Cleveland, OH - HDTV - Page 180 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 118Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5371 of 5373 Old Yesterday, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

a) TV stations can't enable or disable aspect ratio adjustments.

b) ...the transmission is flagged as 4:3 ... thus the box has disabled it.

c) WEWS flags the transmission as 16:9, you now can adjust it ...

d) Again, this is in the box and not the station.



- Trip



All I know, is when I add a+b+c+d and mix it in a blender, it comes out to someone/something controls the BOX to say I CAN adjust the ratio or I CANNOT. 'c' tells me the station or nutwork is doing the flagging to my box thus, indeed something upstream is the controller, not strictly the box, yes/no?





.

- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5372 of 5373 Old Yesterday, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post

I don't think using a DC power adapter in place of the power supply would work since the main board likely requires more then one voltage, or rail, much like a motherboard inside a desktop computer.

You would have to use resistors to drop the voltage down to the correct value for each of the rails. Otherwise you can fry the unit and render it inoperable by providing the lower powered rails too much voltage.




How precise must the voltages be?

I see printed on the main board are 5.5v and 3.3v.


.




- Pj
Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV, Firmware: 1.1.19. Win7 Pro and FireFox 37.0.1, Desktop.
Other Equipment: ClearStream-4 connected to dying DTX9950 to Composite-In of Philips 3576H; local CableTV to RF-In - connected to 2nd-time boards-replaced Philips 19PFL3403D (See www.BadCaps.Net - Poorly made caps).
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5373 of 5373 Unread Today, 02:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by wd8kct View Post
Notice PBS "Create" has switched to widescreen.
I had been told this was coming for a long time. Just looked at the satellite feed and I see it has, indeed, finally happened.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post

All I know, is when I add a+b+c+d and mix it in a blender, it comes out to someone/something controls the BOX to say I CAN adjust the ratio or I CANNOT. 'c' tells me the station or nutwork is doing the flagging to my box thus, indeed something upstream is the controller, not strictly the box, yes/no?
The station flags whether its broadcast is 4:3 or 16:9. If COZI TV is being provided in 16:9, then WEWS will flag it in 16:9. You would not want them to flag it 4:3 because then it would be squeezed on a 4:3 TV. Similarly, if Me-TV is being provided in 4:3, then WOIO will flag it 4:3. If it was flagged 16:9, it would be stretched on a 16:9 TV.

The station flags the stream with its aspect ratio, just like it flags whether it's 480i, 720p, or 1080i, whether it's stereo or surround, etc. If your set then locks functionality assuming that the flag is correct (not an unreasonable assumption), that's the set's problem and not the station. The station is doing what it's supposed to do, and changing what it does would break every other TV set in existence. The box is arguably doing what it's supposed to do, though if it was me manufacturing the box, I would make the box able to tinker with the aspect ratio on 4:3 programming regardless.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off