Harrisburg, PA - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 969 Old 07-06-2006, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
pclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclement View Post

Thanks. I have ordered a CM 7777 Pre-amplifier to amplify the signal at the source. I will let you know if that helps. I only have a distribution amplifier currently. Please note that the Tube is now on 43-2. That is an all music OTA channel. If you get 43-1 you should be able to get 43-2.

I recently installed a CM 7777 with my setup. Distance to towers varies (12 to 60 miles from three directions), but averages around 40 miles (the 12 miles is a low power station).

Without the CM 7777 I was getting signal strengths of 50 to 93 (In the basement, I was using a CM quad output distribution amplifier of 23 db to boost the signal at 8db per output).

With the CM 7777 installed my signal strength dropped significantly 0 to 70 with many signals lost. I removed the distribution amplifier and the signals with just the CM 7777 improved to 70 to 100. I have the power unit for the CM 7777 in the basement and have the output signal going to a dual output splitter (not a diplexer). Each output goes to a diplexer where the antennae signal is combined with my DirecTV signal (Please note that I have a Phase III DirecTV system. I understand that the AT9 (MPEG 4)system does not allow the signals to be combined.). I use a single RG6 to convey the signal to each of my H10 receivers where I again use diplexers to split the antennae signals from the DirecTV signals. This seems to work very well.There is such a thing as too much gain with the digital signals.

When I moved the power unit for the CM 7777 closer to the antennae, I was able to use the CM quad distributor with no loss in signal (but no gain either). This does allow for four outputs with no signal loss.

I am able to get Baltimore, MD, Washington, DC and Harrisburg, PA signals for ABC (except in PA), CBS, NBC, FOX, PBS, UPN (MyTV), WBN and a couple of independent channels. All in all about twenty stations (about 45 channels counting subchannels).

I do sometimes get stations farther away, but not on a regular bassis.

I am very pleased with the performance of the CM 7777 and would recommend it for use in fringe areas. I do not really need the distribution amplifier, but it does allow me to output to more TVs.

I am using a Radio Shack VU-190 outdoor antennae and a CM rotor. I am located in southern York County.
pclement is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 969 Old 07-07-2006, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
pclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclement View Post

Thanks for the reply. However, I have already done that. I get no digital signal at all for 27-1. I get a digital signal strength of 90 for 21-1. They are basically in the same location (337 degrees 47.5 miles and 343 degrees at 47 miles). I was wondering if there was something in the way that 27-1 broadcasts that limits the signal to the south east. Analog reception is about the same for both 27 and 21. I though someone out there may know something about the way that 27-1 broadcasts its digital signal. Thanks.

Does anyone know whether 27-1 is at full power? Is there something in the way that 27-1 broadcasts that limits the signal strength to the south?
pclement is offline  
post #183 of 969 Old 07-08-2006, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
bmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is WITF HD back on comcast? Thought I saw some while channel surfing late last night.
bmel is offline  
post #184 of 969 Old 07-08-2006, 08:58 AM
Member
 
KML0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It could be PBS-HD. Comcast here in New Britain, CT (southwest of Hartford) offers that at night when cable-only WEDH-DT (PBS) of Hartford isn't on.
KML0224 is offline  
post #185 of 969 Old 07-08-2006, 09:04 AM
Member
 
sea157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: York, PA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclement View Post

Does anyone know whether 27-1 is at full power? Is there something in the way that 27-1 broadcasts that limits the signal strength to the south?


I am getting 27.1 great but for some reason I can not get channel 21 and they are very close together.
Is 21 not broadcasting as strong as 27?
sea157 is offline  
post #186 of 969 Old 07-08-2006, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
bmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a PBS Nature show on now in HD on comcast's braodcast of witf dt. I thought they had stopped all hd broadcasts due to money troubles. The witf.org web site links to titantv with a full schedule of hd programming. When did they come back on?

This is defintley from WITF, I get it OTA as well.

How come you guys didn't let me know HD was back?
bmel is offline  
post #187 of 969 Old 07-10-2006, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
pclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sea157 View Post

I am getting 27.1 great but for some reason I can not get channel 21 and they are very close together.
Is 21 not broadcasting as strong as 27?

