Cleveland, OH - HDTV - Page 139 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 127Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4141 of 5520 Old 08-07-2014, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv_junkie87 View Post
Same here! Here in Dallas, TX, I get Bounce on KDFI 27-3 (moving to KUVN 23-2 soon) and saw both Blues Brothers movies as well!

Haunted Mansion? YUCK! To me (and hopefully others), Disney jumped the shark in June 2002! Nothing against the Pirates and Mansion rides (or the Parks themselves), just the movies inspired by them. HOWEVER, Bounce did play a vintage Disney title, The Devil and Max Devlin with Bill Cosby, back in July (plus WB's Space Jam)!

So any family film fans and Live Well bashers here? Maybe contact Disney-ABC and see if they can create a retro Disney/retro ABC network in place of Live Well nationally! You never know; the stations seem to be finding gold in airing classic channels!

dtv_junkie87
Agreed. IMO, that "Disney Magic" faded after Lilo & Stitch in 2002. Everything now is CGI, cheaply made, or is tied into Disney Channel's/Radio Disney's actors & artists. I'm surprised they haven't released another Air Buddies sequel recently. And yes, Space Jam! I knew there was something I forgot to list.

As for a retro ABC/Disney network, I don't think that will ever happen, and if it does, it will likely end up on cable. I would like to see some TV shows like Home Improvement, Step By Step, Full House, Family Matters etc. on MeTV/AntennaTV, but they are (a)to new and (b)all under an exclusive contract with ABC Family. I've always wished for an OTA cartoon network (not affiliated with Cartoon Network) that plays cartoons from the 70's up to 2000. The problem is that many cartoons are not available. Then you got advertisers that may not sponsor the shows and that stupid E/I requirement. I did like most of the cartoons that were on This TV, which were owned by Cookie Jar consisting of their own productions as well as acquired Cinar and DIC. The toons ended when This TV was sold to Tribune in November 2013. Qubo is somewhat getting better as they been adding shows aimed towards older kids, but they don't put much effort or money into the network. Each show has 1 lame promo and episodes are very limited, repeating almost every week. I remember watching The Magic School Bus (one of my childhood favorites) on Qubo a few years ago and most of the episodes were from season 1. Every week the stupid bus got lost in space. Out of 52 episodes, the same 13 were played over and over again for a year until Qubo removed the series. They probably bought enough episodes to meet the minimum E/I requirements.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4142 of 5520 Old 08-07-2014, 09:18 AM
Member
 
dtv_junkie87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
Agreed. IMO, that "Disney Magic" faded after Lilo & Stitch in 2002. Everything now is CGI, cheaply made, or is tied into Disney Channel's/Radio Disney's actors & artists. I'm surprised they haven't released another Air Buddies sequel recently. And yes, Space Jam! I knew there was something I forgot to list.

As for a retro ABC/Disney network, I don't think that will ever happen, and if it does, it will likely end up on cable. I would like to see some TV shows like Home Improvement, Step By Step, Full House, Family Matters etc. on MeTV/AntennaTV, but they are (a)to new and (b)all under an exclusive contract with ABC Family. I've always wished for an OTA cartoon network (not affiliated with Cartoon Network) that plays cartoons from the 70's up to 2000. The problem is that many cartoons are not available. Then you got advertisers that may not sponsor the shows and that stupid E/I requirement. I did like most of the cartoons that were on This TV, which were owned by Cookie Jar consisting of their own productions as well as acquired Cinar and DIC. The toons ended when This TV was sold to Tribune in November 2013. Qubo is somewhat getting better as they been adding shows aimed towards older kids, but they don't put much effort or money into the network. Each show has 1 lame promo and episodes are very limited, repeating almost every week. I remember watching The Magic School Bus (one of my childhood favorites) on Qubo a few years ago and most of the episodes were from season 1. Every week the stupid bus got lost in space. Out of 52 episodes, the same 13 were played over and over again for a year until Qubo removed the series. They probably bought enough episodes to meet the minimum E/I requirements.
Well, if Disney-ABC surprises us with a replacement, it would still be pretty cool. It doesn't necessarily have to be an all-cartoon channel, but if such a network went on the air, I would expect mostly live-action classic Disney flix (think: 50s to 70s), some ABC movies-of-the-week (Brian's Song, The Boy in the Plastic Bubble, etc.), and maybe even reruns of old ABC soaps! As for E/I, it can't be that hard; maybe show some Bill Nye reruns instead of pre-packaged material for a change! I mean, some people here talk about COZI TV; both COZI and NBC are owned by Comcast. So you'll never know, Disney-ABC could emulate NBC's subchannel success with COZI and start another old channel of their own!

