Cleveland, OH - HDTV - Page 82 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 4131 Old 12-01-2011, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsthemultipath! View Post

Check online - there are several sites selling "new old stock" tubes taken in from electronics shops as they folded.

Many of the tubes for TV sets are very inexpensive, as the demand for tubes is so low (in turn, since there are so few vacuum-tube TV sets left to service). I recently bought every tube for my 1966 Zenith color roundie (except the 6JE6 sweep and 21FJP22 CRT) for less than $ 35.

The exception is the Horizontal Output Tubes (6MJ6, 6LQ6, for examples), as they were also used in amateur radio HF equipment from the era. Many hams love to use these old rigs, they eat sweep tubes for lunch, and the tubes are no longer being made.

Remember seeing a large stash of long forgotten tubes some years back at Hickock. I thought many of these for the Hams at least who have Vac rigs were quite pricy.
Bismarck440 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 4131 Old 12-01-2011, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post

I don't remember what brand it is, but 23" sounds about right. It was sitting in my great aunt's basement forever, and when she died, he wanted it. It works just fine, and it has a nice antique look. Maybe if they made new HD Tvs to look like the old consoles, there would be a market for that.

Think the Kiddies would go for that?.. now the aspect ratio is different, it likely wouldn't look quite the same. Both of my grandparents had 23" Zeniths, one was without the UHF tuner, remember that being retired to the basement, but not sure where it ended up... likely was scrapped in the late '90's

Strange how this old stuff ends up in the basement, I remember an old upright worldband with a glowing eye that was very tempermental untill warmed up. I had to leave an old Altec Lansing Voice of the theater corner speaker that I would guess might have weighed close to a half a ton. The horn in that weighed about 40 lbs & was cast aluminum. Likely would have to be disassembled to get it out of there.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2433 of 4131 Old 12-02-2011, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post

I dunno if a channel 10 element will fit in a trash can but the concept might be correct. Wouldn't this antenna be highly directional?

That's exactly the idea, to block all signals except for the direct signal form the source.

Since WOIO will soon be the only VHF signal once WJW moves back to ch 31 (not counting that Low Power religious signal on rf 7) you can get away with a cut for ch 10 Yagi antenna. The elements for a ch 10 Yagi are less than 3 foot. A wideband VHF is over 8 foot (for the low band). Just be sure the elements don't touch the can (you may want to add some insulation between the ends of the elements and the can).
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #2434 of 4131 Old 12-02-2011, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael P 2341 View Post

That's exactly the idea, to block all signals except for the direct signal form the source.

Since WOIO will soon be the only VHF signal once WJW moves back to ch 31 (not counting that Low Power religious signal on rf 7) you can get away with a cut for ch 10 Yagi antenna. The elements for a ch 10 Yagi are less than 3 foot. A wideband VHF is over 8 foot (for the low band). Just be sure the elements don't touch the can (you may want to add some insulation between the ends of the elements and the can).

If you remember a few miles back I posted a picture of that yagi I found in Ashtabula, & we likely determineded it was tuned for channel 10, though I'm not sure with these spread they would fit into the can.

The real issue is how would I get a trash can into my small attic opening.

I've decided to remove WDLI from my tuners, as with the install of the new freeway noise barriers, it is more of a miss than a hit now.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2435 of 4131 Old 12-02-2011, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by toby10 View Post

I agree with Terry. Concentrate on features you do want, ignore those you don't. You will drive yourself batty trying to perfectly match up a unit that has everything you want yet also specifically does not have features you don't intend to use anyway.

Understand I'll likely have to deal with features I will not or not be able to use, but in the case of a WiFi TV that is touted to be 'powered by Google', wouldn't this set need constant firmware updating which would be required to be online with a broadband connection? Much like BluRay (a big disappointment) that requires firmware upgrading to play newer discs with newer features? I'm sure these features are great, but this almost takes what you have purchased or rented to a new level that Bluray has different sub 'formats' within itself.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2436 of 4131 Old 12-03-2011, 01:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
toby10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post

Understand I'll likely have to deal with features I will not or not be able to use, but in the case of a WiFi TV that is touted to be 'powered by Google', wouldn't this set need constant firmware updating which would be required to be online with a broadband connection? Much like BluRay (a big disappointment) that requires firmware upgrading to play newer discs with newer features? I'm sure these features are great, but this almost takes what you have purchased or rented to a new level that Bluray has different sub 'formats' within itself.

Only for the internet/networking aspect of the TV, which you will not be using.

I've been using Blu-ray for over three years now. Not once have I needed to update the player to play the disc. The player has updated itself for other reasons unrelated to playing BD content but never prompted me to update based on the disc being played.

