Cleveland, OH - HDTV - Page 137 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4081 of 4094 Old 07-09-2014, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
43 was called the block years back, they never keep up likely as OTA has such few viewers... unfortunately the best value in TV is free for the asking, yet no one seems to want it.
I remember 43 (main) as "The Block" between 2002-2005ish. They actually brought the branding back a few years ago as "My 43 The Block". What I was saying was that I never heard of The Block as a subchannel. Perhaps it was suppose to be some kind of independent channel like 55.2?

Toledo, Canton & Youngstown markets have a soft AC station. Cleveland, home of the Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame, does not...
Bring Back Soft Rock 102.1 WDOK
snowdog 88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4082 of 4094 Old 07-10-2014, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by NintendoManiac64 View Post
Just an FYI, that OTA audio problem I was having has been getting more frequent (and yes I did a complete reset of settings, unplugged it, etc), but my father didn't make it clear to me that it only happens when changing the channel or changing the input to antenna. Also it occurs only an hour or two after the TV is on, so more and more it seems like it's a case of the the dolby digital decoder overheating or something - I want to try plugging in a Blu-ray player directly into the TV and see if it does the same thing when decoding a Blu-ray with dolby digital audio.


Off topic:



Uhh....

I hate to break it to you, but I think you have an incorrect impression of the situation, and that could easily be part of the issue here. Open the below spoiler tag for more info.




Why would you ever need to do this? The web browser is seperate from the operating system itself, and Win7 only by default comes with IE8 but supports up to the newest IE11. Not only that, but 3rd party browsers like Chrome, Opera, and Firefox (along with its derivatives like Pale Moon) can be completely independent of the operating system to the point that there are portable versions available that can just live on a USB flash drive or a secondary hard drive/partition that's separate from your OS.


For the last 5 years, content running via flash player has become less and less of a thing due to flash being unsupported on iOS devices and on newer versions of Android; heck I actually browse the internet with my browser's flash plugin turned off. The thing is, browsers newer than 5 years old support two technologies called HTML5 and CSS3 that can largely replace the need for a 3rd party plugin like flash player which greatly helps support for compatibility along with browser stability and security (flash is by far the #1 source of web browser issues).


There are two addons for Chrome and Firefox (along with its derivatives like Pale Moon) that can automatically block webpage ads - Adblock Edge and Adblock Plus. Their functionality is essentually identical, though Plus allows what it calls "unobtrusive ads" by default while Edge blocks everything it knows of.



HTML5 is not flair (though CSS3 is more flair-like however). For example, without HTML5, you flat-out cannot play the following format on a web page:


That file however, works in any modern version of Opera, Chrome, and Firefox (along with its derivatives) and will likely be supported in a future version of IE since it was actually partly developed by Microsoft themselves.

The thing is, that Opus file really has no replacement - it does things that no single other pre-existing format can do:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:O...comparison.svg


Somewhat on topic as it relates to this site, ty for the insight, likely the technology has evolved way past me, I get a nag box in the bottom corner encouraging me to upgrade to Chrome, now an aditional popup box behind that one "Happy Texting" from Sprint. I'm not of the age of smart phones, texting, Ipads ect, the software once worked & worked well here, so why change it?

Understand the browser is seperate of the OS, but much software is no longer compatible with the older OS's as you explained. I still have a laptop with XP, & a machine with actually an older OS. I just detest the new Aero interfaces, & really don't want them.... even if it means not using a PC.

I guess I'm strange, not trashing perfectly good items that work (ie durable goods, electronics, software ect) for something more complicated, that will frustrate me furtherr along than I already am, cheaper non robust items that are prone to glitches & breakdowns... & then feeling good about my decisions!

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
I remember 43 (main) as "The Block" between 2002-2005ish. They actually brought the branding back a few years ago as "My 43 The Block". What I was saying was that I never heard of The Block as a subchannel. Perhaps it was suppose to be some kind of independent channel like 55.2?
Whoever wrote that likely hadn't watched local TV in a while, but why, where there is such great selection on pay TV ... Me thinks they confused Bounce with Block then!

Come to think of it, is 55.2 an indy or as close as we have in the area?

