Cleveland, OH - HDTV - Page 196 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 146Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5851 of 5875 Unread 07-25-2015, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've gotten most of these multiple times in the summer.

But many of the signals that you frequently receive (like Columbus and Pittsburgh) I've NEVER seen.

Where I am, I have terrain to the east and south, but it's all unobstructed and downhill towards the lake to the northeast and north, so I get Erie and Canada the most.

Though I have gotten 9 from Steubenville and 18/40 from Zanesville (once). And Youngstown (but I'm just out of non-tropo range of WFMJ and WKBN)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
Here is further proof that tropo favors the higher and unobstructed areas. I went to a nearby hill in Richfield. I had my Mohu Leaf and portable 3.5" Auvio TV. I did a scan and picked up several signals I've never seen at my home with the XG91 antenna, and I was only 11 miles away from home. Just a crappy Mohu Leaf!!

18/18 CICO London, ON
21/20 WMYD Detroit, MI
31/31 CITY Woodstock, ON
43/56 WTVS Detroit, MI
44/62 WWJ Detroit, MI
48/69 CFMT London, ON
51/51 CHCH London, ON

Here is the clear view...


nsa1062 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5852 of 5875 Unread 07-25-2015, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Ohio Media Watch back up:








.

- Pj

The CalMAN Tutorial Kit - Soon to be installed. I own a Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.2.23-UHD. Win7Pro & FireFox 39.0.0, Desktop Computer. ClearStream-4 Antenna, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague), My Philips 19PFL3403D TV is dead. My brother: Has the Android-driven Sony 75X850C TV & now has ownership of the 2013 M401i-A3.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5853 of 5875 Unread 07-25-2015, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
I've gotten most of these multiple times in the summer.

But many of the signals that you frequently receive (like Columbus and Pittsburgh) I've NEVER seen.

Where I am, I have terrain to the east and south, but it's all unobstructed and downhill towards the lake to the northeast and north, so I get Erie and Canada the most.

Though I have gotten 9 from Steubenville and 18/40 from Zanesville (once). And Youngstown (but I'm just out of non-tropo range of WFMJ and WKBN)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
Here is further proof that tropo favors the higher and unobstructed areas. I went to a nearby hill in Richfield. I had my Mohu Leaf and portable 3.5" Auvio TV. I did a scan and picked up several signals I've never seen at my home with the XG91 antenna, and I was only 11 miles away from home. Just a crappy Mohu Leaf!!

18/18 CICO London, ON
21/20 WMYD Detroit, MI
31/31 CITY Woodstock, ON
43/56 WTVS Detroit, MI
44/62 WWJ Detroit, MI
48/69 CFMT London, ON
51/51 CHCH London, ON

Here is the clear view...


Your location is important. I have issues receiving tropo to my west. The east is definitely my best direction. I briefly picked up WNLO Buffalo this morning, and I noticed some sub-decodes on 14 and 43... WUTV and WNED possibly.
Andrew K is offline  
post #5854 of 5875 Unread 07-27-2015, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post

21/20 WMYD Detroit, MI
So what is on 20? I assume the blips on 21 & 48 were from WBNS & WSYX.

As 19 left yesterday & was gone for most of the day, 11 appeared... as 19 came back, 11 disappeared.

Brief appearance of WGTE Sunday AM, no 13... nothing else.

WOIO seems to refuse to acknowledge this issue.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #5855 of 5875 Unread 07-27-2015, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
So what is on 20? I assume the blips on 21 & 48 were from WBNS & WSYX.

As 19 left yesterday & was gone for most of the day, 11 appeared... as 19 came back, 11 disappeared.

Brief appearance of WGTE Sunday AM, no 13... nothing else.

WOIO seems to refuse to acknowledge this issue.
Actual channel 20... that could be WFMJ Youngstown, CJMT London, maybe even CBLT Toronto or even WHNE-LD Detroit.

