Harrisburg, PA - HDTV - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 969 Old 11-03-2002, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anybody else getting dropouts on WHP during the Bond film? My signal strength has dropped from 100 to 58~72.

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 969 Old 11-04-2002, 05:39 AM
Member
 
dbuffington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. The audio would very occasionally vanish for about a second.
dbuffington is offline  
post #63 of 969 Old 11-16-2002, 08:52 AM
Member
 
nickster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone getting HD cable from comcast? I am scheduled to get hooked up on Tuesday. I'll post my impressions but since this will be my first experience with HD, I won't have anything to compare it to.
nickster is offline  
post #64 of 969 Old 01-02-2003, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
FYI,

I know FOX isn't true HD, but our local station, FOX43, was supposed to go digital on Jan 1st. I called their engineering dept and they said that they were having problems with their antenna and they should be up by mid january.

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #65 of 969 Old 02-02-2003, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Well, they seem to finally be up on channel 47-2. I just installed a new UHF antenna and did a new channel scan and there they were. I only seemed to be able to get about 65-75 on the meter, so they may be in reduced power for now. Anybody know???

Enjoy your new 480P FAUX...errrrr, ahhhh, I mean....FOX Widescreen Hi-"resolution" broadcasts!!!

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #66 of 969 Old 02-02-2003, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
DeletedUserPost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dave, the fcc website says they are to start off at 10 kw and full power in the spring 920kw. I do not think that is the case because I get them well here in Thurmont. They have not broadcast any widescreen yet hopefully they will start. Jeff
DeletedUserPost is offline  
post #67 of 969 Old 02-02-2003, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks Jeff!!!

When did you first see them???

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #68 of 969 Old 02-03-2003, 05:06 AM
 
jeffthurmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Thurmont,Maryland
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They started on friday. Picture looks good but I am hoping for widescreen. Jeff
jeffthurmont is offline  
post #69 of 969 Old 02-03-2003, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
24 tomorrow night should be in widescreen.

Are they broadcasting all day or just during primetime? I did a quick scan last night and couldn't pick them up, but I didn't know if they were on the air or not.

David Forbes

Read excerpts, see cover art and more from my novels at www.davidforbes.net.

My theater
David F is offline  
post #70 of 969 Old 02-05-2003, 09:43 AM
Newbie
 
brianowood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Enola, PA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cannot seem to pick this station either. I have tried at different times (including primetime) and have moved the antenna around. Is FOX-DT still on the air and are others still receiving the signal?

Brian Wood
909 Maplewood Lane
Enola, PA 17025
brianowood is offline  
post #71 of 969 Old 02-05-2003, 09:43 PM
Member
 
edebes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: York, PA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone:

I am located in West York near the fair grounds. My problem is with Baltimore stations like WMAR. When I had the antenna in my attic, I could receive WMAR during the week, but not on weekends. Also, no 11 or 13. So, I decided to place the antenna on the roof thinking I would do better. Now I can receive 13 great but 2 and 11 are not there. Tomorrow, I am having a 40' foot tower installed on the east side of the house. If I still can't receive the Baltimore stations I am going to rip everything down and go back to cable........ Glad to see others are receiving 2. It gives me faith!

Dr. Ed
edebes is offline  
post #72 of 969 Old 02-08-2003, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

For those who have Comcast HDTV service, have you seen the NBA All Star Weekend listings appear on your on-screen guide for Saturday and Sunday nights yet?

Is anyone getting channel 172 on their on-screen guide?

Thanks in advance...

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
post #73 of 969 Old 02-08-2003, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Joe,

I did not see it in the guide as of last night, nor does ch 172 show up.

On a side note, I am getting OTA Channel 47-1 FOX WPMT-DT again from York.

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #74 of 969 Old 02-08-2003, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dave,

Thanks for the reply. I did a hard reset, which I believe is unplugging the Moto 5100 for at least one minute and plugging it back in. I may have waited about a minute to turn the power back on.

I lost most programming *guide* info for the time being and I had to bypass the parental locks to view programming. So, I then tried to tune 172 and it came up!

Channel 172 is for the moment on and identified as CSNHD. Color bars are being shown with "INDEMAND NBA HD" superimposed.

So, it's there after all. But a strange way to get to it though.

[edit: added "guide" which appears inside the set of "*" for clarification purposes.]

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
post #75 of 969 Old 02-08-2003, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks,

Please pardon the second request...

For those who have Comcast HDTV service, have you seen the NBA All Star Weekend listings appear on your on-screen guide for Saturday and Sunday nights yet?

Is anyone getting channel 172 on their on-screen guide?

Thanks in advance...

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
post #76 of 969 Old 04-13-2003, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
bmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody having a problem with comcast HD HBO and Showtime. I'm getting sd hbo and showtime but not hd. All the other hd channels coming thru fine.
Brian
bmel is offline  
post #77 of 969 Old 04-14-2003, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I noticed that HBO-HD was down as of Sunday morning. The HBO-SD channels work fine. As of 10:00AM Monday, HBO-HD is still down. I sub to Comcast-Harrisburg.

