Cleveland, OH - HDTV - Page 141 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4201 of 4212 Old Yesterday, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 30 miles South of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post

On my Sony, the audio on "Grit" is at least 1/2 second out of sync with the video.


I think I 'hear' that, too - however, the stinking video is so unsteady and crappy - it is amazing it is still a problem and has not been fixed yet.

I may unhook my converter box and connect it directly to my Philips TV (19") to check if the audio is ok. I have no audio on my Sony DVR (DHG250). I should hook the antenna directly the Vizio and check it, too.





.

- Pj
2013 Vizio M-Series M401i-A3 (40-inch) TV. The Latest Firmware on my TV: V1.34.31.0080. The M401i-A3 Thread. My Latest Settings (For the A3 Panel).
The Vizio M-Series Razor Thread covers all Models 2013 & 2014. I have a ClearStream-4 connected to a DTX9950 to the Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local Cable to RF-In. I have Win7 Pro and FireFox 31.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4202 of 4212 Old Yesterday, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
The 'Grit' logo/ID should be translucent. I do not like in-your-face, solid, bold and/or colored 'bugs' sitting on the picture. It has gotten worse over the years. Some of them are quite large, too.
Tell that to WBNX! I remember back in 2005 they had a giant WB bug that took up almost 1/4 of the screen and it wasn't transparent, and no, it wasn't the typical hourly id bug. Then came the E/I requirement where a show had to always show "E/I" and WBNX slapped a huge combination WBNX-WB-E/I bug right over it so that viewers wouldn't see two bugs on the screen. They don't seem to cover up the E/I bug anymore with their own. Instead, there are two E/I bugs on the screen, one on the program and one integrated in the WBNX CW bug.

I always hated the Fox 8 News bug. I don't like bugs that are animated. They were bugless prior to the new set/graphics in 2007.

In today's world, we have even more bugs cluttering up the screen and burning into our plasma displays. Continuous network ads (thanks to DVR's) and useless Twitter hashtags, which are usually the name of the show with a # at the beginning and no spaces. For a long time I couldn't figure out was those things were since I don't Twitter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
On my Sony, the audio on "Grit" is at least 1/2 second out of sync with the video.
Noticed that too on my Zenith converter box. My main HDTV still has no audio from them.

It's not NEW anymore!!! Bring Back Soft Rock 102.1 WDOK

Last edited by snowdog 88; Yesterday at 08:52 AM.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4203 of 4212 Old Yesterday, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
I think I 'hear' that, too - however, the stinking video is so unsteady and crappy - it is amazing it is still a problem and has not been fixed yet.
I would get in contact with WUAB and send them a message about the picture shuddering and audio being out-of-sync on 43.3. WOIO/WUAB gives me the impression that it isn't broke unless someone complains. Engineering must quickly look at the outgoing broadcasts every hour and as long as there's picture & sound then everything is OK. They don't watch it long enough to to catch minor things like glitches in the automation system. I've sent e-mails to them recently regarding 19.2 because automation of the hourly ID & commercials were off by 2 seconds, clipping programming. Last year the hourly ID on 19.2 got crippled and it was like that for over 3 months until I sent an e-mail describing the issue. In a day or so, the problem was corrected, though they replaced the then-current ID with an older version.

It's not NEW anymore!!! Bring Back Soft Rock 102.1 WDOK
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4204 of 4212 Old Yesterday, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Ok, a John Wayne movie just ended on GrimeTV and it looked fine in 16x9. I guess movies that are not widescreen are being forced (stretched) into the 16x9 format, like the now running B&W movie that just started as I'm typing this. At least I have some control on how to view it: The Anamorphic setting seems to look ok. The 14x9 setting chops off some of the left and right image.

The 'Grit' logo/ID should be translucent. I do not like in-your-face, solid, bold and/or colored 'bugs' sitting on the picture. It has gotten worse over the years. Some of them are quite large, too.

GruntTV still is doing the Shudder-Stutter dance.

.
I likely was watching that same movie & had to take the 4:3 out of squeeze, & looked fine, movie on Escape looked great too... then around 2 am a movie with Michael Mckean was on Escape & back in the squished mode, guess it depends on the content, commercials are windowframed on my 4:3.

I'm not picking up juddering, more prevalant on a LCD than a CRT?
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4205 of 4212 Old Yesterday, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Oh my! Link hijacking! That dreaded 'VigLink'! I had navigation difficulties with that stinking VIGLINK crap!

All I put up was a direct link to Amazon. How that gets 'hijacked' into taking you to Walmart is cRaZy!

Just one more reason why I switched to FireFox and installed the Add-On, "AdBlock Plus" program.

.
Ha, just one ore reason why I think I should be paid to browse the internet instead of me paying for ISP service!