WMYD Detroit is actual channel 21, virtual 20.

http://www.rabbitears.info/allocatio...20&adj=N&all=Y

WOIO should have put their translator up in Lake County. I certainly don't need it here. It's just a channel clogger.
Andrew K is offline  
post #5856 of 5875 Unread 07-27-2015, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 49
WOIO's signal is just fine here on channel 10. In fact, it's pushing the signal indicator up to as high as it can possibly go. It's because I'm using an antenna that's actually designed for VHF-high. WOIO has a null to the north to protect CFPL, and that's why you have problems with it. But I don't think WOIO cared to put a translator up there where it was really needed. They probably assume that the average OTA viewer is using a coat hanger as an antenna inside a concrete apartment building and can't pick the signal in Akron/Canton where there is more population (which is probably an accurate assumption).
Andrew K is offline  
post #5857 of 5875 Unread 07-27-2015, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post

...WOIO seems to refuse to acknowledge this issue.


What issue? I know the other day I had 0 on my meter for 19 (RF24, Akron) for a short bit, then as I came back up scanning the channels it was there again. I just assume it's my box, which known to drop to 0 on any channel at times.




.



- Pj

The CalMAN Tutorial Kit - Soon to be installed. I own a Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.2.23-UHD. Win7Pro & FireFox 39.0.0, Desktop Computer. ClearStream-4 Antenna, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague), My Philips 19PFL3403D TV is dead. My brother: Has the Android-driven Sony 75X850C TV & now has ownership of the 2013 M401i-A3.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5858 of 5875 Unread 07-27-2015, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 48
From OMW:



"The domain actually expired a few days ago.



We have been on a lengthy, unannounced hiatus…and frankly, just weren’t paying attention to *any* OMW issues, including the domain expiration.



If you know someone who can’t get here yet, the usual process of returning a domain to life hasn’t reached their ISP or company servers yet…but it will, soon.



We do owe you an explanation, and the post about our future plans. That’ll come sometime this week.


Just to clarify again, we were not “forced” to end OMW, despite erroneous online rumors to that effect. The hiatus has been entirely voluntary…which will become clear with the next post..."


http://ohiomediawatch.com/2015/07/27/the-domain-is-back/

- Pj

The CalMAN Tutorial Kit - Soon to be installed. I own a Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.2.23-UHD. Win7Pro & FireFox 39.0.0, Desktop Computer. ClearStream-4 Antenna, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague), My Philips 19PFL3403D TV is dead. My brother: Has the Android-driven Sony 75X850C TV & now has ownership of the 2013 M401i-A3.

Last edited by CleCakYngMfd; 07-27-2015 at 02:15 PM. Reason: 'Activate' URL.
CleCakYngMfd is offline  
post #5859 of 5875 Unread 07-27-2015, 04:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
JJkizak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TWINSBURG, OHIO
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It took about 3 days for my domain to start functioning. GoDaddy told me to chill out for a couple days. It doesn't seem right in these days of microseconds.
JJK
JJkizak is offline  
post #5860 of 5875 Unread 07-27-2015, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 12
They certainly would not be able to use RF24 if they had put it in Lake County, way too close to Erie's 24. Assuming no other channel was available, that might be another reason to put it in Akron.

Also, doesn't the 2nd harmonic of FM 97.5 kill off RF10 in a good portion of the Akron area?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
WOIO's signal is just fine here on channel 10. In fact, it's pushing the signal indicator up to as high as it can possibly go. It's because I'm using an antenna that's actually designed for VHF-high. WOIO has a null to the north to protect CFPL, and that's why you have problems with it. But I don't think WOIO cared to put a translator up there where it was really needed. They probably assume that the average OTA viewer is using a coat hanger as an antenna inside a concrete apartment building and can't pick the signal in Akron/Canton where there is more population (which is probably an accurate assumption).
nsa1062 is offline  
post #5861 of 5875 Unread Yesterday, 04:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
They certainly would not be able to use RF24 if they had put it in Lake County, way too close to Erie's 24. Assuming no other channel was available, that might be another reason to put it in Akron.

