Charlotte NC AT&T U-Verse - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 110 Old 12-01-2013, 07:03 AM
Member
 
W4DXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I noticed they charge $10 a month for HD, do they also charge for the DVR every month like TW does? It's a game, they try to get as much of our money as they can while we try to get their service as cheaply as possible!

The reason why I said I'm happy with Time Warner for the most part is the install is less than stellar. They did it late in the day and just wanted to get home for the night I guess. They installed a phone junction box outside that does nothing. They have 3 short cables that go under the house but are not long enough to go anywhere. They installed an inside phone jack where they modem is and it feeds the other jacks in the house. My phone wires in the house are a bit buggy and need to be redone so I'll fix it all myself when I feel like crawling around under the house. Anyone know where I can get a telephone punch down tool? Might as well use the TW dummy phone box they installed. It's a small house so we have been getting by with just a cordless phone hooked to the back of the modem. Sometimes I wonder why I have a land line at all.
W4DXL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 110 Old 08-15-2016, 10:39 PM
Member
 
W4DXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here we are 3 years later

Well here we are 3 years later and I'm planning on ditching TWC for AT&T U-Verse. It will mean going down in speed to what I had before TWC did the speed increase, which was okay. It will be about $10 a month cheaper for 2 years with more channels. How well does U-Verse work over copper? I'm about .6 miles away from the box so I don't know if I'm on the edge for U-Verse TV.

I notice AT&T is pushing people toward Directv and I don't want to go that route. Satellite TV was a novelty in the '90's but seems way out of date to me now. I didn't like the pixelation from video compression and the rain fade.

Anyone out there with an opinion before I take the plunge?
W4DXL is offline  
post #93 of 110 Old 08-16-2016, 05:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,774
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by W4DXL View Post
Well here we are 3 years later and I'm planning on ditching TWC for AT&T U-Verse. It will mean going down in speed to what I had before TWC did the speed increase, which was okay. It will be about $10 a month cheaper for 2 years with more channels. How well does U-Verse work over copper? I'm about .6 miles away from the box so I don't know if I'm on the edge for U-Verse TV.

I notice AT&T is pushing people toward Directv and I don't want to go that route. Satellite TV was a novelty in the '90's but seems way out of date to me now. I didn't like the pixelation from video compression and the rain fade.

Anyone out there with an opinion before I take the plunge?
I'd say your impression of satellite is about as dated as your post here..
I have Directv, and since they switched to MPEG4 seldom see and compression artifacts and I have a trained eye watching on a 65" plasma. And I seldom see rain fade. It's still the best choice in my opinion.
U-verse for telco/internet is fine, and the 15 mb/s down is fine for me..I'm too far away from the V-rad for video..It's their service and support that needs work based on my experience with two outages in the last year. The left hand CSr's are unaware of what the right hand of repairs/upgrading is doing there. Every time I call they want to replace the modem.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
 
post #94 of 110 Old 08-16-2016, 08:01 AM
Member
 
hamstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Charlotte NC
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 19
AT&T Fiber

As I said in another thread, AT&T is installing fiber in my neighborhood off Carmel Rd. I'm guessing they will be rolling out Directv streaming later this year according to info I have seen. I also have seen info saying no further Uverse development in the works. Not to pile on, but I agree Directv is the best right now. I switched from TWC about 3 years ago. Also I have 50/5 internet from TWC for $39/mo total price. Not bad.
hamstang is offline  
post #95 of 110 Old 08-18-2016, 12:08 AM
Member
 
W4DXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamstang View Post
As I said in another thread, AT&T is installing fiber in my neighborhood off Carmel Rd. I'm guessing they will be rolling out Directv streaming later this year according to info I have seen. I also have seen info saying no further Uverse development in the works. Not to pile on, but I agree Directv is the best right now. I switched from TWC about 3 years ago. Also I have 50/5 internet from TWC for $39/mo total price. Not bad.
Decided to wait for Gigapower or Google Fiber. Plan to switch cancelled. Might be a long wait!

Some things I didn't like about AT&T, hard to reach sometimes. If I really need to, it's nice to go to the TWC store and talk to someone in person. Cable is all they do, no cell phones and no DirecTV. The AT&T store I visited only had cell phones and a small DirecTV display. I will say the AT&T people were always professional and always nice.

I looked up my account at MyATT.com and found conflicting information from what I had agreed upon. Customer service person told me to ignore it and the deal I made was the real deal. I just didn't want to chance it. She said I don't know why they are still doing that. If you're going to lock me into a 1 year agreement better fix it.

Saw that I was only saving about $10 a month. Not enough to risk possible headaches with 18mbps service down from 50-60mbps.

What I don't understand is AT&T already has FTTN so they only need to install fiber to that last mile in many cases. They could beat Google Fiber by months or years. What's the hold up? I know it costs money but they must have deeper pockets than Google.
W4DXL is offline  
post #96 of 110 Old 11-13-2016, 06:04 AM
Member
 
hamstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Charlotte NC
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Gigapower internet installed

AT&T installed Gigapower internet at my house off Carmel Rd Friday. So far, it's all good with around 940 down and up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gigapower.png
Views:	19
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	1767233  
W4DXL likes this.

Last edited by hamstang; 11-13-2016 at 06:07 AM. Reason: Title
hamstang is offline  
post #97 of 110 Old 01-16-2017, 02:52 PM
Member
 
W4DXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who uses Holmes Underground Construction? They are digging and laying orange conduit on the next street from me. Could fiber be coming sooner than I thought? If so, is it AT&T or Google?

