Cleveland, OH - HDTV - Page 147 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 21Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4381 of 4402 Unread 11-15-2014, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3.2 doesn't even carry Betsy Kling's online 9 PM live weather segment.

Right now, Escape's E/I show looks fine on 61.4. Is 61.4 letterboxed in general? I don't watch it much.
Inundated is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4382 of 4402 Unread 11-15-2014, 12:02 PM
Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Usually they letterbox 16:9 movies in 4:3 (or windowboxed on a WS display unless zoomed). Or worse, they show a P&S print stretched to 16:9 and then letterboxed.

43.3 shows 16:9 movies in proper widescreen mode but stretches older 4:3 movies to 16:9. 61.3 shows 4:3 movies in 4:3 and widescreen movies letterboxed (but saw one WS movie last week squeezed from 16:9 to 4:3 [but can easily fix this with the stretch function on my TV]).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inundated View Post
Right now, Escape's E/I show looks fine on 61.4. Is 61.4 letterboxed in general? I don't watch it much.
nsa1062 is offline  
post #4383 of 4402 Unread 11-15-2014, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My head hurts.
Inundated is online now  
post #4384 of 4402 Unread 11-15-2014, 08:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Lones View Post
The Mohu Leaf-50 Came yesterday..It was a refurbished model off of ebay..

It was pretty easy to assemble..However, when I put the amplifier on I got almost no channels..A whiff of Channel 23 is all. Just on a whim, I took off the amplifier and amazingly, depending on the placement of the antenna, I got between 14 and 22 channels without an amplifier, This is in the 900 block of Wertz Ave. SW in Canton..Channels received included 17,23, 27, 39, 45, 47 and 49..A total of 29 channels if they all come in at the same time. Hoping with time some others come in..The antenna did pretty much what I hoped it would do. Relatively happy with it..Included is a screenshot of WKBN-27 Youngstown News as posted at 6:05 AM on an Insignia 19" TV in our living room. As of 6:30 It's still a solid picture..No pixellating at all..
I bought the Mohu Leaf Ultimate to try this thing out.


I already have the HBU-33 on my roof, but I wanted to see if this small indoor antenna would work on the bedroom TV and portable TVs I have. It actually does work great, but only outside. My house has aluminum siding, so I think that's the problem. The results with it placed outside are so much better, and well worth the money I paid for it. My location is Copley, and I can receive the following with this little antenna...

3 (17) WKYC, 5 (15) WEWS, 17 (49) WDLI, 19 (24) WOIO, 23 (23) WVPX, 25 (26) WVIZ, 27 (41) WKBN, 43 (28) WUAB, 47 (47) WRLM, 49 (50) WEAO, 55 (30) WBNX, and 61 (34) WQHS

One of the problems is that this cannot receive VHF where I live. So I cannot receive WJW 8 or WOIO 19 on VHF 10. I didn't really expect it to, but overall, it performs almost as well as my outdoor rooftop antenna.
Andrew K is online now  
post #4385 of 4402 Unread 11-19-2014, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 21
So the The Mohu Leaf-50 is weatherproof too?
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4386 of 4402 Unread 11-20-2014, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
So the The Mohu Leaf-50 is weatherproof too?
It looks completely sealed except for where the coaxial cable connects to it. I suppose a weather boot would solve that. By the way, I tried this antenna over at some family's house which is located on high ground on the east side of Akron, and it can receive much more including 21, 33, and 39. It also detected a weak signal on RF 19, 42, and 44, but it didn't lock onto anything. I am guessing those are a couple low powers from Youngstown and WGGN Sandusky. It did also detect RF 8 and 10, but still no locks on these since they're VHF. This is all with no amplification.
Andrew K is online now  
post #4387 of 4402 Unread 11-20-2014, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 21
So amplification is optional? I see a USB pigtail on the picture, I'm taking that cable can be subbed out for a long coax.

This directional? I'm wondering how this would do in an attic environment.

I officially took 23 off my set from the winter. I imagine the snow on the roof may have something to do with that. (I loose this for most of the winter).
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4388 of 4402 Unread 11-20-2014, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Frank Macek has indicated that the upcoming Justice network will replace the weather on 3-2.

http://wkycdirectorscut.blogspot.com/ (Scroll down to November 18)
OTA Newbie likes this.

HD Radio: An Audiophile's Worst Nightmare.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4389 of 4402 Unread 11-20-2014, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
So amplification is optional? I see a USB pigtail on the picture, I'm taking that cable can be subbed out for a long coax.

This directional? I'm wondering how this would do in an attic environment.

