Cleveland, OH - HDTV - Page 179 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 117Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5341 of 5367 Old 04-27-2015, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post

I don't think using a DC power adapter in place of the power supply would work since the main board likely requires more then one voltage, or rail, much like a motherboard inside a desktop computer. You would have to use resistors to drop the voltage down to the correct value for each of the rails. Otherwise you can fry the unit and render it inoperable by providing the lower powered rails too much voltage.


Hmm. Gotta simple schematic for that?

I found a pic that matches the inside of my box from another member here. It has 3 wires (Red/Black/Orange) going to the main board. Earlier versions had 5 white wires. One poster on the Web said there were 5 variations of this DigitalStream brand.

I'm still gathering info on the DTX9950 from the InterNet as to what cap or caps it might be. I found some caps from RS that I picked up years ago. I know I can keep or go up in voltage, but what kind of range on the cap value can I use? Let's say it is a 330 uf cap.


See attachment for DTX9950 PS:



.



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DTX9950 [Image From AVS Forum Member 'Ahaning'] [Adjusted Bright and Shadow] 85787 - .jpg
Views:	13
Size:	291.3 KB
ID:	688777  

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5342 of 5367 Old 04-27-2015, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post

I would start by focusing on the two filter capacitors next to the AC input. Warm up those capacitors next time the unit acts up and use an index card as a divider so the capacitors on the other side of the board aren't exposed to the heat. If the unit successfully powers on (on the first attempt), replace the filter capacitors.

BTW: Can you find a brand name on any of the capacitors?



Next time I get in there, I'll note values and brand.

How about if I tear apart some old wall-warts to find some caps?



.

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5343 of 5367 Old 04-27-2015, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
I don't think using a DC power adapter in place of the power supply would work since the main board likely requires more then one voltage, or rail, much like a motherboard inside a desktop computer. You would have to use resistors to drop the voltage down to the correct value for each of the rails. Otherwise you can fry the unit and render it inoperable by providing the lower powered rails too much voltage..
The PS on the pic looked rather simplistic. Seperate PS board 120in & DC out.. or is that the Digital Stream? I haven't cracked the 901 open yet, if integrated within the main board, you would be correct, that sounds too much like 'work', would be easier to go & get cable like everyone else.

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
My DTT-900 is an April 2008 build, and I haven't had any problems with it powering on. The only problem I have is that the picture on 480i channels shrinks vertically and stretches horizontally if I change the channel too many times. Turning the box off and back on fixes the problem.
You are lucky, I got a couple of lemon boxes then (not all surprising being from LG, I had 5 replacements of their dehumidifier in 5 years, the 6th & final unit went south 2 weeks after the 5 year warranty expired).

The issue with the 901 started in the fall/winter of '08 long after I was able to return it, always thought it was a glitch, & really didn't see clearly untill the following spring/summer the box was back to normal. My complaint to LG fell on deaf ears, then they suggested I take it in for repair to a 'qualified' shop which (we know) would had cost more than I paid for the box.

Edit: Yes, I see what you mean about the distribution cable from the PS to the main board, have to find out where the main supply ends & where the distribution begins.

Last edited by Bismarck440; 04-27-2015 at 09:20 AM.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #5344 of 5367 Old 04-27-2015, 05:22 PM
Member
 
OTA Newbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Euclid, OH
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Can I ask a question about antenna suggestions for a friend in Denver?

He's finally cutting the cable cord, and whatever antenna he bought doesn't work, according to him. He says he picks up a VHF channel 4, but not well......

Here is the TV Fool report for his address:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f02d0b9dd121

If anyone can suggest a good antenna for his location, I would much appreciate it - I didn't get much help on the Denver OTA forum.

Thank you!
OTA Newbie is offline  
post #5345 of 5367 Old 04-27-2015, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Exclamation The DTX9950 Power Supply Project


I took out the PS board and got the electrolytic cap stats from my DTX9950:



Code:
  
  All Caps are 105 degrees Celsius:  

  C 1   22 uF  400v Micon KM+ 806 
  C 2   22 uF  400v Micon KM+ 806 
  C 4   22 uF   50v Micon KM+ 801 
  C 7  470 uF   10v Sam Young NXB 
  C 8  470 uF   10v CapXon KM C822 
  C11  470 uF   16v CapXon KM C822 
  C12  470 uF   10v Sam Young NXB



I have 2 new caps from the RS cap pack I picked up years ago:

470 uF 25v I.S.L. (No temp or other info.)

