corner of the schedule grid.
smithfarmer is offline  
post #9279 of 9289 Old 03-02-2014, 06:10 AM
Newbie
 
MikeyJBoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You can find out more about the update here: http://forums.comcast.com/t5/XfinityTV-and-Equipment/New-Features-for-Scientific-Atlanta-Cisco-Cable-Boxes/td-p/1501473. I think it fixes some of the bugs we were having with the DVR and now gives us access to manage the DVR online. Not sure why they decided to crop the guide with the update.
wdsnls likes this.
MikeyJBoca is offline  
post #9280 of 9289 Old 03-02-2014, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm City, FL USA
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyJBoca View Post

You can find out more about the update here: http://forums.comcast.com/t5/XfinityTV-and-Equipment/New-Features-for-Scientific-Atlanta-Cisco-Cable-Boxes/td-p/1501473. I think it fixes some of the bugs we were having with the DVR and now gives us access to manage the DVR online. Not sure why they decided to crop the guide with the update.

Thanks for the link. Great to see that I now have access to the DVR Manager. I do notice one feature that has bothered me for some time that they say has been resolved. The "HD Pass Through." It still does not work for me. Everything comes through on 1080i or 480i via HDMI.
wdsnls is offline  
post #9281 of 9289 Old 03-02-2014, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
LRZNole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can now use the remote app and control em the dvr from my iphone but it says my dvr is 100% full when it's only 48%. Any idea what to do with that?
LRZNole is offline  
post #9282 of 9289 Old 03-02-2014, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
LRZNole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We'll it's not showing full anymore but it doesn't show everything I have previously recorded in the dvr. Cool that you can control the dvr and setup a recording. Hopefully it works when you are away from your home.
LRZNole is offline  
post #9283 of 9289 Old 03-02-2014, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
LRZNole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HD passthru works on my SA8300HD but not on my Cisco HD non-dvr box
LRZNole is offline  
post #9284 of 9289 Old 06-09-2014, 11:04 AM
Newbie
 
Alittleredhen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Don't know if this is the right place for this.......

 

Hi, I am pretty knowledgeable about alot of things on the house, but electronics is a mystery to me. And I don't have a dad or brother to ask these things of. Please help me figure out which antenna I need. 

 

I live in Boca Raton, FL zip 33487. My house is single story. I want to put a whole house antenna in the attic. Currently, I have an amplified splitter (plugged into electric with cable TV line) with 7 dedicated lines going to each room.

 

When I look up the address on those sites, it says I have a strong signal from both West Palm Beach and Miami. It says I am 30 miles from towers in West Palm and 50 from Miami. It says West Palm is 20 degrees and Miami is 300 degrees. From that info, that I have signals due north and due south, I believe I need a multidirectional antenna........correct?

 

Now, which one...........? I read about them on Amazon etc. but unfortunately, I don't understand the technical jargon that people who know about these things use. I chatted with a rep at one of the big online sellers of amplifiers and he suggested a DB8e antenna, a VHF antenna retro fit kit and a 9 way HD drop bidirectional amp CDA8 for $285.

 

I have a Roku and have been living with that since Comcast cut me off after they figured out they left basic cable on my TV's when I cut the cord. But I want to get this done. I have started and stopped many times because I'm afraid of buying the wrong thing. I don't mind spending the money. I want to do it once and do it right. I don't have 7 TV's right now, but I want the house to be set up for more if I buy them. Several are still analog right now and I use Roku with those. 

 

Thank you for any help...........Nina in Florida

Alittleredhen is offline  
post #9285 of 9289 Old 06-09-2014, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Joel Graffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palm City, FL
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alittleredhen View Post

Don't know if this is the right place for this.......

Hi, I am pretty knowledgeable about alot of things on the house, but electronics is a mystery to me. And I don't have a dad or brother to ask these things of. Please help me figure out which antenna I need. 

I live in Boca Raton, FL zip 33487. My house is single story. I want to put a whole house antenna in the attic. Currently, I have an amplified splitter (plugged into electric with cable TV line) with 7 dedicated lines going to each room.

When I look up the address on those sites, it says I have a strong signal from both West Palm Beach and Miami. It says I am 30 miles from towers in West Palm and 50 from Miami. It says West Palm is 20 degrees and Miami is 300 degrees. From that info, that I have signals due north and due south, I believe I need a multidirectional antenna........correct?

Now, which one...........? I read about them on Amazon etc. but unfortunately, I don't understand the technical jargon that people who know about these things use. I chatted with a rep at one of the big online sellers of amplifiers and he suggested a DB8e antenna, a VHF antenna retro fit kit and a 9 way HD drop bidirectional amp CDA8 for $285.

I have a Roku and have been living with that since Comcast cut me off after they figured out they left basic cable on my TV's when I cut the cord. But I want to get this done. I have started and stopped many times because I'm afraid of buying the wrong thing. I don't mind spending the money. I want to do it once and do it right. I don't have 7 TV's right now, but I want the house to be set up for more if I buy them. Several are still analog right now and I use Roku with those. 

Thank you for any help...........Nina in Florida

You'll probably have to experiment a bit,. You may have to pick Miami or WPB stations with an attic antenna as higher gain antennas only work in one direction. The higher the gain, the more directional they are.

When digital TV started, I used a Radio Shack U-75R in my attic along with a channel 13 Yagi for West Palm Beach stations. I replaced both of these with a channel master 8200HD which proved to be a better antenna. If you want to drive up to Palm City, I will give you the Radio Shack antenna. It might work for you..

PM if you are interested.
Joel Graffman is offline  
post #9286 of 9289 Old 06-09-2014, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I suggest you cross post on at http://www.avsforum.com/t/381623/the-official-avs-antenna-and-related-hardware-topic/16200#post_24802421 page. Before you do, you might also consider running a tvfool report for your exact address and posting the link (which does NOT include your address)
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #9287 of 9289 Old 06-09-2014, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
I replaced both of these with a channel master 8200HD

There is no such thing as a channel master 8200HD. It doesn't exist.

There is no point is using a large, all channel antenna in this area since there are no stations that operate on channels 2-6.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #9288 of 9289 Old 06-09-2014, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 89
There is a Winegard 8200. Must be confused. But sounds like the Winegard 7698 would be the better choice.
tylerSC is offline  
post #9289 of 9289 Old 06-10-2014, 02:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Joel Graffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palm City, FL
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post

There is no such thing as a channel master 8200HD. It doesn't exist.

There is no point is using a large, all channel antenna in this area since there are no stations that operate on channels 2-6.

Sorry, it was the 4228 HD. Thanks for the correction.

For anyone that is interested, this makes a nice attic antenna not only for the gain characteristics, but because of the physical properties. Since it is short in horizontal size, it can be more easily pointed in the desired direction in constricted areas than a Yagi type antenna.
Joel Graffman is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off