I officially took 23 off my set from the winter. I imagine the snow on the roof may have something to do with that. (I loose this for most of the winter).
I purchased the Mohu Leah Ultimate which comes with the optional amplifier. That's what the USB connection is in the photo above. However, I have found that this amplifier doesn't seem to help in my situation.
Andrew K is online now  
post #4390 of 4402 Unread 11-20-2014, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
Frank Macek has indicated that the upcoming Justice network will replace the weather on 3-2.

http://wkycdirectorscut.blogspot.com/ (Scroll down to November 18)
Awww, I will miss the radar, which is fairly accurate & gives me a heads up to unplug all my sensitive appliances.

Justice Network will replace our existing weather radar on 3.2 and some children's programming right after the first of the year. WKYC Station Manager Micki Byrnes, says the station is working hard on other options to bring viewers the weather information they depend on that keep you "Weather Ready" at all times.

Wonder what the options are?


http://www.justicenetworktv.com/
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4391 of 4402 Unread 11-20-2014, 01:27 PM
Member
 
OTA Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Euclid, OH
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
Frank Macek has indicated that the upcoming Justice network will replace the weather on 3-2.

http://wkycdirectorscut.blogspot.com/ (Scroll down to November 18)
Wow. Of all the new diginets coming out, we get this one........I'd rather watch paint dry.

But thanks for the update, snowdog 88!
snowdog 88 likes this.
OTA Newbie is offline  
post #4392 of 4402 Unread 11-20-2014, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
Awww, I will miss the radar, which is fairly accurate & gives me a heads up to unplug all my sensitive appliances.

Justice Network will replace our existing weather radar on 3.2 and some children's programming right after the first of the year. WKYC Station Manager Micki Byrnes, says the station is working hard on other options to bring viewers the weather information they depend on that keep you "Weather Ready" at all times.

Wonder what the options are?


http://www.justicenetworktv.com/
Accurate? Seems like the radar is about 5 minutes behind. Shows a red cell with heavy rain 3-5 miles away from me, even though its currently pouring outside.

I believe I mentioned this before, but I wonder why News Channel 5 never started a weather sub-channel? As weather-inclined as they are, you would think that they would be the first to have one. Personally I would like to have at least 1 weather sub in our area, but mobile devices/apps are apparently more convenient. Probably the reason why 19 scrapped Weather Now when they picked up Me-TV instead of moving it to 43.3 at the time. WKYC is just keeping the radar loop on 3.2 to fill the void of the old NBC Weather Plus and probably intended to replace it once they picked up a diginet.

HD Radio: An Audiophile's Worst Nightmare.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4393 of 4402 Unread 11-20-2014, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I never liked the radar loop on 3-2. It was much better when it was Weather Plus and there was more than just the radar. Personally, I'd rather have a new channel like this Justice Network. I already check the radar with the Channel 3 weather app on my iPhone. It's much more convenient when I'm away from home and not in front of the TV.

On another note, I'm wondering why we haven't seen anything from W35AX on digital yet. It was rumored that they have everything in place to go digital. But I still see no sign of them on RF 16.
Andrew K is online now  
post #4394 of 4402 Unread 11-20-2014, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
I never liked the radar loop on 3-2. It was much better when it was Weather Plus and there was more than just the radar.
I agree with you. I miss the "L bar" with the temperatures and 5 day forecast. The current localized 3 Weather did feature a "L bar" after the closure of NBC Weather Plus, but disappeared after a year and has been a full screen radar loop since. And let's not forget about the 45 second Gannett music loop that was finally canned last year.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
On another note, I'm wondering why we haven't seen anything from W35AX on digital yet. It was rumored that they have everything in place to go digital. But I still see no sign of them on RF 16.
I was eventually going to ask the same question in the near future. I've been checking RF 16 periodically, nothing yet!

HD Radio: An Audiophile's Worst Nightmare.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4395 of 4402 Unread 11-21-2014, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The radar was sufficent enough I found, & those apps cost in one way or another. (apps, they don't call them programs anymore?)

Of course soon people like me who don't use those electronic handheld mobile devices will die off by way of the dinosaur!
OTA Newbie likes this.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4396 of 4402 Unread 11-21-2014, 02:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just for the heck of it, I removed my antenna amplifier and hooked up my outdoor HBU-33 to only one single TV. I really only watch OTA on one TV anyways. I only needed to use one coaxial cable from the antenna to the TV. So the signal losses were as minimal as possible. So just doing that brought back a watchable signal on 21 WFMJ and 33 WYTV.

I also detected weak signals I've only usually seen during tropo from WTOV (RF 9), WMFD (RF 12), WYFX-LD (RF 19), WIVM-LD (RF 39), WGGN (RF 42) and WCDN-LD (RF 7). The receiver wasn't able to lock onto any of these, except for WCDN briefly.

The terrain at my house isn't very ideal anyways. I'm about 75 feet below the average terrain just west of Akron. So I don't live on a hill, but if I did, I could probably receive all the above.
Andrew K is online now  
post #4397 of 4402 Unread 11-23-2014, 02:47 AM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aprx 30 miles South of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 24



Oh No!!! Weather on 3.2 to Die?