Again, no hard feelings. Just my $0.02.

dtv_junkie87
dtv_junkie87 is offline  
post #4143 of 5520 Old 08-07-2014, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 61
My thoughts also, Disney is in it for the $$, & the general public are very willing to pay a premium for Disney Programming content & advertising too. Good idea, but it would more likely end up on cable.

Gee if NBC is owned by Comcast, surprised they wouldn't shut down all the affiliates & strictly go to cable.... better not give them any ideas.

I have the original Blues Brothers & TGIF on DVD, but speaking of Disney & DVD's if you want to see a really strange movie, rent Escape from Tomorrow!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2187884/

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
American Idol needs to go! I'm not going to mention all the other reality shows that need to be canceled.

I know people over 60 that won't let go of cable/satellite, even though the channels that they watch are those of broadcast stations. I've been trying to get them to move to OTA so they can save some money.
Apparently Americans like to see others shamed & humiliated, & find it entertaining, the whole basis of reality based TV, guess I'm different. I did enjoy the COPS series though. I think most of that reality TV is scripted anyway.

I too find it strange, anyone with premium cable packages seem to only talk about Network shows anyway... one person claimed 'they don't watch much TV', yet they have it all. (??)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJkizak View Post
I never had a need for a cell phone. Have no one to call. No one to text. I don't really need to call anyone or text anyone. I would have to use glasses to read anything on the viewfinder even with the latest 800 dollar units. The buttons are way too small, my thumb covers three buttons. I don't even know how to turn on or operate a cell phone and I have had extensive schooling in electronics. To me they are just toys.
JJK
I could never get a dial tone on it! Seriously I lost most of my friendships in Cuyahoga County due to the fact I moved a half mile into the long distance zone, thus have less & less need for communications... blame it on Ohio Bell!

Last edited by Bismarck440; 08-07-2014 at 10:19 AM.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4144 of 5520 Old 08-08-2014, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 37
WQHS/61.4 lit up today. They are currently running an Escape logo loop.

Seems like the .2 sub is still reserved for a Univision O&O network or service.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4145 of 5520 Old 08-08-2014, 09:15 AM
Member
 
muzzymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
WQHS/61.4 lit up today. They are currently running an Escape logo loop.

Seems like the .2 sub is still reserved for a Univision O&O network or service.
What's going on with 61.1? Every time I tune to it on either of my two TiVos, I receive a black screen. I can view 61.3 just fine.
muzzymate is offline  
post #4146 of 5520 Old 08-08-2014, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
WQHS/61.4 lit up today. They are currently running an Escape logo loop.

Seems like the .2 sub is still reserved for a Univision O&O network or service.
Must just happened, it wasn't on at 4am or 7am.... was waiting for that.

66.1 was in this AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by muzzymate View Post
What's going on with 61.1? Every time I tune to it on either of my two TiVos, I receive a black screen. I can view 61.3 just fine.
Something strange with the decoding, it moved itself on one of my sets to 34.3 when 61.3 lit up.

Even stranger, 61.1 vanished from the set, the ONLY way to get rid of a channel on that set is with a complete rescan.

Last edited by Bismarck440; 08-08-2014 at 09:52 AM.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4147 of 5520 Old 08-10-2014, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
coldwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...2vRCC5VoWn9R7A

Looks like more Sony - Columbia Studios based programming.
coldwar is offline  
post #4148 of 5520 Old 08-11-2014, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
JJkizak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TWINSBURG, OHIO
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldwar View Post
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...2vRCC5VoWn9R7A

Looks like more Sony - Columbia Studios based programming.
I just love the squashed aspect on 61.4. Yuk.
JJK
JJkizak is offline  
post #4149 of 5520 Old 08-11-2014, 05:12 PM
Member
 
OTA Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Euclid, OH
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldwar View Post
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...2vRCC5VoWn9R7A

Looks like more Sony - Columbia Studios based programming.
According to their Facebook page, Escape TV and Grit TV will be launching on Monday, August 18th, channels 61.4 and 43.3 respectively.

http://tvbythenumbers.zap2it.com/201...y-heat/292129/
OTA Newbie is offline  
post #4150 of 5520 Old 08-11-2014, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA Newbie View Post
According to their Facebook page, Escape TV and Grit TV will be launching on Monday, August 18th, channels 61.4 and 43.3 respectively.

http://tvbythenumbers.zap2it.com/201...y-heat/292129/
Escape is already up and running on 61.4.
Gary16 is offline  
post #4151 of 5520 Old 08-11-2014, 06:04 PM
Member
 
OTA Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Euclid, OH
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary16 View Post
Escape is already up and running on 61.4.
Are they actually airing shows yet? Haven't checked it out today and right now hubby has a Star Trek DVD going.

On edit - never mind; turned off DVD and sure enough, EscapeTV is up and running, complete with the all the usual crappy sub-channel commercials!

