Cleveland, OH - HDTV - Page 165 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 537Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 9461 Old 03-11-2015, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
So they were always on the farm, & not in Cuyohoga Falls or Akron?

2000 sounds about correct, I don't remember them in Maple Hts. either. For a while I remember a snowy unwatchable picture in Lake County (like 35 used to be), but that may had been short lived in the late 90's.
Wikipedia says that WBNX switched towers in 2000 (otherwise I wouldn't be able to recall when that happened). I just remember that channel 55 used to be the crappiest signal. They never broadcast from Akron or Cuyahoga Falls, even though that's where they're licensed. And I always used to wonder why the picture quality was so terrible for an Akron COL, when I lived in Akron. They began in Brecksville then moved to Parma, and when they did that, that's when I noticed signal improvement.
Andrew K is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 9461 Old 03-11-2015, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 102
For a long time I thought WBNX moved their transmitter to Parma in 2000 because that was the time when I noticed stereo sound and closed captioning on 55. (It was mentioned here that they moved in 1998 after trying to build a tower in Richfield.) After reviewing some recordings of 55 that I had, I determined that it was 1998 (or close to 99) when WBNX moved to Parma. Don't always believe everything you read on Wikipedia. After all, anyone can edit it!

Speaking of WBNX...

55.3 was out all last night and this afternoon with a technical difficulties message. I was just watching it and saw a message during a commercial break about tower maintenance. First thing that came to mind was W35AX since they are on the same tower. Checked W35AX and sure enough, their analog is out. Checked RF 16 for a digital signal and got nothing. I take it that W35AX is finally being converted to digital and that WBNX is at reduced power to protect the workers. WCDN and WMJI, both on the same tower, appear to be running at their licensed power.

Keep checking RF 16 for a digital broadcast of W35AX.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4923 of 9461 Old 03-11-2015, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
For a long time I thought WBNX moved their transmitter to Parma in 2000 because that was the time when I noticed stereo sound and closed captioning on 55. (It was mentioned here that they moved in 1998 after trying to build a tower in Richfield.) After reviewing some recordings of 55 that I had, I determined that it was 1998 (or close to 99) when WBNX moved to Parma. Don't always believe everything you read on Wikipedia. After all, anyone can edit it!

Speaking of WBNX...

55.3 was out all last night and this afternoon with a technical difficulties message. I was just watching it and saw a message during a commercial break about tower maintenance. First thing that came to mind was W35AX since they are on the same tower. Checked W35AX and sure enough, their analog is out. Checked RF 16 for a digital signal and got nothing. I take it that W35AX is finally being converted to digital and that WBNX is at reduced power to protect the workers. WCDN and WMJI, both on the same tower, appear to be running at their licensed power.

Keep checking RF 16 for a digital broadcast of W35AX.
Interesting observation... that sounds very likely to be the case. I will keep my eyes open for W35AX on digital. They probably figured that it was best to do tower work when the temperatures warmed up. It will be interesting to see how far their signal gets out. Speaking of 29/35, WAOH has all their signal problems fixed. I can finally hear the sound on all digital tuners.
Andrew K is online now  
 
post #4924 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
Wikipedia says that WBNX switched towers in 2000 (otherwise I wouldn't be able to recall when that happened). I just remember that channel 55 used to be the crappiest signal. They never broadcast from Akron or Cuyahoga Falls, even though that's where they're licensed. And I always used to wonder why the picture quality was so terrible for an Akron COL, when I lived in Akron. They began in Brecksville then moved to Parma, and when they did that, that's when I noticed signal improvement.
The original location for WBNX's transmitter was Charles Smith's tower on Snowville Rd. in Brecksville. This is the same tower that's home to WTAM (then known as WWWE) and WZAK. When they signed on in those days they would say that their transmitter was located "on the Parma Ridge". So they were always in Cuyahoga County (just barely, Snowville Rd. is the southern most east-west roadway in the county at that point). Today that tower has WAKS (licensed to Akron but serving Cleveland).
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #4925 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 102
WBNX is currently off the air as of now. WMJI and WCDN are at reduced power.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4926 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
WBNX is currently off the air as of now. WMJI and WCDN are at reduced power.
WCDN at reduced power? How much lower can they go?
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #4927 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 2,466
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 897 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael P 2341 View Post
WCDN at reduced power? How much lower can they go?
I was able to program this the day of the DTV transition, only was on for a day or 2 then reoriented their power &/or pattern & I never seen it again.