When is the funeral? Why couldn't they put up a 3.3?

Oh, this is a sad day in WeatherLand.

At least it will not hurt as bad since the highly frequent PSAs came along. I was watching it less and less, since too many times I go to check the radar on 3.2 and a PSA is on. Ug.


Dr Smith: "Oh, the pain... the pain."





.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FaceTears - Body.png
Views:	90
Size:	19.3 KB
ID:	380762  

- Pj
Win7 Pro and FireFox 33.x.x on Desktop. 2013 Vizio M-Series M401i-A3 (40-inch) TV. My Firmware: V1.34.44.0080. The M401i-A3 Thread. My Latest Settings (For the A3 Panel).
The Vizio M-Series Razor Thread covers all Models 2013 & 2014. I have a ClearStream-4 connected to DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local Cable to RF-In.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #4398 of 4402 Unread 11-23-2014, 03:18 AM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aprx 30 miles South of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 24





There was an Emergency Broadcast test just before 2am on Grunt TeeVee.

The above movie started at 2am as the test was ending, however, the background bar for the crawling text remained!

Plus, the audio has not returned to a normal level. The sound is very, very, very (Did I say very?) low.

It is 5:18am Eastern Standard Time, and the problem remains!








.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Grit TV - Emergency Test.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	89.4 KB
ID:	380777  
OTA Newbie likes this.

- Pj
Win7 Pro and FireFox 33.x.x on Desktop. 2013 Vizio M-Series M401i-A3 (40-inch) TV. My Firmware: V1.34.44.0080. The M401i-A3 Thread. My Latest Settings (For the A3 Panel).
The Vizio M-Series Razor Thread covers all Models 2013 & 2014. I have a ClearStream-4 connected to DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local Cable to RF-In.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #4399 of 4402 Unread 11-23-2014, 04:56 AM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aprx 30 miles South of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 24
6:42am:

Someone is tinkering around with the broadcast.



6:50am:

The problem has been fixed with the Grunt TV broadcast. Audio/Video back to normal.



.

- Pj
Win7 Pro and FireFox 33.x.x on Desktop. 2013 Vizio M-Series M401i-A3 (40-inch) TV. My Firmware: V1.34.44.0080. The M401i-A3 Thread. My Latest Settings (For the A3 Panel).
The Vizio M-Series Razor Thread covers all Models 2013 & 2014. I have a ClearStream-4 connected to DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local Cable to RF-In.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #4400 of 4402 Unread Yesterday, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post


.
That bottom guide bar is a feature of a smart TV & from the internet?
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #4401 of 4402 Unread Yesterday, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aprx 30 miles South of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post

That bottom guide bar is a feature of a smart TV & from the internet?


Nah. That's from 'Windows Media Center' (and the Net).

I just edited the info from WMC and sized it up to attach it to the pic capture from the movie.

I had just found that my local cable company had added 'Grunt' and 'Pounce' to the 'Clear QAM' lineup. (On their box? Probably so. I dunno for sure. I do not have a Cable Box. I did request MeTV quite awhile ago, and they did add it.)

I have my Cable Signal split after it exits my Philips DVR unit. One coax goes to my 19" TV, and the other goes to the TV Tuner card in my desktop computer.



.

- Pj
Win7 Pro and FireFox 33.x.x on Desktop. 2013 Vizio M-Series M401i-A3 (40-inch) TV. My Firmware: V1.34.44.0080. The M401i-A3 Thread. My Latest Settings (For the A3 Panel).
The Vizio M-Series Razor Thread covers all Models 2013 & 2014. I have a ClearStream-4 connected to DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local Cable to RF-In.

Last edited by CleCakYngMfd; Yesterday at 07:05 PM.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #4402 of 4402 Unread Today, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Nah. That's from 'Windows Media Center' (and the Net).

I just edited the info from WMC and sized it up to attach it to the pic capture from the movie.

I had just found that my local cable company had added 'Grunt' and 'Pounce' to the 'Clear QAM' lineup. (On their box? Probably so. I dunno for sure. I do not have a Cable Box. I did request MeTV quite awhile ago, and they did add it.)

I have my Cable Signal split after it exits my Philips DVR unit. One coax goes to my 19" TV, and the other goes to the TV Tuner card in my desktop computer.



.
Around 1:30 this morning both the Escape & Grit both looked as if I was watching these through a fisheye lense on my 3:4 (actually see verticle lines at the ends bending inward at the top ), squished & had small bars at the top & bottom.

Gee, maybe I should join the other 95% & just get cable?? (....pulls out wallet flip, flip, flip).

I didn't check this on my widescreen, sometimes quite different depending on the set.
Bismarck440 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off