SEA157. You are having the exact opposite effect from me. I get 21.1 great but no 27.1. You get 27.1, but not 21.1. I am located south of Harrisburg. Perhaps you are located east or west of Harrisburg. Sometimes stations broadcast in a north-south direction or an east-west direction but not both. This may be our problem.
pclement is offline  
post #188 of 969 Old 07-10-2006, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sregener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Southeast MN
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithl1967 View Post

I've tried that--to the point where I've even left the TV unplgged overnight, and then for a weekend when that did not work--the TV seems to still hold it's memory. Ive re-scanned numerous times, to no avail, as well as manually entering the channel. Any other suggestions--this is very frustrating...

This is a little late to the game, and you've probably figured this out...

Remove the antenna cable from your set. Scan for channels (none found, I should hope!) Reinsert the antenna cable and do another scan.
sregener is offline  
post #189 of 969 Old 07-10-2006, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sregener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Southeast MN
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclement View Post

Sometimes stations broadcast in a north-south direction or an east-west direction but not both. This may be our problem.

It's not. You can check out the maps for yourself, but here's what the FCC predicts for coverage:

WHTM: http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/FMTV-serv...DT1006678.html
WHP: http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/FMTV-serv...=DT602358.html

The problem with these maps is that they assume the analogs aren't causing problems - and they are. WRC analog 4 in DC can interfere with WHP, and WCAU analog 10 in Philadelphia can interfere with WHTM. That problem won't go away until 2009.

pclement, I'd try removing the diplexers and the amplifiers from your system, as well as all splitters, and see if you can get a signal on WHTM on just one set. You ought to be able to get a signal. Then add one back and make sure everything still works, then the other. (Note: if the amplifier is hard to reach, just bypass the diplexer for the first part of the test.)

Since WHP is lo-VHF, electrical interference can be a major problem. It can also be tricky to track down. If it's in your house, you can eliminate it, but usually it's in the power lines and you're stuck begging the power company to fix their lines.
sregener is offline  
post #190 of 969 Old 07-10-2006, 07:20 PM
Member
 
sea157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: York, PA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclement View Post

SEA157. You are having the exact opposite effect from me. I get 21.1 great but no 27.1. You get 27.1, but not 21.1. I am located south of Harrisburg. Perhaps you are located east or west of Harrisburg. Sometimes stations broadcast in a north-south direction or an east-west direction but not both. This may be our problem.

pclement ,
No I am also south of Harrisburg.
I live in Shiloh, just north west of York,PA
sea157 is offline  
post #191 of 969 Old 07-11-2006, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
pclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sregener View Post

It's not. You can check out the maps for yourself, but here's what the FCC predicts for coverage:

WHTM: http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/FMTV-serv...DT1006678.html
WHP: http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/FMTV-serv...=DT602358.html

The problem with these maps is that they assume the analogs aren't causing problems - and they are. WRC analog 4 in DC can interfere with WHP, and WCAU analog 10 in Philadelphia can interfere with WHTM. That problem won't go away until 2009.

pclement, I'd try removing the diplexers and the amplifiers from your system, as well as all splitters, and see if you can get a signal on WHTM on just one set. You ought to be able to get a signal. Then add one back and make sure everything still works, then the other. (Note: if the amplifier is hard to reach, just bypass the diplexer for the first part of the test.)

Since WHP is lo-VHF, electrical interference can be a major problem. It can also be tricky to track down. If it's in your house, you can eliminate it, but usually it's in the power lines and you're stuck begging the power company to fix their lines.

Thanks. I've tried several different setups(without splitters, diplexers, etc.) I can get a signal for 27-1, but never strong enough to lock in (30 - 40). It may be interference from channel 10 in Philly as I can get a weak analog signal for 10. I guess I will wait until 2009 to see it the situation improves. Doesn't bother me too much since I can get Baltimore and DC ABC stations very strong (70 to 100).
pclement is offline  
post #192 of 969 Old 07-16-2006, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I moving to Dillsburg off of State line road. I am getting D* installed because as I now understand WHP broadcast the Ravens when the two are scheduled at the same time. I have to try and get WHP because of the stupid blackout rules. D* doesn't carry locals in HD and Adelphia doesn't have WHP. When will D* have hd locals?
keeper is offline  
post #193 of 969 Old 07-25-2006, 12:28 PM
Newbie
 