These ISLs are big, but I may be able to squeeze one or both on the board.

The height is quite tall, but I tested with the cover on and these 25v caps
will just fit with millimeter or two to spare.

I will try to install one or both of these 25v caps later today.

From what I gather on www.BadCaps.Net (in the Forums), these types/brands
are suspect that are on my Digital Stream PS:

Anything 'KM' as in 'CapXon KM'.

The CapXon brand.


So,
C8 and C11 would be suspect, eh? Perhaps one or both of the other
10v caps, too?


Ed, do you think C1 and C2 are the prime suspects? What is the best way
to discharge
C1 and C2 - other than a direct short? An inline resistor?
Value and wattage? (If needed, I will eventually look it up.)


Thanks to all! I think I can get this box working again - except for the
intermittent drop-to-zero signal that happens. Something on that coax
input side of the board must have a bad solder connection.

I have not found it yet when long ago I was inside there along with my
magnifier.





.

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5346 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 12:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hartville, OH
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA Newbie View Post
Can I ask a question about antenna suggestions for a friend in Denver?

He's finally cutting the cable cord, and whatever antenna he bought doesn't work, according to him. He says he picks up a VHF channel 4, but not well......

Here is the TV Fool report for his address:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f02d0b9dd121

If anyone can suggest a good antenna for his location, I would much appreciate it - I didn't get much help on the Denver OTA forum.

Thank you!
He is VERY close to the antennas. Overload maybe?


Interesting development in Hartville recently. I've still got the ANT751 in the attic. I've been reluctant to move it until the leaves come out and I see what I'm dealing with. But, I did purchase a RCA preamp. WJW has been decode-able, but unwatchable it's so broken. While I had a friend over Sunday we pulled the tv down and I installed the power injector behind the tv. Though I haven't had a chance to get to the attic to install the pre amp. Either way, WJW is now coming in perfect. Even WOIO real channel 10 is perfect.

Not sure why an unplugged power injector made the difference...

Last edited by Sock Eating Golden; 04-28-2015 at 01:45 AM.
Sock Eating Golden is online now  
post #5347 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 02:20 AM
Senior Member
 
wd8kct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post


Ed, do you think C1 and C2 are the prime suspects? What is the best way
to discharge C1 and C2 - other than a direct short? An inline resistor?
Value and wattage? (If needed, I will eventually look it up.)
You're dealing with low voltage, as long as the plug is pulled I wouldn't worry. If we were talking about discharging high voltage from a color CRT, that's another story! I believe soldering iron tips are usually grounded. If possible I would try paralleling a good cap across the suspected bad capacitors one at a time. That might show you which one is at fault.

Last edited by wd8kct; 04-28-2015 at 02:25 AM.
wd8kct is offline  
post #5348 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 03:59 AM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by wd8kct View Post

You're dealing with low voltage, as long as the plug is pulled I wouldn't worry.

If we were talking about discharging high voltage from a color CRT, that's another story!

I believe soldering iron tips are usually grounded.




So, if I direct-short C1 and C2, no sparks flying about with a LOUD snap, crackle, and pop?
I do not like that.



Quote:
Originally Posted by wd8kct View Post

If possible I would try paralleling a good cap across the suspected bad
capacitors one at a time. That might show you which one is at fault.


Hey, that's a neat idea. I'll give that a try with the 470uF I have. I'll have to check if I got a 22uF.

Thanks!







.

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5349 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 06:33 AM
Senior Member
 
wd8kct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
So, if I direct-short C1 and C2, no sparks flying about with a LOUD snap, crackle, and pop?
I do not like that.
The snap, crackle and pop are what makes electronics interesting. Oh, by-the-way, reversed electrolytics may explode. Pay attention to polarity.
wd8kct is offline  
post #5350 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by wd8kct View Post

The snap, crackle and pop are what makes electronics interesting.




Says you. Not me. The only Snap/Crackle/Pop I ever wanna hear is from a cereal bowl.










Quote:
Originally Posted by wd8kct View Post

Oh, by-the-way, reversed electrolytics may explode. Pay attention to polarity.


















































"Now he tells me."












HA! Kidding. Yeah, I knew about the polarity. Bad news. I paralleled each of the 470uF caps. No go. I have no 22uF 400v caps, so I do not know if they are at fault.

So, out comes the heat gun and now it's up and running for now. I guess I'll order 7 (maybe more) caps and see what happens.