Strange, WBNX was coming in very strong last night/overnight, only running reduced power during the day?

Is 16's stick going to be placed at the same height of 35's or higher?
Bismarck440 is online now  
post #4928 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 10:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 2,466
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 897 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
Who knew this thread would devolve into a geography lesson? ...

...Personally, I do everything within the Akron area. Cleveland is basically its own separate metro area in which I rarely go or do any business around. That is typically why most Cleveland news doesn't interest me. It would be nice if Akron had its own exclusive news. It's odd how a smaller market like Youngstown can have 3 thriving news stations... 21, 27, and 33.
I haven't been Downtown since 2009 & can count on one hand the times in the 10 years prior.

As we are excluded out here from Cleveland by phone, & TV in a somewhat sort of way now, I had spent more time toward Ashtabula. I'm surprised that Ashtabula is still considered in the Cleveland DMA.
Bismarck440 is online now  
post #4929 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 10:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
I was able to program this the day of the DTV transition, only was on for a day or 2 then reoriented their power &/or pattern & I never seen it again.

Strange, WBNX was coming in very strong last night/overnight, only running reduced power during the day?

Is 16's stick going to be placed at the same height of 35's or higher?
According to the FCC record, channel 16 will be at the same height as analog channel 35. I noticed WMJI 105.7 was at a reduced power. Their signal is full of static at this moment here in the Akron area, barely listenable. I can hear some weak stations on adjacent 105.5 and 105.9 fading in and out... stuff that would normally be splattered away by 105.7.
Andrew K is online now  
post #4930 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
I was able to program this the day of the DTV transition, only was on for a day or 2 then reoriented their power &/or pattern & I never seen it again.

Strange, WBNX was coming in very strong last night/overnight, only running reduced power during the day?

Is 16's stick going to be placed at the same height of 35's or higher?
I bet the off-air/reduced power situation means ch 16 's antenna may be going up the tower today.
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #4931 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 102
WCDN's signal strength is much lower for me than usual. I'm assuming that they are at reduced power. IIRC, isn't WCDN at the same height as W35AX? (Opposite side of the tower). And is the old WXOX antenna still up there? The tower has been unchanged prior to the transition, but I only see 2 side mounted LP antennas.

WMJI is currently registering between 3-4 on my stereo's signal strength meter. It is usually right smack in between 4-5. (5 is the highest).

WBNX is still out as of this post.

Pictures of the tower and antennas can be found here. (Author mistakenly has side mounted antennas listed for WBNX.)

EDIT: WCDN is completely off now.

Newer is not always better.

Last edited by snowdog 88; 03-12-2015 at 12:29 PM.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4932 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 102
W35AX is now broadcasting a digital signal!!!! W16DO-D 16!!!

Signal strength here is almost as good as a full power broadcast! Almost comparable to WVIZ!

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4933 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
W35AX is now broadcasting a digital signal!!!! W16DO-D 16!!!

Signal strength here is almost as good as a full power broadcast! Almost comparable to WVIZ!
I got it here in the Akron area too. It doesn't appear to be strong, but it's decent to good...

OTA Newbie likes this.
Andrew K is online now  
post #4934 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 28
W16DO's clock is still set to standard time. I just scanned it into my Sammy and hit the info button. It was 6:15 for ch 16, 7:15 on the rest of the channels.

I see the bluriness that others posted about it's Akron sister station. At least now I finally have Retro TV. I never could get a watchable picture on analog 35, and I'm only 1 mile south of the tower!
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #4935 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael P 2341 View Post
W16DO's clock is still set to standard time. I just scanned it into my Sammy and hit the info button. It was 6:15 for ch 16, 7:15 on the rest of the channels.

I see the bluriness that others posted about it's Akron sister station. At least now I finally have Retro TV. I never could get a watchable picture on analog 35, and I'm only 1 mile south of the tower!
WCDN never even bothered to set their clock. It has never been correct.

