Cleveland, OH - HDTV - Page 283 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 444Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #8461 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 05:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Thanks for the answer Gary about Laff.
On an unrelated note, I heard (this morning on WTAM/1100) Earnest Angley was ordered to pay $388,000 to unpaid employees. Not sure what effect if any that will have on WBNX and it's subs
lakeeriemonster is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8462 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Gary, do you know when the changes to WOIO are supposed to happen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary16 View Post
To answer an earlier post, LAFF will remain on 5.3 (GRIT replaces COZI on 5.2).
As mentioned earlier WUAB is scheduled to move to 19.2 with Bounce on 19.3.
nsa1062 is offline  
post #8463 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 07:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Wouldn't they want WUAB to still be 43.1, even if carried on WOIO's signal, for branding purposes?

Or are their encoders so ancient that they cannot set up their PSIP to have different primary channels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary16 View Post
To answer an earlier post, LAFF will remain on 5.3 (GRIT replaces COZI on 5.2).
As mentioned earlier WUAB is scheduled to move to 19.2 with Bounce on 19.3.
nsa1062 is offline  
 
post #8464 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Ohio Regional Radar






Greater CLE/MFD/Wooster/CAK Area





.
I still use those radars on Intellicast's website. They are simple GIF animations that load quickly, even on the slowest high-speed connection. (They did take about 30 seconds to fully load on my old dial-up connection).

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #8465 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJkizak View Post
The only channel with consistently poor quality (not taking signal strength in the evaluation) that I get is 16.1 but it is still very watchable and stable most of the time.
61.4 is just fine but 49 seems to have a lot of short term signal strength issues.
JJK
That's because Media-Com is still using an analog STL dating back to the 70's, and who knows how many times that it has been repaired with parts from Radio Shack. If they had a digital STL, then the PQ would look much better and they would be able to carry subchannels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
Wouldn't they want WUAB to still be 43.1, even if carried on WOIO's signal, for branding purposes?

Or are their encoders so ancient that they cannot set up their PSIP to have different primary channels?
It's probably possible. The big question is how would our TV's handle two different virtual channels on the same RF channel?

If they do shut off 43.3 completely, I hope they use that encoder for 19.2 as it doesn't suffer from the annoying pink/green flashes.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #8466 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
Gary, do you know when the changes to WOIO are supposed to happen?
At this point I do not have a date. And yes, it still should show up as 43-1.
Gary16 is online now  
post #8467 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 09:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Gary, any chance WEWS will add a .4 sub, or that is out of the question?
lakeeriemonster is online now  
post #8468 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
The big question is how would our TV's handle two different virtual channels on the same RF channel?
No different than it handles it now. Here in Minneapolis when the DTV conversion hit FOX (KMSP) moved back to their analog spot of RF9 which gave most folks with indoor antennas headaches. Since FOX also owns WFTC (My29 RF29) they did a SD counterpart on both stations for years. So when you scanned RF29 you got (at the time)
9-2 KMSP FOX SD
29-1 WFTC MY HD

WHen you scanned RF9 you got 9-1 FOX HD and 29-2 My SD

They have since replaced that setup
unclehonkey is offline  
post #8469 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
Wouldn't they want WUAB to still be 43.1, even if carried on WOIO's signal, for branding purposes?
They can still call it WUAB 43 and have it as 19.2.
Here in Minneapolis we have examples where they still use the old "gimmick" name for a station even though the only folks who see it on that station are satellite subs
examples are WFTC My29 which is on 9.2 and KSTC "45TV" which is on 5.2

Minneapolis is unique as we have 3 examples where there are two RF stations that mix the PSIP together. KTCA & KTCI (PBS), KSTP (ABC) and KSTC (Independent), and KMSP (FOX) and WFTC (MY) all have 2 separate RF stations and they mix the PSIP. SO as example

RF35 5-1 KSTP ABC HD
RF45 5-2 KSTC IND HD
RF45 5-3 MeTV
RF45 5-4 AntennaTV
RF45 5-6 ThisTV
RF35 5-7 H&I

The KMSP/WTFC one is even more unique as FOX is carried on BOTH
RF29 9-1 KMSP (WFTC) FOX HD
RF29 9-2 WFTC MY HD
RF29 9-3 Movies!
RF9 9-4 Buzzzr
RF9 9-9 KMSP FOX 9 HD
unclehonkey is offline  
post #8470 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 55
If they use either of their current encoders for 1080i+720p+480i, the green and pink flashes will be the least of their problems.

They will probably use something like 8 or 9 Mbps CBR for CBS19 (possibly downgrading it to 720p), 8 for WUAB and maybe 2 for Bounce. Live sports on 19.1 will look atrocious.