jleisure279's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the D* HD Package and a Terk HDTVa (indoor) antenna which enables me to receive CBS 3 (26.3) out of Philadelphia and FOX 43 (43.1 or 47.3) out of York. I also sometimes get The Tube (43.2 or 47.4) now as well. This is really cool and brings me back to my MTV days. I have tried many different indoor antennas to lessor success than with the HDTVa. The problem is that I really would like to get NBC and ABC. D* will allow me to get the NY/LA feeds with a waiver from the local stations. Does anyone know how I can get a waiver from my local stations? For reference purposes, I live Northwest of the city of Lancaster (close to Park City and the LGH Health Campus).
jleisure279 is offline  
post #194 of 969 Old 07-25-2006, 12:58 PM
Member
 
shepler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central, Pa
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't even bother with the waivers. They will say NO! As they did with me. and thats why I switched back to cable. You could always "move" if you have family somewhere that lives in an area where the stations are O&O. You should be able to get NBC (8.1) and UPN/CW (15.1) with that indoor antenna. I live in Ephrata and can get 8,43,15 with my set of amplified rabbit ears.
shepler76 is offline  
post #195 of 969 Old 07-25-2006, 02:55 PM
Member
 
sea157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: York, PA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jleisure279 View Post

I have the D* HD Package and a Terk HDTVa (indoor) antenna which enables me to receive CBS 3 (26.3) out of Philadelphia and FOX 43 (43.1 or 47.3) out of York. I also sometimes get The Tube (43.2 or 47.4) now as well. This is really cool and brings me back to my MTV days. I have tried many different indoor antennas to lessor success than with the HDTVa. The problem is that I really would like to get NBC and ABC. D* will allow me to get the NY/LA feeds with a waiver from the local stations. Does anyone know how I can get a waiver from my local stations? For reference purposes, I live Northwest of the city of Lancaster (close to Park City and the LGH Health Campus).

Guys the best indoor antenna I have found is the Radio Shack VHF UHF HDTV amplified Antenna (Model #15-1892).

I live in York PA (actually Shiloh) and I am getting 8.1, 8.2 (WGAL Lancaster NBC), 15.1 (WLYH Lancaster UPN), 21.1 (WHP Harrisburg CBS), 27.1, 27.2 (WHTM Harrisburg ABC), 33.1 (WITF Harrisburg PBS), 43.1, 43.2 (WPMT York FOX) and 49.1 (WGCB Red Lion INDEPENTANT).

And the best thing about these antennas is you can get them on e-bay for around $25.00 shipped.

I never in my wildest dreams ever thought I would get all these local channels with an indoor antenna.
sea157 is offline  
post #196 of 969 Old 07-25-2006, 10:27 PM
Member
 
shepler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central, Pa
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CBS and ABC are the hardest to get as they are VHF channels and the towers are the farthest away. one of the also is on digital HD channel 10. same as the analog channel (10) from philly. So you can get some interferance
shepler76 is offline  
post #197 of 969 Old 07-26-2006, 02:28 PM
Member
 
sea157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: York, PA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shepler76 View Post

CBS and ABC are the hardest to get as they are VHF channels and the towers are the farthest away. one of the also is on digital HD channel 10. same as the analog channel (10) from philly. So you can get some interferance

Shepler,
I know 21.1 Harrisburg CBS is VHF but I thought 27.1 & 27.2 Harrisburg ABC was UHF.
Are you sure they are all VHF?
sea157 is offline  
post #198 of 969 Old 07-26-2006, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sea157 View Post

Shepler,
I know 21.1 Harrisburg CBS is VHF but I thought 27.1 & 27.2 Harrisburg ABC was UHF.
Are you sure they are all VHF?

WHP-DT is on channel 4 while WHTM-DT is on channel 10 - both VHF. All of the other Harrisburg market digital channels are UHF. Hope this helps.

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
post #199 of 969 Old 07-26-2006, 02:55 PM
Member
 
shepler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central, Pa
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sea157 View Post

Shepler,
I know 21.1 Harrisburg CBS is VHF but I thought 27.1 & 27.2 Harrisburg ABC was UHF.
Are you sure they are all VHF?

WHP-DT 21.1 CBS HARRISBURG PA VHF 4
WHTM-DT 27.1 ABC HARRISBURG PA VHF 10

From www.antennaweb.org
shepler76 is offline  
post #200 of 969 Old 07-29-2006, 11:11 PM
Member
 
Jayhawk2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I need some help,

Ill be in my Carlisle Dorm room and I was wondering what Antenna I should use to pick up the HD signals out there. It's gotta be indoor too.