Also, doesn't the 2nd harmonic of FM 97.5 kill off RF10 in a good portion of the Akron area.
I live just one mile from 97.5 WONE. It seems to cause issues with channel 10 on the Zinwell tuner but not the Zenith/Insignia. However, if I use a $2 FM trap, it eliminates the problem.
Andrew K is offline  
post #5862 of 5875 Unread Yesterday, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
They certainly would not be able to use RF24 if they had put it in Lake County, way too close to Erie's 24. Assuming no other channel was available, that might be another reason to put it in Akron.

Also, doesn't the 2nd harmonic of FM 97.5 kill off RF10 in a good portion of the Akron area?
Yeah, I get it there are no avail frequencies up here due to protection to Canada & lack therof, I guess 39 may had worked but it was snatched up.

The WOIO repeater pretty much nulls out the possibility of WJET up here too.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #5863 of 5875 Unread Yesterday, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
wd8kct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Channel 5 is having a bad day today...
wd8kct is offline  
post #5864 of 5875 Unread Yesterday, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I now have autologger, which means I don't have to be at home to see what tropo my tuner can pick up. It automatically scans the channels 24/7, even while I'm sleeping, and shows any signals it picks up. I still have to rotate the antenna though.

Here is a link to the live map of what I'm receiving here... http://www.rabbitears.info/tvdx/one_...038781D/tuner0

Thanks to Trip at RabbitEars for helping me set this up!!
Andrew K is offline  
post #5865 of 5875 Unread Yesterday, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
wd8kct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
I now have autologger, which means I don't have to be at home to see what tropo my tuner can pick up. It automatically scans the channels 24/7, even while I'm sleeping, and shows any signals it picks up. I still have to rotate the antenna though.

Here is a link to the live map of what I'm receiving here... http://www.rabbitears.info/tvdx/one_...038781D/tuner0

Thanks to Trip at RabbitEars for helping me set this up!!
That is very cool!
Does it use the HD Homerun?
wd8kct is offline  
post #5866 of 5875 Unread Yesterday, 08:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by wd8kct View Post
Channel 5 is having a bad day today...
Bad day? What's happening?

I'd say I'm having a great day with channel 5, or at least with 5.2. It seems someone FINALLY fixed the popping/clicking audio on that channel. The audio has been clean since this afternoon when I noticed it. It was snap, crackle & popping yesterday.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #5867 of 5875 Unread Today, 01:46 AM
Senior Member
 
wd8kct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
Bad day? What's happening?

I'd say I'm having a great day with channel 5, or at least with 5.2. It seems someone FINALLY fixed the popping/clicking audio on that channel. The audio has been clean since this afternoon when I noticed it. It was snap, crackle & popping yesterday.
I imagine it's automation related, between 7 and 8pm they were in black and on a technical difficulties slide for a while. They lost an entire break earlier in the day on Good Morning America. Guess I watch too much TV :-)
wd8kct is offline  
post #5868 of 5875 Unread Today, 06:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 49
With the new autologging tuner, it just picked up while I was away from the tuner...

CITS 36 Hamilton, ON
CBLFT 25 Toronto, ON
CICA 19 Toronto, ON
CKCO 13 Kitchener, ON

http://www.rabbitears.info/tvdx/one_...038781D/tuner0
Andrew K is offline  
post #5869 of 5875 Unread Today, 06:33 AM
Senior Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is WOIO's RF24 repeater a factor at all in Lake County, that must be 35+ miles from Akron?

I still get WJET rarely (got it last week) west of Medina during tropo, though not nearly as often as before the repeater came on the air. WOIO's repeater is a weak blip on the signal meter here but NEVER decodes (about 25 miles with a ridge in the way).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
Yeah, I get it there are no avail frequencies up here due to protection to Canada & lack therof, I guess 39 may had worked but it was snatched up.

The WOIO repeater pretty much nulls out the possibility of WJET up here too.
nsa1062 is offline  
post #5870 of 5875 Unread Today, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
Is WOIO's RF24 repeater a factor at all in Lake County, that must be 35+ miles from Akron?