Just don't bother with the extra features of the movie requiring such updates, I never do.

There are many users of WiFi capable TV's and BD players who never connect them to the internet, either they don't have internet or they simply do not connect those devices to their network/internet.
toby10 is offline  
post #2437 of 4131 Old 12-03-2011, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post

If you remember a few miles back I posted a picture of that yagi I found in Ashtabula, & we likely determineded it was tuned for channel 10, though I'm not sure with these spread they would fit into the can.

The real issue is how would I get a trash can into my small attic opening.

I've decided to remove WDLI from my tuners, as with the install of the new freeway noise barriers, it is more of a miss than a hit now.

That yagi you found in Ashtabula was probably for ch 12, not 10. Canadian TV, while interesting would not be as appealing as the NBC station out of Erie.

At work I composed a spreadsheet that calculated the element lengths for single channel yagi's. From memory Ch 10 elements were just shy of 3 foot. A ch 12 would be smaller yet (but not too much smaller). The pictures of the garbage can solution for multipath used a UHF wideband antenna.
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #2438 of 4131 Old 12-04-2011, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here is a picture of my brother's TV...

Andrew K is offline  
post #2439 of 4131 Old 12-04-2011, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post

Here is a picture of my brother's TV...



No UHF tuner(?)... looks like a Zenith knob & cabinet (though I'm sure the styling was similar on others too).

Early 60's, that set has seen a lot.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2440 of 4131 Old 12-04-2011, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post

No UHF tuner(?)... looks like a Zenith knob & cabinet (though I'm sure the styling was similar on others too).

Early 60's, that set has seen a lot.

It's an RCA. I'm not sure when it was made. I would guess early 60s. It does have a UHF tuner.
Andrew K is offline  
post #2441 of 4131 Old 12-04-2011, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody heard when WJW-8 is going back to UHF?

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
post #2442 of 4131 Old 12-05-2011, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassguitarman View Post

I would say a TIVO premier but its more tied to the internet connection then ever.
What about the Moxi ?

The Moxi is Cable subscription dependent.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2443 of 4131 Old 12-05-2011, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post

It's an RCA. I'm not sure when it was made. I would guess early 60s. It does have a UHF tuner.

Now I'm thinking my grandfathers may had been a RCA, looked very similar but had dual knobs (one for UHF), I also remember a Muntz retired to the basement.
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2444 of 4131 Old 12-06-2011, 03:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 13,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by firemantom26 View Post

Anybody heard when WJW-8 is going back to UHF?

http://ohiomediawatch.wordpress.com/...non-technical/

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #2445 of 4131 Old 12-06-2011, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
When digital TV first came out, I had a hard time finding a good portable TV that could get decent reception. But a couple years ago, I purchased the Auvio 3.5" portable digital and analog receiver. It takes 4 AA batteries, and it's the best portable TV in my opinion.

Last year, my wife and I went on a Caribbean cruise, and I brought the TV with me to try it out. We cruised around the Cuba and Puerto Rico area. I took some pictures of the TV screen to show how well it performed. We were around 50 or greater miles from the transmitters, and it still picked up a signal. One advantage we had was that we had a good clear view of the islands from a distance. Here are a few pictures I took...









Note that in the second picture, the actual RF channel is shown in parenthesis, and it's channel 9!!!! I was able to get a high VHF signal on a portable TV 50+ miles from the transmitter. All I used was the built-in telescoping antenna (which isn't even that long). Also note the third picture. I had to include that oddity. It's an analog channel 37 from the Dominican Republic. There are no channel 37s in the US.
Andrew K is offline  
post #2446 of 4131 Old 12-06-2011, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
dmking12370's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Seems to me that old Ernest Angely wants a payoff from Fox 8 in order to go back to UHF. A nice infusion of cash for equipment upgrades and the objection is withdrawn.

I don't ever recall any problems between WJW and WBNX prior to the digital transition. This is why WBNX's filing is without merit.

Perhaps our resident expert Trip can weigh in on this saga, and what should be done.

(BTW I am in Akron one mile from the WVPX tower, and I could receive Fox 8 OTA until recently. So a move to RF31 would be nice).
dmking12370 is offline  
post #2447 of 4131 Old 12-06-2011, 06:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I doubt the WBNX filing will make any difference. I don't think any of their points are relevant.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2448 of 4131 Old 12-06-2011, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Thanks for the info.

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
post #2449 of 4131 Old 12-06-2011, 11:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post



Also note the third picture. I had to include that oddity. It's an analog channel 37 from the Dominican Republic. There are no channel 37s in the US.