I don't buy anything over the internet anyway... jokes on them!
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4206 of 4212 Old Yesterday, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
JJkizak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TWINSBURG, OHIO
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Channel 43.3 was fine with the John Wayne movie but not with the others that were 4 x 3 stretched out. I have two independent settings in my Sony that adjust the (automatic) normal 720/1080i 16 x 9 channels and another (automatic) that adjusts the 480i 16 x 9 settings. 49.3 works just fine. 43.3 is stretched when showing 4 x 3 stuff. 61.4 is ok also so far. As soon as I see the stretchovision I change the channel.
JJK
JJkizak is offline  
post #4207 of 4212 Old Yesterday, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
wd8kct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wd8kct is online now  
post #4208 of 4212 Old Yesterday, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 30 miles South of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Talking In The Kitchen with Channel Master...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wd8kct View Post

Channel Master Introduces $10 Antenna With Free Shipping

Such a deal!





Other than being practically next to a tower, this thing is just an over-sized spatula for most people. Anyone for pancakes?





.

- Pj
2013 Vizio M-Series M401i-A3 (40-inch) TV. The Latest Firmware on my TV: V1.34.31.0080. The M401i-A3 Thread. My Latest Settings (For the A3 Panel).
The Vizio M-Series Razor Thread covers all Models 2013 & 2014. I have a ClearStream-4 connected to a DTX9950 to the Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local Cable to RF-In. I have Win7 Pro and FireFox 31.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #4209 of 4212 Old Today, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yes 43.3 is showing older 4:3 movies stretched out, I have a squeeze mode on my Zenith 901, but don't have this feature on my 16:9, I think Escape is also doing on some movies, but not being able to either squeeze or adjust the Ratio, I can't correct it via the set.

Still not able to get 61 with the Rabbit Ears, only 43 & on very rare occasions 5. What is strange I get a 4 out of 10 bar signal on 43. 61 was the strongest & most reliable, yet does not make it in the house with the rabbit ears.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4210 of 4212 Old Today, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 30 miles South of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post

Still not able to get 61 with the Rabbit Ears, only 43 and on very rare occasions, 5.

What is strange I get a 4 out of 10 bar signal on 43.

61 was the strongest & most reliable, yet does not make it in the house with the rabbit ears.



Just rabbit ears, and no UHF loop?

Rabbit Ears-only is really a VHF antenna, but it certainly can pickup UHF - if you are close enough and shorten-up the ears.

Playing around with a TV Top antenna, many miles from the towers, can be quite frustrating indeed. Having to play around with it for hours to hopefully get all the stations you want - only later to have some disappear. Let's see... this rod I will extend this far out and shorten the other... no the other way around... nah, fully extend them both... now shortened them up bit... wait a sec... Doh! Try again... and again... and again...

Let me check my signals on my DTX9950 hooked up to a ClearStream4 antenna in my closet, pointed North, about 30 miles south of Cleveland, on the first floor level:


TV61 87 Avg

TV55 91

TV49 86

TV43 90 (No EPG Found on 'GruntTV')

TV25 77

TV23 80

TV19 58 Avg

TV17 90

TV 8 (Not in my last scan - was 0 to 15 prior - Need low-30s+ to get image/sound.)

TV 5 90

TV 3 90



.

- Pj
2013 Vizio M-Series M401i-A3 (40-inch) TV. The Latest Firmware on my TV: V1.34.31.0080. The M401i-A3 Thread. My Latest Settings (For the A3 Panel).
The Vizio M-Series Razor Thread covers all Models 2013 & 2014. I have a ClearStream-4 connected to a DTX9950 to the Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local Cable to RF-In. I have Win7 Pro and FireFox 31.

Last edited by CleCakYngMfd; Today at 08:54 AM. Reason: Added Info.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #4211 of 4212 Old Today, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Just rabbit ears, and no UHF loop?

.
Yeah a UHF loop I can spin, plus a knob with detents, have no idea what that does, possibly a filtering, as soon as I walk near the thing the signal pixilates, & on the set the signal does not update, I have to refresh it. I have it on my audio cabnet to get it to a high point in the room, first floor & the exterior is windows & brick. The tuner is strange, like 10 or 12 bars, if no signal you get no bars, so you can get & hold a channel in with 1 bar... 43 gets 3-5 bars usually, on 5 maybe 1 or 2 if coming in, the rest zilch. A few miles away my dad gets 5 & 61 just using the lead from the TV to the Ground block about 4 feet above ground mounted in an overhang, that has 'quality' QS6 Coax that corrodes & breaks every 18 months no mater what you do.... how I know this.

30 miles south?? Like I said before West Is Best & all roads lead to Akron as far as Cleveland OTA goes. for the Cleveland DMA Eastern Lake & Ashtabula counties are pretty much shunned.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4212 of 4212 Old Today, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Updates

My HDTV finally has sound on 43.3. I wonder if the shuddering stopped for those who were experiencing it.

43.3 was also playing around with their id bug right after 12PM today. Every time it reappeared, it was in a different spot. Looks like they were trying to position it right under the Grit bug. Prior to the alignment, the id was right over the Grit bug.

I noticed WRLM/47 has a new sub-channel. ABN I think it is called.

I also noticed that WLFM/6 has their slideshow up and running again. Looks like it hasn't been updated since the switch to La Mega as the Cleveland Sound logos are being displayed.

It's not NEW anymore!!! Bring Back Soft Rock 102.1 WDOK
snowdog 88 is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off