What areas of Long Island get MSG-HD and FSNY-HD? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Brooklyn. NY
Posts: 4,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking to buy a house in Long Island (preferably Nassau County) and one of the factors I want to consider is the availability of these HD signals in a particular area. Can you guys that get these channels please detail the name of your town, zip code, how far are you from a Wiz store, and any other factors you may think relevant? It would help a lot in narrowing down the neighborhoods I would want to move to.
vruiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bogney Baux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Valley Stream
11580
2 miles from a WIZ store.
Bogney Baux is offline  
post #3 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
John Tillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Lehigh, PA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
11768 gets it. WTNH as well.

Nothin' from nothin', but now that AT&T is selling their assets to Comcast, consolidation among cable is inevitable. AOL offered a kings ransom for those assets but lost out. My gut feeling is that Cablevison will be gobbled up by AOL/TW in the not to distant future. The more Dish/Direct looks like a go, the more pressure on AOL/TW to gobble. Just food for thought.

Point being of course, what is today, might not be tomorrow.
John Tillman is offline  
post #4 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Brooklyn. NY
Posts: 4,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I understand that, John. I figured that if I'm moving to the Island anyway, I might as well look for an area that's going to give me something extra I want. If they discontinue the signals in the future I can always go back to satellite and be no worse off than where I am now.

By the way John, what's the name of the town where you are? Is there a Wiz store nearby?
vruiz is offline  
post #5 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
John Tillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Lehigh, PA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in Northport. And yes, There is a Wiz by Walt Whitman Mall in Huntington, about 5-6 miles away.

In addition to MSG & FSN, HBO is on there as well.
John Tillman is offline  
post #6 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 01:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,978
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
Vic,
The availability of HD signals should be your ONLY consideration in buying a house (I know your wife must think your nuts, mine does). :)

Anyway, as you know, I'm in Plainview and receive Cablevision's HD Fox Sports, MSG, and HBO with CBS & Fox OTA (had been receiving WNET DT, WABC DT and WPIX DT). I believe I would receive WTNH if I had a VHF element in addition to the UHF only antenna I currently have. I say this because my Zenith tuner pauses for several seconds when trying to lock in on channel 10 with only the UHF antenna, so it sees the signal but doesn't lock in because of the lack of the VHF section.

I'm within 2 miles of the Plainview Wiz and about 7 miles of the Huntington Wiz.

Good luck hunting!
Ken Ross is offline  
post #7 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Brooklyn. NY
Posts: 4,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken Ross
I know your wife must think your nuts, mine does :)
Your wife and mine should get along just fine. They think alike. ;)
vruiz is offline  
post #8 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 01:49 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 3,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Vic:

Brookville, NY 11545

I recieve MSG, Fox Sports, HBO

OTA I recieve CBS, FOX, UPN, and ABC CT.

My friend in next town syosset recieves MSG,Fox Sports and HBO

LJG
LJG is offline  
post #9 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Brooklyn. NY
Posts: 4,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, a relative lives in East Meadow and we're going on Saturday to see a couple of houses there. I cross-checked it with the list of Wiz stores and the one on Roosevelt Field is 4.7 miles from East Meadow. The Wiz in Plainview is also 6.8 miles away. Do you guys think that would be close enough? Do you know if anyone in East Meadow is getting these signals?
vruiz is offline  
post #10 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 05:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
John Tillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Lehigh, PA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think Scott G hails from East Meadow and he has discussed Cablevisons signal in the past.
John Tillman is offline  
post #11 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Don O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Babylon, NY USA
Posts: 2,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Receiving all the Cablevision HD channels in
Babylon, NY 11702
4 miles (as the crow flies) from the closest WIZ

Also receiving CBS, UPN, FOX via OTA

Cheers,
Don O
Don O'Brien is offline  
post #12 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 06:55 PM
Member
 
SmackDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Cablevision in CT also pass some HD signals? I didn't realize Cablevision had any HD signals......
SmackDaddy is offline  
post #13 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
rashid11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: US of A
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aside from thinking twice about moving into bankrupt county,
I would also pay serious attention to possibility of getting OTA ABC from CT :)


But then again I live in a bankrupt state of NJ ...
rashid11 is offline  
post #14 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Orlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Baldwin, NY USA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Vic,

I live in Baldwin. 11510 I get MSG, FoxSports and HBO-HD on the cable. CBS, Fox and UPN OTA. I kinda of have a triangle of stores all equally not that close. Roosevelt Field, Sunrise Mall (Massapegua) and Valley Stream. Roosevelt Field probably being the closest. But about 5-7 miles south of East Meadow where you will be.

While not realted to the topic you might be interested to know that not to far from that Wiz in Roosevelt Field is a store called Laserland that sells almost every DVD you could ever want and has an amazing amount available for rental.
Orlando is offline  
post #15 of 45 Old 02-05-2002, 11:10 PM
Newbie
 
joebike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey vic,

i live in merrick 11566. picking up msg and fox sports from cablevision and dont even have a cable box. just have rca f38310 with hdtv box built in. also getting cbs and fox ota w/ bowtie in basement.

joe
joebike is offline  
post #16 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 03:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im in Kings Park ( Part of the Hauppauge System of Cablevision)
and there is NO HDTV Signals on the Cable here..