The bluriness is likely due to Media-Com's ancient equipment. The STL is probably analog, which would explain the ghosting and horizontal lines. It's like experiencing an old analog broadcast on a digital signal. (Digi-log?) I don't know if Media-Com has any plans to upgrade the equipment in the future. They're probably thankful that they now have a digital broadcast on both stations.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4936 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 05:25 PM
Member
 
OTA Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Euclid, OH
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
W35AX is now broadcasting a digital signal!!!! W16DO-D 16!!!

Signal strength here is almost as good as a full power broadcast! Almost comparable to WVIZ!
Picking it up here in Euclid, albeit quite a bit of pixeling...

Don't know whether it's the sunspots or just the newness, but hubby's happy - Dr. Who!!!!!
OTA Newbie is offline  
post #4937 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rluyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canton OH
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
W16DO-D is being received with signal in the mid to upper 60s on the Panasonic's signal strength meter here in Canton. (Receiving antenna is atop a 50' tower, so probably is not representative of average reception.) Video quality is atrocious as is their ch. 29 outlet. Reading smaller text being shown is almost impossible due to the blurriness and ghosting being seen. Seems to also be occasional glitches in both video and audio. If I were them, I would be embarrassed to be broadcasting such an inferior signal. VHS tape looks good compared to them.
rluyster is offline  
post #4938 of 9461 Old 03-12-2015, 08:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 66
W16DO-D: 95% signal strength in Litchfield (NW Medina Co.). As good as any of the full-powered stations in the Cleveland Farm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rluyster View Post
Video quality is atrocious as is their ch. 29 outlet. Reading smaller text being shown is almost impossible due to the blurriness and ghosting being seen. Seems to also be occasional glitches in both video and audio. If I were them, I would be embarrassed to be broadcasting such an inferior signal. VHS tape looks good compared to them.
The episode of "Route 66" they're showing now is so dark you can hardly see anything. At least it looks better than analog 35 did with all the snow, I suppose
nsa1062 is online now  
post #4939 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 12:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hartville, OH
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 0
WKYC 3.2 is dark tonight at 0300. 3.1 still normal, but no video or audio on 3.2
Sock Eating Golden is offline  
post #4940 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 04:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
JJkizak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TWINSBURG, OHIO
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sock Eating Golden View Post
WKYC 3.2 is dark tonight at 0300. 3.1 still normal, but no video or audio on 3.2
I get 16.1 and 16.3 but the video occasionally has some horizontal interference lines in it but not bad though.
JJK
JJkizak is online now  
post #4941 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 04:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 151
I am able to receive both digital channels 29 and 16 here in the Copley area. So the only real positive for me is that I don't have to rotate my antenna east toward Brimfield to watch Retro TV. I can keep it pointed at Cleveland. Both channels have the same picture quality, which looks like analog. I guess digital PQ has spoiled us over the years. I have no complaints about it, I can deal with it.

When W35AX was analog, the picture quality was terrible at my location. The digital signal is a huge improvement. Here is what I received before the digital signal, the best analog signal I could receive with a monstrous XG91 antenna...
Andrew K is online now  
post #4942 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 06:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 2,466
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 897 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
W35AX is now broadcasting a digital signal!!!! W16DO-D 16!!!

Signal strength here is almost as good as a full power broadcast! Almost comparable to WVIZ!
Wavers between 20-45% unlockable. I'm assuming they are running full power as of late last night.



Bismarck440 dislikes this

"The Cat" will not be visiting Lake County any time soon.

OK folks, rub it in post your screen shots & such!
Bismarck440 is online now  
post #4943 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 07:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sock Eating Golden View Post
WKYC 3.2 is dark tonight at 0300. 3.1 still normal, but no video or audio on 3.2
3.2 is currently letterboxed and looks like Grit/Escape with a stretched full frame picture. Sound is very quiet too... I can barely hear it.

WKYC can also revert the subchannel back to 4x3. All 16x9 is going do is force HDTV viewers to watch the network stretched.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4944 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
JJkizak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TWINSBURG, OHIO
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
3.2 is currently letterboxed and looks like Grit/Escape with a stretched full frame picture. Sound is very quiet too... I can barely hear it.