Last edited by Bismarck440; 07-10-2014 at 12:46 PM.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4083 of 4094 Old 07-10-2014, 12:47 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Chrome, Opera, Firefox (and its derivatives like Pale Moon) all work on XP. Also, Chrome and Firefox (don't know about Opera) have automatic background updating which eliminates the "nag" screens and popups saying to update (Pale Moon has this function as well but it's somewhat broken by default unless you manually change some things)

And regarding Aero, you can disable that. Alternatively you can keep Aero enabled but disable transparency.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #4084 of 4094 Old 07-10-2014, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Personally I would recommend using Firefox with the Adblock Plus add-on, both free though Adblock Plus does ask for a small donation. No ads means faster load times, less clutter on websites and safer browsing as it greatly reduces the risk of ransomware.

Also, there appears to be a bug in the vB software. I posted the other day but could not view my post. Tried again and it told me that a duplicate posts already exists. Apparently my post ended up on the next page, but vB didn't want to show me the next page just for one post. Bismarck, since you posted after me and quoted my post, I take it that you were able to see it.

Toledo, Canton & Youngstown markets have a soft AC station. Cleveland, home of the Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame, does not...
Bring Back Soft Rock 102.1 WDOK
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4085 of 4094 Old 07-10-2014, 08:48 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
If Pale Moon's auto-update function would work correctly by default, then I'd definitely recommend that over Firefox since it retains a more traditional user interface by default and has major updates at considerably wider intervals (about 1 year) while still receiving regular security updates.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #4086 of 4094 Old Yesterday, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
Also, there appears to be a bug in the vB software. I posted the other day but could not view my post. Tried again and it told me that a duplicate posts already exists. Apparently my post ended up on the next page, but vB didn't want to show me the next page just for one post. Bismarck, since you posted after me and quoted my post, I take it that you were able to see it.
I note the counter is off, Sometimes I quote copy & re-quote another post to keep the board cleaner. I note the post counter drifts off on here too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NintendoManiac64 View Post
Chrome, Opera, Firefox (and its derivatives like Pale Moon) all work on XP. Also, Chrome and Firefox (don't know about Opera) have automatic background updating which eliminates the "nag" screens and popups saying to update (Pale Moon has this function as well but it's somewhat broken by default unless you manually change some things)

And regarding Aero, you can disable that. Alternatively you can keep Aero enabled but disable transparency.
I may install that Pale Moon on my laptop once I get it back to where I want it, but again my OS's on my main machine are so old, newer browsers can't be installed, as for this machine, not mine & therefore I will not install anything on it. My Vista Machine has locked me out of administrator priviliges, thus can't do many things on it... HP & Vista Giving you control of the PC!?!?... yeah right!!

I have Aero disabled on 7, but I think that you are forced to it on Vista & 8, I resisted a cell phone till mid 2012, If I have to 'upgrade' to one of these smart touch screens, I'll just not have it anymore.

BTW... no fireup date on 61-2 & 43-3, as they are set to start 8/18?
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4087 of 4094 Old Yesterday, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
Free TV is also available if you set up your own satellite dish to receive unencrypted broadcasts. The only problem is that most of it is religious and foreign language programs. Right now, I have a small dish pointing at the Hispasat satellite located at 30 degrees longitude so I can watch a bunch of Spanish channels from Cuba and South America. I'm trying to learn to speak Spanish. It seems like Spanish programming is becoming more widely available with local channels like Ve-Me, Univision, and the appearance of La Mega 87.7.
Remem the FTA area of the thread, I see a few people mounting dishes on trees, that feasable & you still have to have a clear shot SW for this area?

I'm taking this here is pie in the sky?

http://www.satpro.tv/Complete-FTA-Sa...FbRj7Aodx3IABw

Would I ve able to get any Networks? (I assume just PBS, like SC Educational TV) .
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4088 of 4094 Old Yesterday, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
BTW... no fireup date on 61-2 & 43-3, as they are set to start 8/18?
WQHS will probably wait until the last minute to activate 62.2. WUAB maybe sooner as I remember seeing a test pattern on 43.3 when it was first activated for This TV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
Remem the FTA area of the thread, I see a few people mounting dishes on trees, that feasable & you still have to have a clear shot SW for this area?

I'm taking this here is pie in the sky?

http://www.satpro.tv/Complete-FTA-Sa...FbRj7Aodx3IABw

Would I ve able to get any Networks? (I assume just PBS, like SC Educational TV) .
From what I hear, mostly religious and foreign networks. I've also heard (though not confirmed) that you can pickup some diginet feeds such as Me-TV and This TV.