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
post #78 of 969 Old 08-25-2003, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
DeletedUserPost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats the deal with Wpmt? I thought they were to go to full power over the summer. As is their signal is very weak now and hopefully they will increase it before football. Jeff
DeletedUserPost is offline  
post #79 of 969 Old 11-24-2003, 06:38 AM
Member
 
aharden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Harrisburg, PA, USA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just blogged about the fact that WHP has performed poorly on the Sunday afternoons when we've been lucky enough to receive the HD game of the week. Every time I can recall watching this game, there's been a significant delay between the time WHP begins showing the game (in "upconverted" mode with their grey sidebars) and when they change over to the HDTV feed. Yesterday's KC-OAK game was the longest delay yet. I didn't time it, but I think it was about 15 minutes.

Is anyone else annoyed by this? Do you think there's anything that we can do about it? I think at minimum I'm going to send an email to the general manager of WHP.
aharden is offline  
post #80 of 969 Old 11-24-2003, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I generally call out of principle but I was on my way back from Philly. The WHP number is (717) 234-6397. Ask for WHP engineering. They can flip the switch before you can hang up. Once the control room people get HDTVs in their living room is when you will see improved quality control on flipping that switch.

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
post #81 of 969 Old 11-25-2003, 04:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Hello all!

I am going to New Jersey for Thanksgiving, and will be riding up 81. Because I cannot drive, I will have the opportunity to use my portable digital television system to receive digital television along the way. I know 4 is going to be a pain in the rear-end if my local WBRA-DT is any indication, but what about the others? Are they doing subchannels?

This is what I'm hoping to see...

08-1 58 NBC WGAL
15-1 23 UPN WLYH
21-1 04 CBS WHP (Only when VERY close)
33-1 36 PBS WITF
43-1 47 FOX WPMT

Is this correct? Or are there some subchannels or something?

Thanks a bunch!

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #82 of 969 Old 01-15-2004, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
bmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the latest on CBS whp-dt and UPN wlhy-dt? I get good OTA recption on 15-1 but no actual hd transmission of Enterprise, just sd letterboxed. Is whp-dt being broadcast? I can't find it OTA but Comcast has it on 182 I think. Any sight of ABC whtm? Fox 43-1 is good (go Eagles)
Brian
bmel is offline  
post #83 of 969 Old 01-15-2004, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
bmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got this reply:
Hi Brian

Not yet, we have an HD encoder ordered, when it gets here it will be in HD and wide screen.

Thanks
Rob Hershey
Director of Engineering
WHP / WLYH Television
bmel is offline  
post #84 of 969 Old 01-15-2004, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dave,

Are they talking about Tracks Ahead there? I thought I saw the "Chloe" prototype in HD which was really cool. Of course, the train on Wild Wild West was great in HD on CBS a couple of weekends ago.


Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
post #85 of 969 Old 01-15-2004, 08:19 AM
Member
 
dbuffington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
> Are they talking about Tracks Ahead there?

I thought that was on WITF?

> I thought I saw the "Chloe" prototype in HD which was really cool.

The Chloe prototype was at the Railroad Museum in Strasburg for awhile, and I _think_ it's now down at the Smithsonian.

Of course, HD does sometimes look better than reality

> Of course, the train on Wild Wild West was great in HD
> on CBS a couple of weekends ago.

The TV train? Or the movie train?
dbuffington is offline  
post #86 of 969 Old 01-15-2004, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dbuffington
> Are they talking about Tracks Ahead there?

I thought that was on WITF?

> I thought I saw the "Chloe" prototype in HD which was really cool.

The Chloe prototype was at the Railroad Museum in Strasburg for awhile, and I _think_ it's now down at the Smithsonian.

Of course, HD does sometimes look better than reality

> Of course, the train on Wild Wild West was great in HD
> on CBS a couple of weekends ago.

The TV train? Or the movie train?

Dave,

I am just busting on you because you posted the G Scale Group link up above.

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
post #87 of 969 Old 01-16-2004, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hey, everyone, good news!

I got an e-mail from Jim Myers at WPMT and Fox is now broadcasting at full power. I wasn't able to get it previously but now it's coming in perfectly. Digital channel is 47-1. For you Eagles fans, Jim said that if Fox provides them with the EDTV widescreen feed of the game this weekend they'll pass it through.

David Forbes

Read excerpts, see cover art and more from my novels at www.davidforbes.net.

My theater
David F is offline  
post #88 of 969 Old 02-03-2004, 10:30 PM
Member
 
WuphonsReach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So... does anyone know what happened with WMPT tonight about 3/4 of the way through showing 24? Is this situation normal for the locals in York/Lancaster/Harrisburg and HDTV?

On a related note, I thought Law & Order SVU would've been HDTV on ch58, but it looked like SD to me. Someone forget to flip the switch? (Not to mention that the HDTV feed faded to black with only an NBC logo about 1/2 way through.)
WuphonsReach is offline  
post #89 of 969 Old 02-09-2004, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
bhench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Palmyra, PA
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, I just called WHP and asked them to "flip the switch" for hi-def - lo and behold, within 30 seconds, no more gray bars! (Thanks, jsb_hburg)

Isn't there any way to automate this process?

Bob
bhench is offline  
post #90 of 969 Old 02-09-2004, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by bhench
Okay, I just called WHP and asked them to "flip the switch" for hi-def - lo and behold, within 30 seconds, no more gray bars! (Thanks, jsb_hburg)

Isn't there any way to automate this process?

Bob

Yep, the phone number is a few posts above. I was out; otherwise, I would have called. I gather based on their reaction on the phone in the recent past that they have no idea that they are not passing the network HD feed.

When they do pass the feed, it looks awesome. I'm glad others call. For Guardian or Judging Amy, I just can't bring myself to tune to the channel; so...

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off