Last edited by OTA Newbie; 08-11-2014 at 06:13 PM. Reason: Change
OTA Newbie is offline  
post #4152 of 5520 Old 08-11-2014, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJkizak View Post
I just love the squashed aspect on 61.4. Yuk.
JJK
I wonder if they will change the picture format to 16:9 if the network plans on broadcasting in widescreen? Seems unnecessary to letterbox as more people upgrade to HDTV.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4153 of 5520 Old 08-11-2014, 07:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I hear they're actually feeding it in 1080i on satellite and then down-converting at the station end, much like how Heartland and Live Well are provided in 720p and then down-converted at the end.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #4154 of 5520 Old 08-12-2014, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Seemed like Escape was showing some kind of film (in flatvision on my 4:3) then went into a promo loop.

Surprised 43.4 not on, are any of the Grit affiliates lit up?

http://www.grittv.com/tv-schedule/

http://www.escapetv.com/tv-schedule/

Last edited by Bismarck440; 08-12-2014 at 09:43 AM.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4155 of 5520 Old 08-12-2014, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 37
GRIT and ESCAPE are launching in the Toledo market on WTOL/11.3 and WUPW/36.3 respectively. I was able to receive WTOL last week but saw no .3 subchannel. Perhaps Raycom will light up the GRIT/ESCAPE subchannel at the same time on their stations.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4156 of 5520 Old 08-13-2014, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Does anyone have any idea why 61.2 is still unused? Could this be reserved for a Spanish language network like UniMás? And if so, I'm wondering why it's taking so long to fill that empty channel. Another Spanish channel would be nice. It helps to learn the language.
Andrew K is offline  
post #4157 of 5520 Old 08-13-2014, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
bassguitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is channel 19 still having issues
It died last night for me in Copley
Dave
bassguitarman is offline  
post #4158 of 5520 Old 08-13-2014, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassguitarman View Post
Is channel 19 still having issues
It died last night for me in Copley
Dave
Don't you have a repeater down there that delivers WOIO reliabily?

Probably Tropo again 19 was giving me pixilation issues yeaterday.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4159 of 5520 Old 08-13-2014, 09:57 AM
Senior Member
 
bassguitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I do not pick up the repeater
My antenna is aimed north
Dave
bassguitarman is offline  
post #4160 of 5520 Old 08-13-2014, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassguitarman View Post
I do not pick up the repeater
My antenna is aimed north
Dave
You live in Copley and you don't pick up the repeater? You could probably receive the repeater with a paper clip. The transmitter is practically IN Copley. I live in Copley and can receive the repeater no matter where my antenna is pointed.
Andrew K is offline  
post #4161 of 5520 Old 08-13-2014, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassguitarman View Post
I do not pick up the repeater
My antenna is aimed north
Dave
Does your TV/digital converter box allow you to view the physical RF channel of a station?

RF 10 - WOIO's full power signal from Parma.
RF 24 - WOIO's low-power repeater from Akron on the WVPX/23 tower.

Some TV's can accept the RF channel when keyed in on the remote and will automatically redirect you based on the station's PSIP. So for example, if you enter 15.1 on your remote, it will take you to 5.1. entering 28.1 will take you to 43.1.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4162 of 5520 Old 08-13-2014, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 37
A bit off topic here...

I just read on the "other forum" that Radio Disney is selling off all their O&O stations except for the one in Los Angeles, which I believe is their flagship station.

So who will buy WWMK/1260 here in Cleveland? It's expected to go silent around September 26.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4163 of 5520 Old 08-14-2014, 03:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 37
At this moment, there is no program on Get-TV (61.3) and EscaPe (61.4). Just a blank screen. My signal is strong. Maintenance?




.

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.1.19. Windows7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop Computer.
ClearStream-4 Antenna, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague - Poorly made caps)
, Philips 3576H DVR, Philips 19PFL3403D TV.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #4164 of 5520 Old 08-14-2014, 07:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
At this moment, there is no program on Get-TV (61.3) and EscaPe (61.4). Just a blank screen. My signal is strong. Maintenance?

Their satellite is either down or there's an equipment malfunction.

Talking about malfunction, 19.2 had a pretty pink screen for 20 minutes... Again! Always seems to happen after the weekday rope opera promo plays.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4165 of 5520 Old 08-14-2014, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post

Talking about malfunction, 19.2 had a pretty pink screen for 20 minutes...



Pink screen for TWENTY minutes? Wow. Never seen that one before.

Is that video breakup that happens with MeTV the network or at Cleveland's end? It is not the long, blank blackout like before, but a video 'stutter' thing.

Also, with my setup of the ClearStream4 in my closet, still no TV8 to this day, other than a few minutes of a signal here and there. I know the CS4 is really a UHF-only antenna. I wish this antenna would have VHF also - like the CS2V or the add-on kit.