I still get WJET rarely (got it last week) west of Medina during tropo, though not nearly as often as before the repeater came on the air. WOIO's repeater is a weak blip on the signal meter here but NEVER decodes (about 25 miles with a ridge in the way).
I'm like 40 or 43 from the Akron farm.... yes, I have locked the Akron repeater a few times, last night the Akron Stations (17 & 23) were way up in the mid blue section, higher than any of the Cleveland stations in fact, 49 made a brief appearance, but 19 was gone all last night at my place (returned around 4am), my dad had called & said his 19 was out the entire day yesterday, so I imagine this was from CFPL.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
I now have autologger, which means I don't have to be at home to see what tropo my tuner can pick up. It automatically scans the channels 24/7, even while I'm sleeping, and shows any signals it picks up. I still have to rotate the antenna though.

Here is a link to the live map of what I'm receiving here... http://www.rabbitears.info/tvdx/one_tuner_map/1038781D/tuner0

Thanks to Trip at RabbitEars for helping me set this up!!
Your tuner is PC based? I noted London looks farther than Erie from me on your map.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #5871 of 5875 Unread Today, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post
Your tuner is PC based? I noted London looks farther than Erie from me on your map.
I now have a PC-based tuner. I just got it yesterday. It's pretty nifty. I wanted the ability to scan the channels while I am away, and apparently it's already caught stuff I've never seen before... 3 new logs. I've never logged Toronto DTVs before. I used Bill Hepburn's tropo forecast maps to predict where to point the antenna. It was already receiving CKCO 13 when I left this morning, and about an hour after I left, it got the three new logs. What's weird is that it didn't detect anything from London, Erie, or Buffalo, just the Golden Horseshoe area.
Andrew K is offline  
post #5872 of 5875 Unread Today, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
I now have a PC-based tuner. I just got it yesterday. It's pretty nifty. I wanted the ability to scan the channels while I am away, and apparently it's already caught stuff I've never seen before... 3 new logs. I've never logged Toronto DTVs before. I used Bill Hepburn's tropo forecast maps to predict where to point the antenna. It was already receiving CKCO 13 when I left this morning, and about an hour after I left, it got the three new logs. What's weird is that it didn't detect anything from London, Erie, or Buffalo, just the Golden Horseshoe area.
What kind of tuner did you buy and from where? I've been interested in a PC tuner for quite a while, but it always seems that the ones I can afford are garbage and the expensive ones come with better software. I'd like to get a PCI tuner since I'm not that fond about USB tuners.
Inundated likes this.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #5873 of 5875 Unread Today, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
What kind of tuner did you buy and from where? I've been interested in a PC tuner for quite a while, but it always seems that the ones I can afford are garbage and the expensive ones come with better software. I'd like to get a PCI tuner since I'm not that fond about USB tuners.
And I want a new USB tuner. My old one will probably be rendered obsolete in Windows 10. I am somewhat surprised that it made it to Windows 7...

It does have to be USB, of course, since my computer is a laptop.
Inundated is online now  
post #5874 of 5875 Unread Today, 05:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
The tuner used for the auto-scanner is neither. It's the network-attached SiliconDust HDHomeRun.

If looking for a USB tuner though, I like the Hauppauge Aero-M or the... HVR850? I think it was? Those two USB tuners had the newer LG chip when I looked a few years ago. Haven't bought one recently so I'm not sure what's current.

Haven't bought a PCI tuner in forever, so I'm of no help there.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #5875 of 5875 Unread Today, 10:18 PM
Member
 
jxg0754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
WRAP now has a application to broadcast at 15 kw instead of 8.7 kw,
http://transition.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?call=WRAP
DTV America has applications to broadcast from Downtown Cleveland from 2 Channels
W21DI Digital Application was filed on 7/22/15 http://transition.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?call=W21DI
WEKA Digital Application was filed on 7/27/15 http://transition.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?call=WEKA
jxg0754 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off