Toledo, Canton & Youngstown markets have a soft AC station. Cleveland, home of the Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame, does not...
Bring Back Soft Rock 102.1 WDOK
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4089 of 4094 Old Yesterday, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
On FTA satellite, the only American network channels you can watch that aren't scrambled are the PBS stations at 125 degrees west longitude. That means, if you have a clear view looking southwest, you're good for 125 degrees west... Create, PBS East, PBS West, OETA (Oklahoma), and Montana PBS. The satellites are typically 20-45 degrees above the horizon here in Ohio.

At 87 degrees west, you can watch Louisiana PBS and its subchannel LPB2. I think the Pentagon Channel is at 101 degrees west. The English version of the Chinese CCTV is on 95 west. RT news (RT) is on 97 west. I think Retro TV is still on 83 west. There's some NBC feeds on 72 west, but to get all these channels at different satellites, you would need a motorized dish.

Last I checked, Me-TV and This TV are on C-band, which means you need one of those ridiculously large dishes to receive these. Another important fact if you're considering it... you need a receiver capable of DVB-S2 if you want to watch the PBS channels.
Andrew K is offline  
post #4090 of 4094 Old Yesterday, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WEAO/49 is off, entirely.
Inundated is online now  
post #4091 of 4094 Old Yesterday, 07:18 PM
Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CFPL briefly received

At around 10:05 PM, WOIO (RF 10) went off the air for about 1 minute, in its place suddenly appeared CFPL 10.1 (and the virtual channel display changed from 19 to 10). It was rock solid, no breakups at all (and I'm 25 miles south of the lake shore). It suddenly dissapeared, and WOIO was back.

Surprised it would be so strong. There doesn't seem to be much tropo tonight - none of the usual tropo suspects are there (WFXP, WJET, WKBN, WTOL, etc.).
nsa1062 is offline  
post #4092 of 4094 Old Yesterday, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inundated View Post
WEAO/49 is off, entirely.
No 49 for me either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
At around 10:05 PM, WOIO (RF 10) went off the air for about 1 minute, in its place suddenly appeared CFPL 10.1 (and the virtual channel display changed from 19 to 10). It was rock solid, no breakups at all (and I'm 25 miles south of the lake shore). It suddenly dissapeared, and WOIO was back.

Surprised it would be so strong. There doesn't seem to be much tropo tonight - none of the usual tropo suspects are there (WFXP, WJET, WKBN, WTOL, etc.).
I'm getting a somewhat degraded signal of WOIO as of now. No breakups, just a lower than normal bar on the signal strength meter. Definitely a sign of CFPL interference. As I noted earlier, WOIO (RF10) has been randomly going off air lately for a few minutes. Usually I don't see any indication that CFPL would be receivable. Had I caught it at the time while you were watching, I would probably seen at least a blip from CFPL. (My antenna is not aimed to the north).

EDIT: Is WCDN off the air also? I'm not even getting anything on their RF channel.

Toledo, Canton & Youngstown markets have a soft AC station. Cleveland, home of the Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame, does not...
Bring Back Soft Rock 102.1 WDOK

Last edited by snowdog 88; Yesterday at 08:20 PM.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4093 of 4094 Old Yesterday, 08:46 PM
Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still, why would a Big-4 network affiliate be given such a poor assignment by the FCC (and originally 3.5 kW to boot), with all the religious, infomercial, and other minor stations being given prime UHF assignments with decent power levels and sufficient spacing to co-channel stations. Or was it just assumed that WOIO would be able to go back to 19 (i.e. that WFMJ would not end up on 20) with a decent power level?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael P 2341
I wonder who at the FCC thought Ch. 10 was viable for Cleveland?
Computer software did
- Trip

Last edited by nsa1062; Yesterday at 08:51 PM.
nsa1062 is offline  
post #4094 of 4094 Old Yesterday, 10:41 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
I may install that Pale Moon on my laptop once I get it back to where I want it
Since I've determined that my OTA audio issues seem to not be related to the actual OTA signals, I'm going to unsubscribe from following this thread. Therefore feel free to shoot me a PM if you have any questions, issues, etc regarding web browser stuff. Pale Moon-wise, you can also ask on the Pale Moon forum, the main developer is a nice guy.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off