My DigitalStream box pulls in RF8 at about 0 to 15 on the meter. With this box, I need a steady 35+ for any stable reception. Will TV8 ever go back to UHF in this century?

Ever since they lit up RF24 (TV19), the signal has been pretty good a high percentage of the time.

90%+ of the time, I do not get RF10.




.

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.1.19. Windows7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop Computer.
ClearStream-4 Antenna, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague - Poorly made caps)
, Philips 3576H DVR, Philips 19PFL3403D TV.

Last edited by CleCakYngMfd; 08-29-2014 at 06:42 AM. Reason: Changed Quoted Text Color
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #4166 of 5520 Old 08-14-2014, 07:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Pink screen for TWENTY minutes? Wow. Never seen that one before.

Is that video breakup that happens with MeTV the network or at Cleveland's end? It is not the long, blank blackout like before, but a video 'stutter' thing.
I've seen the pink screen (once a grayish white) appear within the last few days. After a few minutes it would go to black followed by audio and the picture would then come back with heavy static that slowly fades away. Today at 10 AM it was stuck and required someone at the station to fix it. At first I thought it was a network issue, but now it appears to be an issue at WOIO. Apparently WOIO is covering up the Andy Griffith promos since I always see the first 2 seconds of it before another Me-TV promo takes it's place. At the end of the cover up the automation fails to return back to the network and crashes with a solid color screen. I think Andy Griffith will not be airing on 19.2 this fall since it airs weekly at 4 PM on WBNX 55.2. I hope that they don't place infomercials or a replay of the news in it's place.

As for the long blackouts on 19.2, it's WOIO. When it happens, I check 19.1 to make sure the signal is still there, and it is. It's like the master control for 19.2 just takes a brief timeout. It doesn't seem to be as bad as it once was.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4167 of 5520 Old 08-14-2014, 11:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post

As for the long blackouts on 19.2, it's WOIO. When it happens, I check 19.1 to make sure the signal is still there, and it is. It's like the master control for 19.2 just takes a brief timeout. It doesn't seem to be as bad as it once was.

Yeah, the signal was there, it just was a long blackout of content. If it was long enough, up pops the slide, "We are Experiencing Technical Difficulties...". I think they adjusted for that and we now see the 'stuttering' video with intact audio. Sort of like, they backed off the blackout 'mute' or 'squelch' or something, I guess. What the problem is and why it is not or can't be fixed, I do not know.




.

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.1.19. Windows7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop Computer.
ClearStream-4 Antenna, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague - Poorly made caps)
, Philips 3576H DVR, Philips 19PFL3403D TV.

Last edited by CleCakYngMfd; 08-29-2014 at 06:40 AM. Reason: Changed Quoted Text Color
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #4168 of 5520 Old 08-15-2014, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
A bit off topic here...

I just read on the "other forum" that Radio Disney is selling off all their O&O stations except for the one in Los Angeles, which I believe is their flagship station.

So who will buy WWMK/1260 here in Cleveland? It's expected to go silent around September 26.
Bring WIXY back?!?! I'm having a flashback from Nam..... crawling through the rice paddys with tracers going over my head!

BOT, no sign of Grit or 43.3 being lit up & it's getting close. I guess WBTV says Grit will not be on for several weeks due to infostructure issues, wonder if that's everywhere?

Last edited by Bismarck440; 08-15-2014 at 10:05 AM.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4169 of 5520 Old 08-15-2014, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
Bring WIXY back?!?! I'm having a flashback from Nam..... crawling through the rice paddys with tracers going over my head!
I would like an oldies format (50's 60's & some 70's) to land on 1260, similar to what WAKR 1590 had before dumping it for talk. Probably won't happen. It's bond to become a religious or talk/sports format.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
BOT, no sign of Grit or 43.3 being lit up & it's getting close. I guess WBTV says Grit will not be on for several weeks due to infostructure issues, wonder if that's everywhere?
43.3 lit up sometime today prior to your post. (I found it around 12:30 PM). No image, no sound & the description says "GritTV coming soon". I also noticed that 43.3 is set to 16x9. I wonder if Univision will do the same for Escape as I take it that both networks will mostly air widescreen programming.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #4170 of 5520 Old 08-15-2014, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post

43.3 lit up sometime today . . . No image, no sound & the description says "GritTV Coming Soon".


I just checked. Ah, there it is, with a signal from WUAB of 90 on my converter box. (Just saw the WUAB ID at about 10:03pm)











GritTV Coming Soon








.



- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.1.19. Windows7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop Computer.
ClearStream-4 Antenna, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague - Poorly made caps)
, Philips 3576H DVR, Philips 19PFL3403D TV.

Last edited by CleCakYngMfd; 08-29-2014 at 06:38 AM. Reason: Clarity of some info. / Changed Quoted Text Color
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off