Thanks

Mark
Jayhawk2222 is offline  
post #201 of 969 Old 07-30-2006, 05:37 AM
Member
 
sea157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: York, PA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayhawk2222 View Post

Hey guys I need some help,

Ill be in my Carlisle Dorm room and I was wondering what Antenna I should use to pick up the HD signals out there. It's gotta be indoor too.

Thanks

Mark

Radio Shack VHF UHF HDTV amplified Antenna (Model #15-1892)
sea157 is offline  
post #202 of 969 Old 08-07-2006, 10:21 AM
Member
 
mrcoaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm moving to Gettysburg in a couple of weeks and we've been leaning toward going with Dish, but obviously wouldn't get locals in HD with them. If we pick up a HD OTA antenna, will we be able to get all or some of the networks in HD? Talking to Adelphia, they seemed to indicate we would only be getting two local channels in HD if we went with them. If we can at least pick up some OTA HD channels in our area, that would be great. Something's better than nothing.
mrcoaster is offline  
post #203 of 969 Old 08-21-2006, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
LowandSlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the Pittsburgh spotbeams for D*/E* reach Harrisburg? I'm thinking of dumping Comcast for one of them and am curious if I could get the Pittsburgh locals by "moving" out there. Thanks.
LowandSlow is offline  
post #204 of 969 Old 08-21-2006, 09:22 PM
Member
 
shepler76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central, Pa
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think you are on the border of the Pittsburg D* spot beam, Don't think it will work unless someone else that is doing it says otherwise.
shepler76 is offline  
post #205 of 969 Old 08-23-2006, 09:01 PM
Newbie
 
bro1ncos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I am fairly new to the HD world. I live in Mount Joy (17552) and can receive all channels except CBS 21.1 and ABC 27.1. Bought the Radio Shack VHF/UHF/HDTV Indoor Antenna that has been mentioned hear and spoken highly about. All the channels I get are coming in great. I just can't figure out how to get the VHF channels to come in. I am using a Vizio L32 HDTV. The TV won't let me just put in the channel and when I do a scan it doesn't pick these 2 channels up.

How do I get VHF channels to come in on my TV?
bro1ncos is offline  
post #206 of 969 Old 08-30-2006, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Jayhawk2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the radioshack HDTV antenna and I'm not picking up anything. I ran the cable from my dorm room to my vhf/uhf input, and I can the putput from the antenna to the astc/digital cable input on my tv. Does anyone have any ideas?
Jayhawk2222 is offline  
post #207 of 969 Old 09-05-2006, 02:39 PM
Member
 
derwin0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Seven Valleys, PA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WHP has turned on their sub-channel affilate of MY on. They're calling it "My 21.2".
derwin0 is offline  
post #208 of 969 Old 09-05-2006, 02:52 PM
Member
 
derwin0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Seven Valleys, PA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowandSlow View Post

Does anyone know if the Pittsburgh spotbeams for D*/E* reach Harrisburg? I'm thinking of dumping Comcast for one of them and am curious if I could get the Pittsburgh locals by "moving" out there. Thanks.

For the Pittsburgh spot TP 29, I get no signal in York County.
derwin0 is offline  
post #209 of 969 Old 09-05-2006, 05:52 PM
Member
 
sea157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: York, PA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by derwin0 View Post

WHP has turned on their sub-channel affilate of MY on. They're calling it "My 21.2".


derwin0
Thanks for the information.
I just did another local scan on my STB and sure enough there is was 21.2, now I have 10 local digital channels.
sea157 is offline  
post #210 of 969 Old 09-05-2006, 06:30 PM
Member
 
derwin0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Seven Valleys, PA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sea157 View Post

Now I have 10 local digital channels.

I think I get 11 locally from the Harrisburg market. The table in the opening post really needs to be updated.
8.1 - WGAL HD
8.2 - Weather
15.1 - WLYH HD
21.1 - WHP HD
21.2 - My 21.2
27.1 - WHTM HD
27.2 - News
33.3 - split between WITF stuff & PBS HD
43.1 - WPMT HD
43.2 - Tube
49.1 - WGCB SD

I wish WITF would turn 33.1 back on so we'd have a digital version of their normal feed.
derwin0 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off