WKYC can also revert the subchannel back to 4x3. All 16x9 is going do is force HDTV viewers to watch the network stretched.
Your making too much sense.
JJK
JJkizak is online now  
post #4945 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
Wavers between 20-45% unlockable. I'm assuming they are running full power as of late last night.



Bismarck440 dislikes this

"The Cat" will not be visiting Lake County any time soon.

OK folks, rub it in post your screen shots & such!
That's a bummer, but that's just what I expected you'd say. The Longley-Rice coverage map appears to be accurate... http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=1593732&map=Y

They have a major null toward the north. I tried the Mohu Leaf, and I could receive W16DO (or W35AX) in Fairlawn and Copley on the portable. That's all I needed to receive it. But my home is in a weaker area. I live in the yellow area shown on that map, but the outdoor antenna pulls it in nicely.

I'm surprised they're using the W16DO branding and virtual channel 16. Those call letters do not appear in the FCC records. It shows up as W35AX instead. Are they allowed to do that?

Regarding 3.2, the volume has always been low on that channel. When I watch Body of Evidence every evening at 9 pm, I have to turn the volume wayyyyy up to 60, whereas it's usually at 35 on every other channel.
Andrew K is online now  
post #4946 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 2,466
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 897 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
That's a bummer, but that's just what I expected you'd say. The Longley-Rice coverage map appears to be accurate... http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.p...=1593732&map=Y

They have a major null toward the north. I tried the Mohu Leaf, and I could receive W16DO (or W35AX) in Fairlawn and Copley on the portable. That's all I needed to receive it. But my home is in a weaker area. I live in the yellow area shown on that map, but the outdoor antenna pulls it in nicely.

I'm surprised they're using the W16DO branding and virtual channel 16. Those call letters do not appear in the FCC records. It shows up as W35AX instead. Are they allowed to do that?

Regarding 3.2, the volume has always been low on that channel. When I watch Body of Evidence every evening at 9 pm, I have to turn the volume wayyyyy up to 60, whereas it's usually at 35 on every other channel.
I'm in the Orange area about 2000 feet south of the red line (so within the countur). This is with the attic setup & the Zenith Tuner.

BTW 23 also made it's first appearance of 2015 last night along with a brief pixilated 17.
Bismarck440 is online now  
post #4947 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
I'm in the Orange area about 2000 feet south of the red line (so within the countur). This is with the attic setup & the Zenith Tuner.

BTW 23 also made it's first appearance of 2015 last night along with a brief pixilated 17.
The orange zones aren't too bad. Perhaps if you're feeling ambitious, and have the time/money, update your setup from an attic to a roof mount. That may solve all your antenna woes. I use the XG91 UHF antenna with AntennaCraft Y5713 mounted above it at 25' above ground level, all on one rotor...
Andrew K is online now  
post #4948 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 12:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJkizak View Post
Your making too much sense.
JJK
Never mind about the letterboxing. I just found out that my zoom setting for 3.2 somehow got changed. Still should be 4x3 though...

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #4949 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 2,466
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 897 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
The orange zones aren't too bad. Perhaps if you're feeling ambitious, and have the time/money, update your setup from an attic to a roof mount. That may solve all your antenna woes. I use the XG91 UHF antenna with AntennaCraft Y5713 mounted above it at 25' above ground level, all on one rotor...
I know time passes & many posts, I'm the one in a Condo that had my outdoor antenna "compromised" last Memorial Day weekend, the management company/board refuses to fix it & believes OTA TV even exists.

I pay a monthly fee that used to pay for these issues. I do need to check my unit wiring in the meantime to be sure.

For the time being I use "a loop" for my main set that gets 43 sometimes & the attic one for the upstairs set.
Bismarck440 is online now  
post #4950 of 9461 Old 03-13-2015, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Signal strength of W16DO-D at my house. This is a direct connection to my outdoor antenna bypassing the splitters. (I loose one notch with the splitters installed). The signal strength is about the same as WBNX.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	W16DO Signal.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	44.8 KB
ID:	600649  

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off