Los Angeles, CA - Verizon FiOS - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 Old 11-17-2008, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dylang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't see an LA fios thread so here we go...

I just had fios installed in Venice, CA. I received the extreme HD package along with fios internet. So far the quality is very good the hd is crisp and I haven't noticed any artifacting yet. There's a lot of stations, far more than I was getting with TW. I quickly realized I had to create a favorites version of the guide to weed out all the unnecessary channels such as Retirement Living and QVC. It's great to see 10 or so HD channels each of just HBO, Showtime and Cinemax.

My big complaint: The onDemand is truly bad. The material is so compressed that it's distracting. I watched Weeds last night, granted it was in SD but it looked like it was originally 240x360 and scaled up. I also watched an HD CSI episode onDemand. The image was not as bad as Weeds but it displayed a lot of pixelating and artifacts.

This morning Verizon called me with one of their automated message asking if I was happy with their service and if I had any questions to press "0." Which I did. I spoke to customer service and explained my dissatisfaction with the onDemand material. I was transferred to technical support, though very nice I'm not sure he understood "compression" and how that effects quality. He suggested it might be the setup or my tv, which I explained looks great when viewing live tv. He said he'd pass on my comment to the quality assurance department.

At this point I can live with poor onDemand, but I hope they rectify it soon. Everything else is good so far and I'm very happy about my decision of switching from TW.
dylang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 Old 12-09-2008, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthemAVM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FIOS rocks in Orange County!

I just wish we didn't need to use there router.
AnthemAVM is offline  
post #3 of 37 Old 01-18-2009, 12:20 PM
Newbie
 
ctgsocal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have to rent digital adapters from Verizon for two of my TVs (they loan me two for free). Can I buy TV converter boxes with the government coupon to replace the two boxes I have to rent? Which one would be recommended?
ctgsocal is offline  
post #4 of 37 Old 02-03-2009, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
Jeffrey47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way to find out when a particular street is going to be wired? I live in Newbury Park and want to get rid of TW in the worst way!
Jeffrey47 is offline  
post #5 of 37 Old 04-25-2009, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm interested in FIOS, but this thread is tough to find. I guess it needs a bump until the moderators figure out how to put it in the sticky.

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #6 of 37 Old 04-27-2009, 02:11 PM
Senior Member
 
dotheDVDeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is Los Angeles area FIOS carrying channel 5.2 OTA ThisTV yet?
dotheDVDeed is offline  
post #7 of 37 Old 04-27-2009, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelliot View Post

I'm interested in FIOS, but this thread is tough to find. I guess it needs a bump until the moderators figure out how to put it in the sticky.

Sent a PM.
Got a PM. Link will be active tomorrow.

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #8 of 37 Old 05-15-2009, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if FIOS supports digital TVGOS?

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #9 of 37 Old 05-15-2009, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthemAVM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is TVGOS?
AnthemAVM is offline  
post #10 of 37 Old 05-15-2009, 08:03 PM
Newbie
 
fvfgjnjdf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry,i don't know!
I just got my HD over the air set up a couple of weeks ago.
Here in Beaumont we only have CBS (KFDM), that broadcast a true HD signal. NBC (KBTV) and ABC (KBMT) only broadcast a digital signal of their SD programming.
If anyone else has heard a timeline for NBC and ABC to start showing HD signals, I would love to hear it.

fvfgjnjdf is offline  
post #11 of 37 Old 05-15-2009, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TVGOS is the TV guide that some video devices use to get the guide. (Like the Sony DHG-HDDXXX series of HD PVRs)
It is coded into the transmission of some TV stations usually CBS or PBS.

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #12 of 37 Old 05-15-2009, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthemAVM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelliot View Post

TVGOS is the TV guide that some video devices use to get the guide. (Like the Sony DHG-HDDXXX series of HD PVRs)
It is coded into the transmission of some TV stations usually CBS or PBS.

FIOS has its own guide, so I would think not.
AnthemAVM is offline  
post #13 of 37 Old 05-29-2009, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthemAVM View Post

FIOS has its own guide, so I would think not.

Not obvious.
The provision of TVGOS depends on a number of legal and technical factors. Macrovision who owns TVGOS has a number of access agreements with providers.

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #14 of 37 Old 06-24-2009, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
rbeckwith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fios and






















Anyone use TIVO and cablecard with FIOS? Verizon sales says they don't know.
rbeckwith is offline  
post #15 of 37 Old 07-08-2009, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone use TIVO and cablecard with FIOS? Verizon sales says they don't know.

Verizon sales are clueless on this topic. Lots of people use them with Tivo, although some have had problems with signal strength.

BTW, I'm thinking of switching to FIOS, but only if I can get a multistream Cablecard. They are doubly clueless about these.

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #16 of 37 Old 07-08-2009, 11:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Many people use Tivo with CableCards and FiOS. M Cards should be available, but you should tell the sales rep to specifically note it on the order so the installer isn't blindsided. The tuners Tivo uses tend to overload very easily and the ONT tends to put out a lot of power, so you may need to use an attenuator on the line to get the signal down into the usable range if you don't have many splits on the line.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #17 of 37 Old 07-11-2009, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kelliot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
An upside to TWC is that TWC still puts its digital lineup on analog without charging for extra hookups. Any old TV, Tivo, or ReplayTV can see it.