But I do pick up with my OTA
antenna, NY CBS, NY FOX-UPN, and ABC from CT.

Enjoy,
Keith
Keith is offline  
post #17 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: East Meadow, NY
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vic,

I live in East Meadow and pick up MSG-HD, FSNY-HD, and HBO-HD from Cablevision. As to OTA I use a simplet Radio Shack Bow Tie Antenna and receive WCBS, WNYW, and WWOR DT's just fine. I used to pick up all the OTA digital channels without even moving the antenna when they were all on the air. I think it is a pretty good place to live if you want to pick up HD channels.

Scott G.
Scott G is offline  
post #18 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 06:17 AM
Member
 
aberk62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by LJG
My friend in next town syosset recieves MSG,Fox Sports and HBO
I live in Syosset and now for sure I have to get a 8VSB module for my Dish6000. Is he recieving any OTA signals?
aberk62 is offline  
post #19 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeCraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Plainview, NY
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vic,

I am in Plainview, close to the Bethpage border, and I get Fox Sports, MSG & HBO-HD(as Ken pointed already pointed out). AND my father-in-law gets the same channels in West Hills. He is probably about 5 miles from the Huntington Wiz.


Joe
JoeCraw is offline  
post #20 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 09:32 AM
Member
 
aberk62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have to get the 8VSB module in order to receive MSG-HD, FSNY-HD, and HBO-HD from Cablevision? If so, where can I buy it online? TIA
aberk62 is offline  
post #21 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
John Tillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Lehigh, PA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
aberk62:

Quote:
Do you have to get the 8VSB module
Yes you do. Mine came from Dish Depot down in Florida. Any authorized Dishnetwork dealer should be able to get you one.
John Tillman is offline  
post #22 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 10:06 AM
Member
 
aberk62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
John,
Is MSG-HD signal scrambled-another words will I need a cable box on my HDTV-ready set or do I plug the cable directly into the 8VSB module?
aberk62 is offline  
post #23 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
RichYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bypass the cable box and plug it right in. make sure you're scanning for OTA antenna--not cable.

Rich
RichYak is offline  
post #24 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
John Tillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Lehigh, PA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rich:

The 6000 dosen't care about OTA or cable. It sees the signal from the card and lets you add it to you DT guide.

aberk62:

Just the 6000 receiver is needed. Hook up card, plug cable into it, scan for direct channels & save them, go to guide and look for yellow DT stations (MSG/FSN/HBO), select one and enjoy.
John Tillman is offline  
post #25 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 10:51 AM
Member
 
aberk62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two dumb questions if I may:
1. Since these MSG-HD and FOX-HD are broadcast on UHF, do you actually have to subscribe to them or family package is enough.
2. Can I split the main cable in close to the TV set or is it best to split it in the basement?

BTW, just ordered 8VSB from dishdepot.com
aberk62 is offline  
post #26 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
RichYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vic,

My brother lives in Malverne. If that's a town you're going to consider, I'll bring my dtc100 out there next time I go. Lemme know.

Rich
RichYak is offline  
post #27 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
linetspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Island NY - 11733
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live futher out on the island, but I recieve all the OTA DT signals just fine, as for FSNY-DT and MSG-DT, no good, cablevision wont even come to my neighborhood..( That stinks being an Islander/Met/Knick fan)

But, to my question, why does the location of the Wiz store fit in to this decison?

P.s. My wife thinks I am nuts spending hours with a satellite dish on the roof trying to get the 119 sat, I can imagine she would have me committed if I wanted to move because of no HD FSNY.
linetspike is offline  
post #28 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Brooklyn. NY
Posts: 4,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by linetspike
why does the location of the Wiz store fit in to this decison?
These HD signals are not officially supported nor advertised by Cablevision. The understanding is that they are meant to be used for demo purposes at the Wiz stores (Cablevision owns the Wiz chain, along with MSG and FSNY). Because of that, people that live in the vicinity of the Wiz stores are the only ones that are able to get these signals.
vruiz is offline  
post #29 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 07:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
John Tillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Lehigh, PA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
aberk62:

The cable HD channels are on the Optimum Fiber Optic system. Due to the fact that only portions of the Island are wired for fiber, only those people can get these channels. Which is the reason for this thread (to identify which areas of LI get the channels).
John Tillman is offline  
post #30 of 45 Old 02-06-2002, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vruiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Brooklyn. NY
Posts: 4,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I collected all the information from this thread and put it on a map:

http://www.members.aol.com/vruiz63/hdcable.jpeg

The red marks represent the Wiz stores, and the green checkmarks are the people that receive the HD signals based on the information in this thread. Interesting, huh?
vruiz is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off