.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	explosion-147909_640.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	74.1 KB
ID:	691330   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rob_Zombie_-_Orange_Stage_-_Roskilde_Festival_2014 50pc.jpg
Views:	220
Size:	134.1 KB
ID:	691338  

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5351 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
wd8kct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
So, out comes the heat gun and now it's up and running for now. I guess I'll order 7 (maybe more) caps and see what happens.
Might want to measure the voltages once it's working.
wd8kct is offline  
post #5352 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by wd8kct View Post
Might want to measure the voltages once it's working.

Might want to bump up the voltage ratings on the replacements (if they physically can fit.) I'm putting over rated voltages in the Samsung TV supply for the ones blown, that was a weak point in a lot of their sets.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #5353 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post

I took out the PS board and got the electrolytic cap stats from my DTX9950:



Code:
  
  All Caps are 105 degrees Celsius:  

  C 1   22 uF  400v Micon KM+ 806 
  C 2   22 uF  400v Micon KM+ 806 
  C 4   22 uF   50v Micon KM+ 801 
  C 7  470 uF   10v Sam Young NXB 
  C 8  470 uF   10v CapXon KM C822 
  C11  470 uF   16v CapXon KM C822 
  C12  470 uF   10v Sam Young NXB
I would replace all the 470uF capacitors, especially the CapXon ones. If the box still has trouble turning on, then replace the higher voltage capacitors.

When working with the high voltage capacitors, it's a good idea to wait at least 2 hours after unplugging the unit to ensure that they are discharged. If you're still concerned, you can use a flat blade screwdriver with an insulated handle and short the capacitor's contacts.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #5354 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post

...You can use a flat blade screwdriver with an
insulated handle and short the capacitor's contacts.





Now, what did I just say about cereal?









.



- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5355 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 07:56 PM
Member
 
jxg0754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
WJW has a new graphics package
The Bug is still the same but is now at the left edge,
Weather is currently or mostly the old graphics for now,
If anyone wants to they can catch the replay of Today’s 10pm news to see the new graphics at 1am
jxg0754 is offline  
post #5356 of 5367 Old 04-28-2015, 09:24 PM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jxg0754 View Post

WJW has a new graphics package...


I'm waiting for a long, overdue SOUND package.



.

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5357 of 5367 Old 04-29-2015, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
I'm waiting for a long, overdue SOUND package.

.
How about going back to UHF?

Can't watch Fox 8 with the laptop on either
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #5358 of 5367 Old 04-29-2015, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jxg0754 View Post
WJW has a new graphics package
The Bug is still the same but is now at the left edge,
Weather is currently or mostly the old graphics for now,
If anyone wants to they can catch the replay of Today’s 10pm news to see the new graphics at 1am
I don't like the new graphics -too bulky and messy. At least they don't constantly stay on the screen or resemble the appearance of Windows 8. Two things I'd like to know about Fox 8 News... Why do they hold on to the same graphics for over 5 years and why do they update certain segments (weather, bumpers) with the new graphics way in advance?

I also noticed that 19 updated their sound package about a month ago. I was getting sick of the "Chicago my home" jingles that they used for the last 10 years. (I still hear it as a remix, but it's not used as much).

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #5359 of 5367 Old 04-29-2015, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
I also noticed that 19 updated their sound package about a month ago. I was getting sick of the "Chicago my home" jingles that they used for the last 10 years. (I still hear it as a remix, but it's not used as much).
Chicago??

You should check into the "other board", probably a lot more interest over there.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #5360 of 5367 Old 04-29-2015, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
toby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 20
anyone need/want an antenna amplifier?

Free to a good home (if anyone even wants/needs it). Going in trash if no one wants it.
Location is Strongsville

Terrestrial Digital model 472
UHF/VHF/FM 2-Way Amplifier

Two outs (two TV’s), FM Trap On/Off Switch, Adjustable G.C.
Power Supply rated at 60hz, 3.6W
Mfr date Nov 2005 p/n E85450

I cannot find anything on line about this unit, guessing they are out of business?

I used this for my attic antenna, worked great and definitely improved reception. But I still wasn’t getting great reception on some ch’s due to attic restrictions. So I went to a roof mounted omni-directional antenna years ago. Gave the attic antenna to a friend a while back. Cleaning out garage I found this amplifier.
toby10 is online now  
post #5361 of 5367 Old 04-29-2015, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
Chicago??