If they did it right with a state-of-the art statmux encoder, it would be something like

6-15 for CBS19 at 1080i
3-12 for WUAB at 720p
0.5-3 for Bounce at 480i

And they could easily accomodate MeTV at the same rates as Bounce (and reduce WUAB a little bit). The PQ's would be decent on all channels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
If they do shut off 43.3 completely, I hope they use that encoder for 19.2 as it doesn't suffer from the annoying pink/green flashes.
nsa1062 is offline  
post #8471 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
If they use either of their current encoders for 1080i+720p+480i, the green and pink flashes will be the least of their problems.
Use the 43.3 encoder on 19.2 until they get better ones, that is.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #8472 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
The big question is how would our TV's handle two different virtual channels on the same RF channel?
That is not a problem, however what would become a problem is if you happen to receive 2 different stations using the same virtual numbers. One time I DX'ed the Channel 8.1 out of Johnstown, PA. It wiped out WJW until I removed it (however the 8.2 from Johnstown was still programmed in, this was years before Antenna TV began. 8.2 was WATM Ch. 23 out of Altoona, the sister station to Johnstown's Fox 8).
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #8473 of 8913 Old 03-30-2017, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael P 2341 View Post
That is not a problem, however what would become a problem is if you happen to receive 2 different stations using the same virtual numbers. One time I DX'ed the Channel 8.1 out of Johnstown, PA. It wiped out WJW until I removed it (however the 8.2 from Johnstown was still programmed in, this was years before Antenna TV began. 8.2 was WATM Ch. 23 out of Altoona, the sister station to Johnstown's Fox 8).
OK. I just didn't know if two different virtual channels on the same RF channel was done before.

Certain devices are known to handle channels differently. I know the Zenith converter box will allow more than one station with the same virtual channel. However, my uncle's Sony HDTV will not. During the autoscan it will detect WOIO on RF 10, but when it detects WOIO's repeater, RF 10 is overwritten with RF 24. This may not be the case if the PSIP for WOIO's repeater was different. The bad thing about his Sony is that you can't manually program channels by punching in their RF channel. He has to run the scan and unplug the cable when the TV reaches RF 24 and quickly plug it back in for it to detect WVIZ's RF 26.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #8474 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 05:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
JJkizak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TWINSBURG, OHIO
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
OK. I just didn't know if two different virtual channels on the same RF channel was done before.

Certain devices are known to handle channels differently. I know the Zenith converter box will allow more than one station with the same virtual channel. However, my uncle's Sony HDTV will not. During the autoscan it will detect WOIO on RF 10, but when it detects WOIO's repeater, RF 10 is overwritten with RF 24. This may not be the case if the PSIP for WOIO's repeater was different. The bad thing about his Sony is that you can't manually program channels by punching in their RF channel. He has to run the scan and unplug the cable when the TV reaches RF 24 and quickly plug it back in for it to detect WVIZ's RF 26.
Sometimes it takes me 10 minutes to unplug and plug one of those cables in. First seeing it, second going into the teeny finger routine to unscrew the connector then screwing it back in while holding the flashlight.
JJK

Last edited by JJkizak; 03-31-2017 at 05:30 AM. Reason: Add stuff
JJkizak is offline  
post #8475 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 05:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 132
The WOIO Akron repeater on channel 24 is currently having technical difficulties. The signal bar is 100% on all tuners, but it shows no decode.
Andrew K is online now  
post #8476 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 2,107
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 994 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post

The WOIO Akron repeater on channel 24
is currently having technical difficulties.
The signal bar is 100% on all
tuners, but it shows no decode.


I guess it's 'fixed', as I just checked it. I'm getting a signal in the
40s with my antenna pointed to the WNW. RF10 is busting up
with the signal hovering around the make/break threshold of 30
on the DigitalStream box.

This reminds me of something to point out. Sometimes, when
signal is low and not decoding, the signal can come back and go
pretty high - well beyond the decoding point - yet no pic and sound.

I just go up or down one channel and back and all is ok. But, like
you said... on all tuners at 100% - something else seemed to have
been happening.