AFAIK on FIOS one needs a converter box and the monthly fee that goes with it for each outlet. STBs are evil.

Ken Elliott
kelliot is offline  
post #18 of 37 Old 07-11-2009, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is a downside, but the upside to it is the low-end boxes are only $4/mo and give you every SD channel you're subscribed to, including premiums and sports packages if applicable, not just the 60 or so in analog.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #19 of 37 Old 12-11-2009, 03:51 PM
Member
 
A1cntrler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll be relocating to Thousand Oaks here in the next few months of r ajob. I currently live in Hampton Roads, VA and am trying to find out if FiOS has made its way into any pars of the area there. Haven't found a place to live out there yet. Is Fios anywhere in T.O?
A1cntrler is offline  
post #20 of 37 Old 12-11-2009, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
LionelLines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Near LA-LA Land out on The Coast
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by A1cntrler View Post

I'll be relocating to Thousand Oaks here in the next few months of r ajob. I currently live in Hampton Roads, VA and am trying to find out if FiOS has made its way into any pars of the area there. Haven't found a place to live out there yet. Is Fios anywhere in T.O?


FIOS is available in most of Thousand Oaks/NewburyPark/Westlake. There are, however, parts of the city not served. You'll need to go here:

http://www22.verizon.com/residential...ailability.htm

to check. Good luck.
LionelLines is offline  
post #21 of 37 Old 12-11-2009, 07:54 PM
Member
 
A1cntrler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! I'll program that into my phone as we search around.. I have had FiOS here since the first week it was available and have not looked back. Hoping it was out there already as well!
A1cntrler is offline  
post #22 of 37 Old 04-25-2010, 03:33 AM
Senior Member
 
henhowc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 90025
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Can anyone tell me if FIOS is available in Palms (90034)? Their check availability website is horrible.
henhowc is offline  
post #23 of 37 Old 05-18-2010, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Santa Monica CA
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For what it's worth, here's how it went down in my area.

I'm in Santa Monica, and I met with the FIOS installers today. If you're in a multi-unit building, you just have to wait until *they* tell you they're coming out; they want to do all the wiring at once (unlike the ancestors of TW cable in our area, who would install stuff as each unit decided to order); they wire the building for free. A few people in my building had been noodging them on and off for at least two or three years; the company called me a little under a year ago to say they'd be doing our area in second quarter 2010, which has turned out to be true. They contacted me about two weeks to set up today's appointment; I showed them around, they told be a little about the process and said they're ready to start whenever we want; I'm waiting to present the issue to our annual homeowners' meeting next week, though I anticipate no problems.

Then I'll finally free myself from the yoke of Time Warner.

Speaking of which: is there a way to keep one's old email address when switching IPs, which is part of what I'll be doing?
Andy_K is offline  
post #24 of 37 Old 05-27-2010, 03:41 PM
Member
 
A1cntrler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as keeping your old email address, probably not. Maybe you can call your current provider and they will keep it active for you for a fee. I used to do that (AOL to Cox to verizon) and I learned it is a pain. Best thing to do is sign up for a gmail account. When I got my Droid, VZW signed me up for it, and I use it all the time now. Got my wife to switch over as well.
A1cntrler is offline  
post #25 of 37 Old 10-11-2010, 11:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just a quick note regarding KCET, who has decided to break ties with PBS and become an independent station. For more, see the last few days of discussion in LA OTA topic: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=19319744

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #26 of 37 Old 04-04-2011, 08:41 PM
Member
 
Drewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just checked to see if it was there, and it is. Hopefully this will encourage 56 to put on more HD material.

Also, when KDOC adds MeTV (it is expected to do so soon) how long before Verizon lights it up?

BTW: bouncy bouncy as the Verizon thread is nationwide and Los Angeles OTA isn't appropriate (IMHO) for Verizon FiOS talk.

I brought it back to life, keep it fed with posts SoCal party people!
Drewdawg is offline  
post #27 of 37 Old 04-05-2011, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Drewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My post icon tells my opinion. They have been letterboxed for a while now so I think I'm safe to post this to the socal Verizon viewers.

Opinions?

I like it and IMHO it looks better as 720 divides evenly into 360 and not 480.

Now I just need something good to watch on ABC.
Drewdawg is offline  
post #28 of 37 Old 04-11-2011, 11:40 PM
Member
 
Drewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you've wondered what image 1.9 will look like Verizon has taken off the cloak of secrecy in a big way. The FiOS info channel is teaching you everything you would ever want to know about 1.9.

Screen shots & details about the new features are now on.
Drewdawg is offline  
post #29 of 37 Old 07-03-2011, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Drewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It wasn't bad when 460 California Non-Stop went anamorphic as they have nothing but crap (IMHO) but when KNBC went skinnyvision on 4 (KNBC-SD) it started getting annoying.

I'm thinking there are many people annoyed at this, but not as annoyed as they are with Verizon saying it's KNBC's fault and KNBC saying talk to Verizon.

I'm just glad this isn't on a channel I watch regularly.

Update: It's been fixed though I wish they'd letterbox when the show is 16x9. I may have to spring for the HD box.
Drewdawg is offline  
post #30 of 37 Old 07-06-2011, 12:14 AM
Newbie
 
Armysoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So when are we in foisland going to get more hd channels.
Armysoldier is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off