Woah... aliens!!??
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2450 of 4131 Old 12-06-2011, 11:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:

Rather entertaining, though I've come to the realization that I never have trouble with 8 on my outdoor antenna (had more difficulty with 31), but cannot recieve it on my Attic Yagi since the Sound walls went up last year... now I'm wondering if I have a bogered element? Strange, beacuse 8 was one of the few stations without a northern null.

Noted they brought WOIO's issues up here, though don't look like that is going to be addressed anytime soon.

55 has been somewhat cantankerous with rainy weather recently on the Attic antenna.

So what happens when the Pay services buy up Channels 31-51, that mean 8 goes back to 8? (or do we all just 'get cable'? )
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2451 of 4131 Old 12-07-2011, 05:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
JJkizak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TWINSBURG, OHIO
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A "Crime Warner Cable" fan I am not.
JJK
JJkizak is offline  
post #2452 of 4131 Old 12-08-2011, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sounds like Darth Vader has taken over FOX 8 News. Too bad a commercial was on after the reboot. Have you hear the same distortion during commercial breaks? I wonder if anyone else got the same or similar audio distortion during that same broadcast/time frame.
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #2453 of 4131 Old 12-08-2011, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
wd8kct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldwar View Post

Yeah, does it on commercials as well. P.S. I have not caught it happening on 8.2. Music sounds weird too, like a record being played at a slow speed sound, but occuring at correct tempo. Weird!

Very weird indeed! My Vizio-TV has done it 2 or 3 times... remember one morning it happened on the open to Petticoat Junction on 19-2... changing to another physical channel and back fixed the problem... figured it was due to data errors caused by less than perfect reception... -Ed
wd8kct is offline  
post #2454 of 4131 Old 12-09-2011, 01:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wd8kct View Post

Very weird indeed! My Vizio-TV has done it 2 or 3 times... remember one morning it happened on the open to Petticoat Junction on 19-2... changing to another physical channel and back fixed the problem... figured it was due to data errors caused by less than perfect reception... -Ed

Speaking of 19, I noticed that 19 & 43's program data is not working, are they getting ready to add the new sub or will that be after the first of the year?
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2455 of 4131 Old 12-09-2011, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was watching Seinfeld the other night on 8 & it was in 16x9 mode, I always thought Seinfeld was produced in standard 4:3 ratio. (???)
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2456 of 4131 Old 12-09-2011, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael P 2341's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bismarck440 View Post

I was watching Seinfeld the other night on 8 & it was in 16x9 mode, I always thought Seinfeld was produced in standard 4:3 ratio. (???)

It was shot on film that they can crop ans size to 16X9 for the true HD version.

When FOX8 first started running Seinfeld a program would start out in 16 X 9, then after the first commercial break the remainder of the episode would be in 4 X 3. Now that some spots are in true 16 X 9 that does not happen any more.

BTW: Anyone watch the Browns game last night catch Archie Bunker make a cameo appearance during the game? Evidently they got 8.2 & 8.1 mixed up for a few seconds on the 8.1 feed. OOPS
Michael P 2341 is offline  
post #2457 of 4131 Old 12-09-2011, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bismarck440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NE Ohio... AKA the angry white planet Ohth
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael P 2341 View Post

It was shot on film that they can crop ans size to 16X9 for the true HD version.

When FOX8 first started running Seinfeld a program would start out in 16 X 9, then after the first commercial break the remainder of the episode would be in 4 X 3. Now that some spots are in true 16 X 9 that does not happen any more.

In short then they are cropping the top & bottom of the screen, & ny me using the zoom on my STB, I'm actually losing even more of the picture (though with pan & scan it really don't appear to be the case).


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael P 2341 View Post

BTW: Anyone watch the Browns game last night catch Archie Bunker make a cameo appearance during the game? Evidently they got 8.2 & 8.1 mixed up for a few seconds on the 8.1 feed. OOPS

There was a game on last night?
Bismarck440 is offline  
post #2458 of 4131 Old 12-10-2011, 04:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
JJkizak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TWINSBURG, OHIO
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, I saw the Archie Bunker thing and thought maybe it was a spoof from a disgruntled Browns fan. The ramifications are immense.
JJK
JJkizak is offline  
post #2459 of 4131 Old 12-11-2011, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJkizak View Post

Yes, I saw the Archie Bunker thing and thought maybe it was a spoof from a disgruntled Browns fan. The ramifications are immense.

Not really.
Inundated is online now  
post #2460 of 4131 Old 12-11-2011, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
JJkizak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TWINSBURG, OHIO
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Coldwar:
That almost sounds like a ham operator interferring with the sound. Can you make out anything intelligable?
JJK
JJkizak is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off