.
CleCakYngMfd is online now  
post #8477 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 55
According to this facebook post linked to in the Cincinnati thread, WOUC is going to RF6 (the electrostatic pit) and WOUB to 32

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?sto...00000617685285
nsa1062 is offline  
post #8478 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakeeriemonster View Post
Gary, any chance WEWS will add a .4 sub, or that is out of the question?
From what I've been told, that's very unlikely.
Gary16 is online now  
post #8479 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 01:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Another thing, WVTT-CD in Buffalo moving to RF11 means CFPL doesn't fit there, so it is almost certainly staying on 10. Even if WPCW weren't an issue.

https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...ch6=&ch7=&ch8=

http://www.nab.org/repacking/clearinghouse.asp
nsa1062 is offline  
post #8480 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsa1062 View Post
According to this facebook post linked to in the Cincinnati thread, WOUC is going to RF6 (the electrostatic pit) and WOUB to 32

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?sto...00000617685285
I'm glad to see that WOUC is staying on the air. I knew there wasn't any UHF channels left for them. I get them on a regular basis now, but I doubt that I'll continue seeing them in the electro-static pit, even with my massive antenna. It may take a bit of tropo enhancement to receive them on channel 6 now, but that's okay. It looks like WLFM-LP will have to go off the air.

Speaking of CFPL, we don't really have much information at this point to know where they'll go. I've only narrowed them down to fit on channel 7, 8, 10, and 13... which basically tells me nothing. WOIO and WJW still have channels 7, 8, and 10 based on process of elimination. I really doubt that the CFPL/WOIO issue will be fixed, but if it is, then great.
Andrew K is online now  
post #8481 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Through process of elimination, WRLM is toast. WRLM has nowhere left to go on UHF or low-VHF. It can't be adjacent to WOUC 6 or WGGN 3.

Last edited by Andrew K; 03-31-2017 at 02:01 PM.
Andrew K is online now  
post #8482 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 55
The only other possibility is channel-sharing with either WDLI or WVPX (if Ion sticks around)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
Through process of elimination, WRLM is toast. WRLM has nowhere left to go on UHF or low-VHF. It can't be adjacent to WOUC 6 or WGGN 3.
nsa1062 is offline  
post #8483 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 55
It seems really unlikely that WJW or WOIO are going anywhere with WMFD, WKRC, WWMT, WTOV, WGVU, etc. staying put.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
I'm glad to see that WOUC is staying on the air. I knew there wasn't any UHF channels left for them. I get them on a regular basis now, but I doubt that I'll continue seeing them in the electro-static pit, even with my massive antenna. It may take a bit of tropo enhancement to receive them on channel 6 now, but that's okay. It looks like WLFM-LP will have to go off the air.

Speaking of CFPL, we don't really have much information at this point to know where they'll go. I've only narrowed them down to fit on channel 7, 8, 10, and 13... which basically tells me nothing. WOIO and WJW still have channels 7, 8, and 10 based on process of elimination. I really doubt that the CFPL/WOIO issue will be fixed, but if it is, then great.
nsa1062 is offline  
post #8484 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
nsa1062's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Interestingly, WDLI DOES fit on RF5. That is, if WDTV and WLMB weren't in the way.

https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...ch6=&ch7=&ch8=

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
Through process of elimination, WRLM is toast. WRLM has nowhere left to go on UHF or low-VHF. It can't be adjacent to WOUC 6 or WGGN 3.
nsa1062 is offline  
post #8485 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 03:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Does anyone know if stations can change COL (city of liscence) after the repack? Could WRLM partner with WCDN for example?
lakeeriemonster is online now  
post #8486 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Nice gray screen on 25.2

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #8487 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakeeriemonster View Post
Does anyone know if stations can change COL (city of liscence) after the repack? Could WRLM partner with WCDN for example?
Why would WRLM want to partner with WCDN? It's a puny signal that can't get cable carriage. Maybe WRLM would be better off partnering with WDLI. Both have a COL of Canton.
Andrew K is online now  
post #8488 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 2,107
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 994 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post

Nice gray screen on 25.2


Guess it's fixed now. Looks ok here.

TV8 still coming in good. Signal in the low 50s.

19 RF10 breaking in and out. RF24 coming in nice.

WGGN has been consistently in the 50s, and at times
like today, peaking 60+ since I moved the antenna to the
North window.

I'll have to try 16/35 later. What are the RFs for these?
I can punch them in and zero-in the signal and they'll
populate into the box's lineup with the virtual numbers.
(I did that with TV8 last week.)


.
CleCakYngMfd is online now  
post #8489 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
Guess it's fixed now. Looks ok here.
It was fixed around 7:40 PM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CleCakYngMfd View Post
I'll have to try 16/35 later. What are the RFs for these?
I can punch them in and zero-in the signal and they'll
populate into the box's lineup with the virtual numbers.
(I did that with TV8 last week.).
W16DO/16 and WAOH/29 virtuals are the same as their RF's.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #8490 of 8913 Old 03-31-2017, 06:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 2,107
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 994 Post(s)
Liked: 321
@snowdog 88


Ok. I got 29 in. Signal of 30-to-38 or so. I'll try to Update my Scan and try 16 later, due
to running out of time. A 9pm recording started.



.
CleCakYngMfd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off