You should check into the "other board", probably a lot more interest over there.
I bet that 19 Action News sounder (the spastic horns, I presume) might have had lyrics on a Chicago station and Snowdog might have heard it that way first so the words are stuck in his head.

A similar thing happened when that country music jingle first used for Ed Mullinax ("I got a Ford on my mind, mind mind...) was repurposed as an instrumental jingle for a Chevy dealer. Nothing like hearing "I got a Ford" in your mind when the commercial is for a Chevy dealer. I guess the jingle belongs to Jim Mueller the voice of both commercials. You just can't do that in the same market and get away with it. Music is a powerful memory tool.
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #5362 of 5367 Old 04-29-2015, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael P 2341 View Post
I bet that 19 Action News sounder (the spastic horns, I presume) might have had lyrics on a Chicago station and Snowdog might have heard it that way first so the words are stuck in his head.
The jingle is called The Enforcer, which is based off the folk song "I love Chicago, Chicago my home", which would be the lyrics at the end of the jingle.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WBBM-TV

When 19 changed their music, they also changed their voice-over announcer. I heard the old announcer on WTOL and a station out of Fort Wayne.

Newer is not always better.

HDTVs: RCA L37WD12, Vizio E371VL, Samsung UN46H5203
DTV Converter Boxes: Zenith DTT900 & DTT901, Magnavox TB100MW9
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #5363 of 5367 Old 04-29-2015, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
The jingle is called The Enforcer, which is based off the folk song "I love Chicago, Chicago my home", which would be the lyrics at the end of the jingle.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WBBM-TV

When 19 changed their music, they also changed their voice-over announcer. I heard the old announcer on WTOL and a station out of Fort Wayne.
You meant this:

I can't find "I love Chicago, Chicago my home" on You Tube. "The Enforcer" is the "spastic horns".
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #5364 of 5367 Old 05-01-2015, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael P 2341 View Post
A similar thing happened when that country music jingle first used for Ed Mullinax ("I got a Ford on my mind, mind mind...) was repurposed as an instrumental jingle for a Chevy dealer. Nothing like hearing "I got a Ford" in your mind when the commercial is for a Chevy dealer. I guess the jingle belongs to Jim Mueller the voice of both commercials. You just can't do that in the same market and get away with it. Music is a powerful memory tool.
Advertising, advertising & more advertising, we love it! Only so many jingles to go around, keeps the writers busy.

I guess we can watch for RF 31 to be lit up now that it's May 1.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #5365 of 5367 Old 05-02-2015, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Antenna Location Update:


2015 May 2nd

Antenna moved 4 feet to near West window, pointing WWNW (essentially due West)
and DTX9950 ReScanned to target 52 (RF 42):



Code:
 
  
 
  Ch    Signal Level 
 _________________________________________ 

  3.1    60 
  5.1    63 
  8.1    29-33 (Some Breakups) 
 17.1    68 
 19.1     - (RF 10 Not in Last ReScan) 
 19.1    50 (RF 24) 
 23.1    65 
 25.1    40 
 27.1    36-50 (Occasional Breakup) 
 29.1     1-10 
 43.1    50 
 47.1    60 
 49.1    70 
 52.1    72 (Nice!) 
 55.1    50 
 61.1    15-30



52.1 is listed as 42.1 (which is the RF) on TitanTV.com, and they do not show '52.2' in the guide. WGGN is not showing an EPG.

Before I moved the antenna, I had pointed it to almost due West and picked TV8 around 40! I do feel if I put this antenna in the (wait... is Anti-Attic Andrew reading this? ) attic, it'd do ok to get TV8.

I have not cut the coax length yet. Will do so soon. Still may hook up a PreAmp.






.

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5366 of 5367 Old 05-02-2015, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Anyone have success in contacting TitanTV and having a listing corrected?

I hope so, I just sent them info on WGGN to correct 42.1 to 52.1 and add 52.2 to the 'Broadcast' (OTA) listing.

The wait is on. The longer it takes, it'll probably not happen, eh?


.



- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5367 of 5367 Old Today, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 12
TitanTV and Windows Media Center still have no listing for 16.1 (they did for analog 35 before it went dark).

Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Anyone have success in contacting TitanTV and having a listing corrected?

I hope so, I just sent them info on WGGN to correct 42.1 to 52.1 and add 52.2 to the 'Broadcast' (OTA) listing.

The wait is on. The longer it takes, it'll probably not happen, eh?


.


nsa1062 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off