Last edited by W4DXL; 01-16-2017 at 10:22 PM.
W4DXL is offline  
post #98 of 110 Old 01-17-2017, 05:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by W4DXL View Post
Who uses Holmes Underground Construction? They are digging and laying orange conduit on the next street from me. Could fiber be coming sooner than I thought? If so, is it AT&T or Google?
That would be AT&T, and I assume you are right off Sharon Rd.?

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #99 of 110 Old 01-17-2017, 06:12 PM
Member
 
hamstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Charlotte NC
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
That would be AT&T, and I assume you are right off Sharon Rd.?
Are any of the many ongoing fiber installations around Charlotte for Google? Seems to me it's all AT&T.
hamstang is offline  
post #100 of 110 Old 01-17-2017, 10:06 PM
Member
 
W4DXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
That would be AT&T, and I assume you are right off Sharon Rd.?
Actually off Idlewild Rd across from Idlewild Elementary.

I had a feeling it would be AT&T. It makes the most sense since they already have some of the infrastructure in place around town. There is a fiber to the curb box in front of the Ashley Apartments. I'm about .6 miles away from it (a pots line box is also there).

Hamstang reported construction 3 months before he got his installed so that's not too long of a wait. Looks like Google Fiber woke up the sleeping giant (AT&T).
W4DXL is offline  
post #101 of 110 Old 01-18-2017, 04:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamstang View Post
Are any of the many ongoing fiber installations around Charlotte for Google? Seems to me it's all AT&T.
Google is doing a revaluation on their construction practices (micro-trenching) and also removing the Prime=Bechtel/S&N and will have a different Engineering group and construction primes.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #102 of 110 Old 01-18-2017, 05:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,774
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 111
hope they don't hit the gas line !

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #103 of 110 Old 01-18-2017, 01:32 PM
Member
 
W4DXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
Google is doing a revaluation on their construction practices (micro-trenching) and also removing the Prime=Bechtel/S&N and will have a different Engineering group and construction primes.
I did some poking around the Google Fiber site and it took me to their Facebook page which invited people to submit a private message if there was any question. I told them about the construction on the next street (I didn't mention who was doing it) and they claimed it was them and that my area is in the pre-construction phase. Nice go get an answer but I don't believe it. I'm inclined to believe you guys that it's AT&T. Either one would be welcome and to have both would be a real hoot!
W4DXL is offline  
post #104 of 110 Old 01-18-2017, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by W4DXL View Post
I did some poking around the Google Fiber site and it took me to their Facebook page which invited people to submit a private message if there was any question. I told them about the construction on the next street (I didn't mention who was doing it) and they claimed it was them and that my area is in the pre-construction phase. Nice go get an answer but I don't believe it. I'm inclined to believe you guys that it's AT&T. Either one would be welcome and to have both would be a real hoot!
W4DXL, I set you a PM

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #105 of 110 Old 01-21-2017, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I have my install going right now, the tech has been trying to make a fiber connector for an hour and it's driving me crazy not to help the guy.
W4DXL likes this.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #106 of 110 Old 01-21-2017, 09:29 PM
Member
 
W4DXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
I have my install going right now, the tech has been trying to make a fiber connector for an hour and it's driving me crazy not to help the guy.
In talking about AT&T Fiber with other folks I am finding that some have trouble and go running back to TWC while others say the TV picture quality is outstanding, much better than TWC (not sure how that can be but okay). I will take a chance I guess provided the price is right. I may or may not get phone since we all have cell phones anyway. I'm just a geezer who has always had a home phone, old habits die hard. I could go to one of those cheap iP phone companies, that's an option.
W4DXL is offline  
post #107 of 110 Old 01-22-2017, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,774
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by W4DXL View Post
I'm just a geezer who has always had a home phone, old habits die hard. I could go to one of those cheap iP phone companies, that's an option.
Same here..however..I never give out my cell phone to anyone other than friends or family. Even then it's limited. To me keeping the home phone for all the telemarketing spam and scams is worth the money. You can then use an old pc with
PhoneTrayPro software to intercept the crap calls. Do you want all that poo coming to your cell phone? Of the few calls
that do get by PhoneTray, I just lead them down the primrose path with bogus information.

Btw, AT&T is one of those who sells your data. So does the Observer and Costco. It's very hard to opt out of these lists,
as they get distributed before you know it's being done.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #108 of 110 Old 01-22-2017, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
Same here..however..I never give out my cell phone to anyone other than friends or family. Even then it's limited. To me keeping the home phone for all the telemarketing spam and scams is worth the money. You can then use an old pc with
PhoneTrayPro software to intercept the crap calls. Do you want all that poo coming to your cell phone? Of the few calls
that do get by PhoneTray, I just lead them down the primrose path with bogus information.

Btw, AT&T is one of those who sells your data. So does the Observer and Costco. It's very hard to opt out of these lists,
as they get distributed before you know it's being done.
Google as well, I wouldn't be surprised others are doing it as well with out disclosure.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #109 of 110 Old 01-22-2017, 03:56 PM
Member
 
W4DXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You know they do! I know that Time Warner does it on their email. The email master account I have gets tons of spam messages. The thing is I have never used the master account address, nor have I ever given it to anyone!
W4DXL is offline  
post #110 of 110 Old 01-23-2017, 10:30 AM
Member
 
W4DXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
I have my install going right now, the tech has been trying to make a fiber connector for an hour and it's driving me crazy not to help the guy.
So how did your install go?
W4DXL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off